We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Baan Talay Resort

Show Prices
#27 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Baan Talay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 288: English reviews
Start your review of Baan Talay Resort
 Click to rate
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Agree with most comments listed, Defiantly not a 4 star by any stretch of anyone's imagination. The receptionist has a ridiculously bad attitude, I ordered a "Deluxe bungalow " and at £74 a night I got nothing more that a dimly light small room with a toilet and a broken door lock that's opposite the Hotels generator the goes off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cascerz
Baan Talay B, Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cascerz, First of all, thank you for you review. About your booking, you booked Superior Bungalow, not Deluxe, the "Dimly" light is a style of all our rooms. Our generator is at the opposite side of the resort not near your room. About your friend, we tried to give him the best room that we can, we even gave...

Angouleme, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superior Deluxe room gives you a room with a large bed, insufficient storage space and, in our case, a view of a brick wall. The aircon didn't work properly and there was no hot water throughout our 9 day stay despite reporting this at reception. The pool and beach areas are nice although parasols are rusty. Breakfast was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lyngofford
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good hotel. Good location although a 20 min walk up to the main and chaotic Chaweng centre. 15mins from airport. Plenty of better restaurants nearby hotel and good massage shops. Supermarket right outside. Great sized pool, with plenty of sun beds poolside and on beach, and usually very peaceful. Beach is swimmable for adults in Feb but too rough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank london_traveller9
Auckland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went here as liked the view which was lovely. I ordered Pad Thai as thought you should order something local. The noodles were so dry I could not eat. It was dry noodles and 3 prawns. I travel a lot and had been asked by our local newspaper who I travelled to Thailand with to put some recommendations forward....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacquiansin
Baan Talay B, Guest Relations Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jacquiansin, We are extremely alarmed by your statement regarding our food. I remember when you visited our restaurant, you also ordered 2 glasses of cocktail then ordered the pad thai which you mentioned in your comment that doesn't taste good. Our staff is trying to talk to you to solve your com plain but you just left and...

Reviewed 7 February 2017

I was there last Oct, with my boyfriend, quite off season at that time.It was nice and peaceful time for me. We got very a very neat and clean with warm welcome ice-cream and cake. It's just a few step to swimming pool and also not far from the beach. I like their bathroom which mixed between natural and modern....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phawinee H
Baan Talay B, Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Phawinee, Thank you for your review and for choosing our resort. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Again, thank you.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with hubby for 14 nights , the pool is spotless and clean , the grounds are clean and very well maintained, staff are very obliging and friendly, great breakfast buffet with the best views & sun lounge area in the restaurant just to sit and chill and watch the sun rise , Rooms are comfortable but bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kath a
Karachi
Reviewed 25 January 2017

It is an amazing resort which is right on the beach. I mean literally ten paces. The room is really good. The toilet however, does not contain bath tub and they dont give out basic accessories like tooth brush shaving kit etc. The best thing about baan talay is its restaurant which is on the beach. Breakfast is particularly nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aarishmj
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Ok on arrival I was told my reservation had been double booked and there were no rooms for me us. Obviously not a good start. Was moved to their sister resort just out of town, not ideal for me as we booked this specifically to be on the beach, the sister resort is 15 mins scooter ride away and not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wnn670
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Should have realized something was not quite right when we had to pay in full on arrival. First room we were given stank like sewerage. Sheer curtains let all the light in, impossible to sleep. Horrible water pressure in shower. 40 minute walk from heart of Chewang. Due to over development the beach had completely eroded from in front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas, with a pool view. Clean, modern room with all you need. Staff friendly, is right on the beach but there is not much sand to bathe on. In the quieter part with the busy end a 10min walk. Breakfast was ok, would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
Baan Talay B, Front Office Manager at Baan Talay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Craig, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in serving our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to Koh Samui again, don’t hesitate to call us. Thank you so much.

757 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (534)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (127)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (219)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Bungalow (26)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Pool View Bungalow (26)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Superior Bungalow (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 km away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
501 reviews
1.1 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.2 km away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
571 reviews
0.5 km away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. Our team speak well English, French and Thai ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: $91 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Talay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baan Talay Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Baan Talay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room if great for couple who want to spend a little extra go beach view room.”
 of 5 bubbles tassiejane2016, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“"Garden" rooms are quieter and not poolside.”
  • View from the bar
 of 5 bubbles markkP3479RD, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pool view rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 316leaha, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview room. Listening to the waves at night was very relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles bella250, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check your air-conditioner and start complaining right away if its not cold in 15 minutes”
 of 5 bubbles Foek, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5