We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell At Sax'

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bell At Sax\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bell At Sax'
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

A two night stay at this traditional Inn was highlighted by the exceptional food.The room was large and comfortable but could have benefitted from some more seating and a slightly larger TV. Meals were fantastic and beautifully presented, we can recommend the crab salad and the venison. The full English breakfast, complemented by a buffet which included three home made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank picasso301uk
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you what a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Beccles
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We were just passing through and this was the first place we came to although we had visited many years ago. The coffee was really good and it came with a home made biscuit which was really delicious. Shall be visiting again soon as the menu looked really good so shall give it a try. Looked a really good varied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary898
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your coffee and look forward to welcoming you for lunch or dinner.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Caught out by a village cricket team taking over the nearest eatery to where we were staying, we ventured into Saxmundham and spotted The Bell. They were clearly rushed off their feet but they quickly found a table for us in the small, tastefully furnished dining room. The meal was excellent (strongly recommend the lamb shank!) and a reasonable price....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review, we try to get it right all the time and mostly we do, just occasionally we are off the mark. Rest assured we will try and iron out any inconsistency in our desserts and provide 5 star meals whoever is working.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We haven't stayed in Suffolk for quite a few years and on the spur of the moment decided to try a weekend away. Unfortunately we left it so late everywhere was booked...Everywhere but the Bell. The owner is keen to point out that they are more a restaurant with rooms and not a hotel. For us, the distinction was unnoticeable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike_t99
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and food. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Ordered a straightforward sandwich. Lovely filling but the whole experience marred by stale bread that seemed as if it had possibly been in the fridge. Good service and clean surroundings but basics need to be better. It's a sandwich, not a 5 course meal

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gee W
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. I have to say that the young chef used the wrong bread in error, so I do apologise. If you had commented at the time we would have gladly put this right and either replaced the sandwich, refunded you or offered you something else instead. But thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime, with no one at the reception area we felt a little lost (as nothing was clearing marked as to where to go) after a couple of minutes we managed to flag down on of the waiting team. We were quickly seated by the window in the lovely restaurant and had whilst we were served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianWaygood
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your very frank honest review, we hold our hands up and sometimes the food does not work out quite as we would like it to be. Very glad you enjoyed part of your meal and that your son enjoyed his. I do hope that we will see you again soon.

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Went here for a drink before looking for somewhere to eat. To be honest Saxmundham is a small town and doesn't seem to have many places on offer for eating or drinking. The bar was quiet when we arrived, seemed like mainly locals. Has a small courtyard at the back which was pleasant, friendly staff and good selection of excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cogzn
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and glad that you enjoyed your drink. As you say you may well of missed out as we take great pride in our food.

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Decided to stay he as convenient for Aldeburgh and Minsmere and Southwold. We're not disappointed as the reviews had impressed us, but it was a last minute decision to even go, but were able to get a double room on arrival. Four poster bed! Don't mind if I do, although it was a tad noisy when moving around on it....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CliveW16
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the four poster bedroom. We do pride ourselves on our food and it's great to get good feed back. Sadly we are restricted to the amount of space we have outside as we only have a small garden to the rear, so there...

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We both had dressed crab salad and were more than impressed . The salad wasn't anywhere near your normal lettuce and tomato , the homemade slaw was amazing and what is normally a bland addition on the side , homemade potato salad was a zapped up pile of pleasure . I'm not sure what they put in it but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zedhead36
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review and really pleased you enjoyed your lunch. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I stayed here on a tuesday night as i was working nearby the next day. after driving for 5 hours from manchester i wanted to get an early night ready for the next day. i was given room 2 which is directly above the back door when all the people from the bar went to smoke so until 10pm i...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RedPed
Jonathan N, Owner at The Bell At Sax', responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are dissapointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Please let us know next time of your intetions for peace and quiet and we will do what we can to move you. As a busy neighbourhood pub and restaurant in the height of summer it is difficult to keep the noise down in the...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxmundham
5.7 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
634 reviews
10.0 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
10.5 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
604 reviews
8.0 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
678 reviews
13.7 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bell At Sax' is a laid-back welcoming 10 bedroom restaurant-with-rooms, in the heart of Saxmundham, surrounded by the Suffolk Heritage Coast and the stylish destinations of Southwold, Aldeburgh, Framlingham and Woodbridge. Here at The Bell, we are all about good cooking, carefully prepared by owner & head chef Jonathan Nicholson and his team, into hearty elegant dishes, made with fabulous local ingredients from our artisan producer friends around East Suffolk. We welcome weekenders, business travellers, holidaymakers, parties and small weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bell At Sax'

Address: 31 High Street, Saxmundham IP17 1AF, England (Formerly Bell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham
Price Range: $122 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell At Sax' 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Bell At Sax' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bell At Sax' staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bromley, United Kingdom
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell At Sax' staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 is great, very soundproof and spacious!”
  • Our twin room
 of 5 bubbles katebeaarch, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 5. Check that the windows are fully closed as the paper shop next door to the hotel gets a few early birds.”
 of 5 bubbles BillC847, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'm sure all rooms have a good. Aspect”
 of 5 bubbles 9jaybe22, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is in the main high street, so there is traffic noise during the day, but the noise is almost non existent after 11.p.m”
 of 5 bubbles colinci82, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay”
 of 5 bubbles Cogzn, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay