We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Upon arrival was made very welcome. Staff was very friendly with good english. Room was very nice with an amazing shower. However the mattress was EXTREMELY hard which made sleeping very uncomfortable. My husband and I understand we are not always going to get a comfortable bed in our travels but this bed was way to hard for us. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
PloenSamui, Management Team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Michelle K Newcastle, Australia Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback which was echoed in identical fashion by another reviewer in a similar review a week or so earlier. We had addressed most of the comments during the visit and will continue to make improvements on a regular basis, as to ensure that our...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

I luckily came across this place at the last minute and I'm so glad I did. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Thailand. The room was quite big and clean. There's only 24 rooms in the whole hotel (8 rooms per floor) so it's a pretty quiet place. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walker S
PloenSamui, Management Team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Walker S Thank you for staying at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our location, nice hotel and our good service during your vacation staying with us. . Your comments are really valued for the team and we are willing...

Maringá
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The hotel is very clean and tidy, the location is quite good and the staff english is good. The only problem is that in the last day I realize that my sunglass was not in the bedroom, and the day before I left it out of my luggage. I asked in the reception if someone found and they didn't say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EliseSY
PloenSamui, Management Team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear EliseSY Maringá 5 days agoReviewed by EliseSY Thank you for your kind review and sharing your experience at our hotel The hotel is very clean and tidy, the location is quite good and the staff english is good.on Tripadvisor. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and planning to come back next year. Your...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

They were very nice and their English is very good. They gave us extra towels for the swimming pool and offered us as much water as we wanted. It is true that the outside pool is small but the inside one is great for the rainy days! The decoration of the room is very nice and everything was very clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marieta_mms
PloenSamui, Management Team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear marieta_mms 1 week agoReviewed by marieta_mms Thank you for your kind review and sharing your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and all aspects of your stay were met to your satisfaction. Your complimentary remarks are most appreciated especially with our staff service. This has made them...

Delta, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel and staff. They spoke very good English and were so helpful. Nice restaurant in hotel with swimming pool and relax area. Place was very clean staff catered to your room, no charge. Location while not on the beach just a short walk. Lots of nice shops and restaurants. Bike rental right beside hotel , 150.00 baht per...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank erleslie
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear erleslie Thank you for your kind review and sharing your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is delightful to know that the overall of your stay were enjoyed with us Your complimentary remarks are most appreciated and we certainly look forward to welcome you back to Ploen Chaweng KOh Samui again for your next visit to Thailand Warm...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

There is one morning that we heard a very large heavy item fell on ground in our room. Despite of not having any stuff in our sight that dropped on floor as what we heard, we did not notice that it was actually a broken sound of a soda in our refrigerator. My partner saw this (as attached pictures) when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elynne T
PloenSamui, Hotel Manager at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Elynne T. My sincere apologies for the delay in replying to your comment due to the change in hotel management. The hotel is under our management, so I will not try to make any excuses for what happened. However, learning from the lessons and make sure the same mistake does not happen again. I hope that the crash occurred...

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel, with great staff in a great location on the amazing island of Koh Samui. This a lovely little hotel in a great location, within walking distances of the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel itself isn't massive but is fantastic, the rooms are massive but you have more than enough in them, the decor and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben_S_8282
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Why? 1.That bad smell people talking about, it's almost unbearable. 2. I have to argue, i mean it, argue... Just to swap a towel due to a stain on it and it looks dirty. I don't know who she was or what's her position but she has 0 manner and 0 hospitality. I'll stay somewhere else next time, period.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yosa S
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Yosa S Thank you for your time sharing your experience at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui with us. Please accept our apology that some aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. We will certainly look into all the below expectation items you have mentioned which will have to be improved immediately. Thank you one more time for...

HCMC, VN
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Just cross the road to get to the beach. But have to walk through other hotels block front of the beach. So i feel not comfortable. There is no water tape to wash sandy foot at ground floor so my clean rooms got sand everyday! There is microwave in room. Good for longterm guests. A small balcony to hang wet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vibinguyen
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Loved this place... I was nicely decorated.. monkey theme.. clean, large place, comfortable bed and soft pillows...wet bar..tv and wifi worked great! shower was a good size with toilet and sink and blow dryer.. I was in room 1008 my friends were in 1009 they had a smaller bathroom. Had a balcony.. lots of lighting and plugs to charge your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _kkelly35

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.9 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,636 reviews
0.2 km away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.6 km away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.7 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui

Address: 37/90-1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Samui Ocean Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: $78 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui Ko Samui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room or one at the end of the corridor”
kleh23, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“away from lift”
taufulou, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Actually all rooms are the same size, except a couple which are only a little smaller”
terry187, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms away from the road can be quieter”
S7273QVjohns, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Room facing Mercure is better!”
  • Nice decoration and comfy beds
  • Smiling Monkey
  • View from Room 3001
  • more monkeys
  • only bad smell .... otherwise it is a good room.
JayTC, 20 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5