We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kalu's Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Kalu\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalu's Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 396: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Visited here two weeks ago and had a wonderful stay. Staff are polite, attentive and friendly. Food is delicious, plentiful and covers a wide range of Sri Lankan and western tastes. We had a room in the garden (ground floor of two storey chalet) which was spacious, clean and had excellent amenities. The pool is a delight. Located close to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank toomuchlaundry
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff , services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

For wild lovers to see the beautiful & the natural wonders Kalu's Hideaway is the best place. Udawalawe famous for it's elephants, Lunugamwehera for leopards & sloth bear (many more)& of course the Yala National Park. All could be visited. Delicious 😋 Food, Spacious Rooms with Swimming 🏊 Pool.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aruna G
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you and appreciate for sharing your feedback following your stay at kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay. best regards from the staff Residents Manager

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Following the positive reviews online, I tried to book a room on Kalu's website (which there confusingly seem to be two of). The reservation link wasn't working so I emailed to make a reservation. I received a reply confirming a vacancy and was asked to provide all my credit card details (including security code) via email to pay for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goodfoodlover22
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Sir, First of all thank you for your interest in booking Kalu's Hideaway and would like to apologize any inconvenience caused in connection with the booking made. According to the payment procedure we have been working and stick on to a general system such as make a Bank transfer or a credit card payment ,Believe other hotels have the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This is really a hideaway. The food was tasty with a big variety choice, grounds and pool very well kept, room lovely. The only gripe we have is that we booked and paid months ago but were given a room on the bottom floor. A view would have been appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WeloveAsia
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry and...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed here with my mom. First the owner of the place, Kalu was extremely nice and friendly about interacting with guests. We know zero about cricket but he hung out and got drinks with us. Second, the place is absolutely beautiful, with large rooms and great staff. The best place we stayed in Sri Lanka. We were independently recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank austincleary
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff , services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Here for our honeymoon and only booked for one night. First room 107 the electricity kept tripping out requiring me to restart again via the fuse box. After Tripping 8 times in 15 minutes we complained and where moved to room 115 which was an upgrade. Room looked lovely however....electrics tripped again. We worked out that the rooms can only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. We certainly hope to have the privilege of...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

W/ lots of old shots of cricketers (Kalu played for Sri Lanka), friendly staff and small but serene infinity pool overlooking the wilderness this is an ideal spot for a day or two of elephant safari at the near by nature preserve. The rooms / bungalows are spacious w/ rustic / colonial furniture and the open / outdoors restaurant a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jastreboff
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Sir , I hope that you enjoyed at kalus hideaway during your stay , i would like to thanking you for your grate review and rely appreciated , best regards from all the staff Residents Manager

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Our driver was very excited we'd booked a night here as like all Sri Lankans he was a crazy cricket fan. I'm old enough to remember Kalu and Jayasuriya, the SL openers who transformed the one day game so all the memorabilia on display had some meaning. It's well located for a trip to udawalawe NP, it's pretty simple, comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

dear sir, i hope that you were enjoyed during your visit to udawalaway and staying with us in kalushideaway, thank you so much for recommending our hotel and i will be rely appreciated about the review best regards with the kalus hideaway staff Residents Manager

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Kuoni recommended Kalu's Hideaway to us as an alternative to Cinnamon Yala Wild as Yala was in drought. What a recommendation. We had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend. Rooms great, staff amazing and you were made to feel most welcome. I have read some negative reviews and could not disagree more. Please do not let these put you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela S
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear madam , i will take this opportunity to thanking you for your high recommendations of kalushideaway , i will be rely appreciated about your great review once again,this is with regards of kalus hideaway staff. Residents manager

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Thanks to our travel company (Kuoni) telling us Yala was closed even though it wasn't we were offered this hotel prior to leaving UK as comparable to the Cinnamon Yala. It certainly was not. I have read some of the other reviews and agree with the negative comments. We also had a room with a prison cell as outdoor space....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Helen S
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us and would like to apologize about it , We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. also we do our very best to up grade the standards in the hotel and provide for all our guests consistently . However...

394 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
0.0 km away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
126 reviews
4.4 km away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
624 reviews
0.6 km away
Nil Diya Mankada Safari Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
78 reviews
19.1 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 27 in Uda Walawe National Park
69 reviews
7.0 km away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#5 of 27 in Uda Walawe National Park
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With 14 Fourteen Spacious rooms including 5 Superior rooms,6 Deluxe, 2 Chalets & 1 Suite, the hotel caters to the most unique clients. It provides the butler service with personalized dining menu of your choice. The Hotel is located just 5 Minutes next to Udawalawe National Park & Udawalawe Lake. From Colombo 187 km to the Hotel and around 04 hours drive from Colombo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalu's Hideaway

Address: Walawegama | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $89 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kalu's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalu`s Hideaway Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalu's Hideaway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kalu's Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if possible take the luxury suite on the top; it's really worth it!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Tanja_and_Chris, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you would like a view ask for a room with one”
 of 5 bubbles WeloveAsia, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a Chalet”
 of 5 bubbles sulochana875, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Chalet room”
 of 5 bubbles TravelBugTW, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Suggest the upstair block away from the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles pathi2016, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay