We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We spent two nights on a Klotok and 1 night here. The lodge is well maintained, with hot water and air conditioning available in certain rooms. The staff and friendly. Food was simple but delicious. The bathroom could certainly use more lighting (or better placed light fixtures) Unfortunately, the plantation fires were worse this year and affected visibility and our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drchristo4
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your stay at our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge. We greatly sympathise with your comments on the smoke from the terrible fires. The advent of the monsoon rains has cleared the air and e hope for a great 2016. Our warm wishes for the new year

San Jose, California
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Lost in a rainforest filled with magic and nature which should be protected from burning and harvesting. Visiting the orangutans is one of the top ten travel wonders. With 97% human DNA you are looking at something/one like yourself. Mothers so protective of their young.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marilyn1243
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Rimba Oranguran Eco Lodge in Borneo. As you rightly state this area in unique in the world. Thank you for highlighting this and it is only through guests like yourself that we can bring the attention of the world to the plight of th orangutans in a sea of palm oil. Our company...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

Well this certainly is an eco lodge in the jungle, but amazingly still has power, hot water and air conditioning. If you're looking for 5star with a pool this lodge is not for you but if you're looking at getting up close with nature and all the jungle has to offer then you can't go past Rimba. The Lodge is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank K H
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Your report is so greatly appreciated, especially after we had to fight the worst fire threat in our history during the months of October and November. Thank you for so fully understanding our mission; using eco tourism to assist local people to keep their wonderful environment. We look forward to 2016 and using our profits to assist in the training...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This lodge is by the river and in the forest, so you really feel part of the experience. The rooms are comfortable (with AC & hot water). Staff are recruited locally and are unfailingly pleasant & enthusiastic. Food is locally produced and delicious. It is all built on boardwalks (so no mucky boots). There is even a nature walk where...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John and Mauree... O
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great support through this report. Unlike others you really understand what we are. We have just opened a solar power system now recognised internationally as a state of the art facility. This gives our guests 24/7power and thus AC and we currently estimate we are saving 75,000 litres of diesel per year. Thank you,

Reviewed 12 November 2015

Rimba Lodge was just fantastic! The rooms were clean and comfortable, with air conditioning, mosquito nets and an ensuite with a flushing, western style toilet and shower. This is so much more than I expected! The dining room is a great place to catch up with friends (and make new friends!) after a long, hot day exploring the jungle. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KathnDan
Ec0l0dges_Ind0nesia, General Manager at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks and we especially appreciated your comments that we are NOT a city hotel. All our staff are local, many from the local village and the rest from Kumai town. This is undertaken as a CONSERVATION measure as our company strongly believes that we will only save our forest through sustainable jobs given to the people living around the...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Think of it as camping in the woods...but with some unexpected amenities. For example, the air con works great, there is hot water and flush toilets. The rooms are not well-sealed, but keep out most bugs and critters. The restaurant does a basic but adequate job with a fairly large menu (Indonesian food). The staff is sometimes hard to find,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SFO_Drew
Ec0l0dges_Ind0nesia, General Manager at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this report. We accept your comments regarding our staff. All our staff are local people (as a company policy for empowerment). However, we need to improve our quality control; this will be done to the best of our ability. Thank you.

Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 September 2015

This was the first time that we stayed at a so-called "Eco" place and I'm underwhelmed. The place looked in pretty bad shape to me and seems to be in need of some serious repairs. I guess the questions is whether it is worth staying here or on a klotok. For me it was for two reasons: I like to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ALien89
Ec0l0dges_Ind0nesia, General Manager at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for your comment. Our company is unashamedly a conservation company and ALL our staff are local villagers or from Kumai port. This conservation model has been a great success in producing a large cadre of local people ready to face illegal palm oil thrust into this vital ecological area. The approach has great international support. This is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

The boat trip was brilliant and we did see Orangutans and gibbons and proboscis monkeys and all sorts of other wonderful jungly things so that's all wonderful. The boat was brilliant and our guide Tina lovely. The food they produce on there is pretty astonishing and they provided snacks and tea and coffee too! Rimba, on the other hand, welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank t4sch
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

We accept most of what you say and are very disappointed in your comments re lack of welcome and the statement "no one cared". We pride ourselves in all our lodges in having both characteristics (please read reports from Rimba other lodges in our company Ecolodges Indonesia). The only areas we would disagree are your comments about (1) our bathrooms,...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I purchased the 4 Days /3 Nights tour staying in a diamond lodge. This is the most expensive option on offer direct through Rimba Lodge so I had quite high expectations. Sadly, I was disappointed for two reasons: firstly, the lodge is old, worn and tired; secondly, there is no hospitality in terms of a meet and greet service from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tizzyelle
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this report. We accept your critical comments re welcome and room preparation with disappointment. Due to reports such as yours, we are taking two advisers from Java to the Rimba on Monday for immediate review of all our SOPs. All our staff are local people (as a company policy for empowerment). However, we need to improve our...

Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Having already stayed at the beautiful SATWA ELEPHANT ECOLODGE of Ecolodges Indonesia - Sumatra while tracking the Sumatran Tiger of the Way Kambas Forest for three weeks in 2012, I was eager to experience Ecolodges Indonesia's RIMBA LODGE, which is set amidst the natural beauty of the south by southwestern, coastal Borneo rainforest, an area that is one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Juscz
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your detailed and very observant report about our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge. Your comments are a tonic to us after some rather negative reports. We especially appreciated your comments that we are NOT a city hotel. All our staff are local, many from the local village and the rest from Kumai. This is undertaken as a CONSERVATION...

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkalan Bun
24.8 km away
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
Swiss-Belinn Pangkalan Bun
#1 of 2 in Pangkalan Bun
136 reviews
25.2 km away
Grand Kecubung Hotel
Grand Kecubung Hotel
#2 of 4 in Pangkalan Bun
92 reviews
0.0 km away
Arsela Hotel
Arsela Hotel
#1 of 4 in Pangkalan Bun
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Paradiso Village
Paradiso Village
#2 of 37 in Padang
184 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge

Address: Sekonyer River | Kumai, Pangkalan Bun, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Pangkalan Bun
Price Range: $107 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge Pangkalan Bun, Kalimantan - Central Kalimantan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask about different types”
 of 5 bubbles OrangutanEngland, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Diamond room is good.”
 of 5 bubbles most_peaceful, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The most expensive category is the newest - I'd go for this one”
 of 5 bubbles Onthemove201107, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose room with air conditioning”
 of 5 bubbles charoos, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Diamond rooms have just been renovated. Bekantan 2 (emerald room) has a semi-private pathway to the river.”
 of 5 bubbles ericet593, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay