We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Skarsnuten Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Skarsnuten Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 21: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Me and my wife celebrated our wedding at Skarsnuten 02.-04.09.16 with 102 guests and had a dream weekend! All of the planning ahead, implementation, service, food and rooms were top notch! The hotel delivered 100% to expectations and more. We can highly recommend Skarsnuten to parties that require good organization, service and delicious food! Again, thank you so much for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Arvika, Sweden
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We stayed at Skarsnuten for three nights participating in a wedding and the location and views is unbeatable. The hotel worked very well for a wedding, good communication and service upfront and during our stay. The wedding dinner was enjoyable, though I think the starter was acctually too complicated, but the main really delivered, and paired with good wines. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MEfem
Sandnes, Norway
Reviewed 24 March 2016

The restaurant signed Geir Skeie is unfortunately not delivered at the level one would expect. Food is sometimes featureless, and not of a higher quality than of a mediocre restaurant. The impression is that they have to many seasonal workers that don't know what they're doing. One of our servers didn't know the menu, the drinks, and couldn't tell us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swoosh_N
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that we didnt lived up to your expectations this time. We are always struggle to try to get the best staff and train them within 4 months but this is always a challange for a seasonhotel where we only keep the staff during a short period. We will of course try to make both the recruit and training for...

Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Small portions, the cod in the fish&chips was wet like water, a frozen fish that has been badly cooked/fried. Tried the pizza "Tind", no success. No spices, nor taste. Personal looked uncomfortable and no smiles. No bread while waiting for the food... Use to come here every year, but this will be the last. We are going to Skigaarden instead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Svalasnubben
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your visit wasnt as you expected, this really seems like you caught us on a really bad day (we should not have such days) Both the food and the waiters didnt delivered up to the standard were we want to be and we can just hope that you give us another chance.

Baerum Municipality, Norway
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We spent five days at Skarsnuten Hotel. Actually our third visit. Sorry to say it, but there are alternatives in the Hemsedal area being more attractive. The staff is nice and service-minded, the view is excellent. But when you need to be a handy-man yourself (no one showed up despite several reminders) to fix the shower with sports tape in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel09-53
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

I know that we have a challange when you are living at the hotel for 5 days not to be tired of the menu, we can only try to do it more varieted for next year. Thank you for letting us know. About the shower we needed to order some parts so sorry for not informing you about that, light...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We went through Crystal ski on a package deal. Having skied in Hemsedel a few times before, we always looked up at the Skarsnuten and thought how lovely it would be to stay there - a 50th birthday seemed the ideal excuse to splash out and it lived up to all our expectations. The week before departing the UK we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lady gardener S
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review, please come back:)

Oslo
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Arrived quite late and were met by very friendly staff. Very nice room, cosy areas and a fab bar. The great bartender from Lisboa made the beers taste even better 😊 The view is next to non and the ski-out, lift-in could't be more convenient. We are definately planning a revisit very soon (say Easter?) 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MereteML L
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you had a pleaseant visit and I will for sure letting Tiago in the bar know that:)

Manchester
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We were not staying at the (very smart) hotel, but had contacted the hotel as they advertised fat bike hire. My wife (adult) son and I are keen mountain bikers, so we arranged to book three bikes. The booking staff were very friendly and the bikes were ready when we arrived on the bitterly cold (-24 degrees) day we`d agreed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that you had a bad experience with the bikes and that it was to cold that day. However was the receptionist right and the bikes is not ours, we have only served as a middle man for having an extra activity to the guests but we should have picked up the phone and called the bikerental to see if...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

Ignore last year's reviews, 2015 is where it starts – new chef, new menu, new team, five stars. Skarsnuten Hotell is heaven, and it just got better. This season celebrity chef Geir Skeie arrived with his full restaurant team. The food is out of this world, every meal was phenomenal. The kitchen specialises in fish, and yet the lamb dish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toodrew
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

A fantastic review not only to us but to whole Hemsedal. Thank you for making us be better!!

Kent, England
Reviewed 28 December 2015

This was our second visit to this hotel, 5 years after our first. It remains a great hotel, providing fantastic views, great rooms, a relaxing bar and now brilliant food. We (parents plus 19 and 17 year old kids) stayed half-board and on the first evening realised we would be eating off a fixed menu. Each day the quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Otfordfamily
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Reeve family! I am happy that you had a wonderful christmas in our hotel. We hope we will see you again. Happy new year! Robert Norman

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemsedal
3.3 km away
Skogstad Hotell
Skogstad Hotell
#5 of 5 in Hemsedal
61 reviews
6.9 km away
Fossheim Hotel
Fossheim Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hemsedal
34 reviews
26.0 km away
Storefjell Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 km away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#5 of 13 in Geilo
348 reviews
26.0 km away
Oset Hoyfjellshotell
38.5 km away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skarsnuten Hotel, at 1000 m.s.l, has a magnificent view to mighty mountain Hemsedal. Skarsnuten is a design hotel, where nature plays a prominent part of the architecture. Large glass surfaces virtually let nature right into the buildings. Extensive use of glass, stone and slated stone in the lobby, bar and restaurant, plus modern steel constructions, contributes to the typical Scandivian touch of this quite new hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skarsnuten Hotel

Address: Holdeskaret, Hemsedal 3561, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hemsedal Municipality > Hemsedal
Price Range: $254 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skarsnuten Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Skarsnuten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Skarsnuten Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in the 4th floor have the best view”
 of 5 bubbles P8770PQdanielm, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Require rooms with view towards the slopes i.e. south-west and not to the parking area.”
 of 5 bubbles Travel09-53, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with a view, but be prepared to pay extra for this.”
  • A Room with a view!
 of 5 bubbles MrsHSD, 13 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room with a view. The ground floor rooms turning against the courtyard offers no privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles VidarJ777, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“If you want to go there it is important to ask for a room with a good view (not the parking view) and do not take children with you....”
 of 5 bubbles excelentfood8, 11 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay