We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion West Pennard

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Red Lion West Pennard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Had dinner here today with 41 friends and family, the food was fantastic, the staff were fantastic and I would highly recommend it. Thanks to Vic, Dan and the rest of the staff. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were travelling back from Wiley Hole one night and were looking for a place to stop and eat when we stubbed across this pub. We got there at 845 and just made it before the kitchen closed. The bartender / server was wonderful. He was so friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We were surprised to hear he was new there.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bobzgray
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great 2 night break, rooms clean, spacious, plenty of tea/coffe and milk. Great decor, food fantastic and they do smaller portions of most menu items so you have plenty of room for one of their delicious puddings. Vic was a great host and bar staff fab too. Strongly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to try the Red Lion for Sunday Lunch, the service and food was excellent. We noted that they were attentive and friendly to regular diners The pub was a proper local country pub with flagstone floor, beams and log burning fire. Perfect for a cold day.

Helpful?
Thank SuzieGary
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2016

One of our local pubs that has been through some ups and downs over the past years. Thankfully it looks like it is on the up again with friendly staff and delicious food. The steak and Ale pie was one of the best we have had. The T-bone steak looked amazing - we didn't have it as we weren't hungry... More 

Helpful?
Thank themiddlewick
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I had already booked a table when I read the latest reviews on TA and was then apprehensive. However this was a lovely country pub with a really warm atmosphere,the staff were very friendly and the food was really tasty and well presented & all in all made for a really great ending to our break in Somerset. Would definitely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank karenb422014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Called in on a Monday afternoon when the restaurant was really closing. Jon gave us a friendly welcome, and Claire worked magic in the kitchen, rustling up four meals at very short notice. Well-kept beer and even the chance to buy take-home cider over the bar. Recommended

Helpful?
Thank NarrowDog
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We went here for a family meal out. First off we came in to the bar staff bickering, not a massive deal but slightly unprofessional. The lemonade was then soda water, fine they changed it, 45 minutes later, but eventually we got our drinks. The only thing on the menu was carvery, I don't eat pork or beef but I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily F
John T, Owner at The Red Lion West Pennard, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I apologise for the service you received on this occasion. The issues you raise are totally unacceptable and will be addressed. We are working with new management (as of 17th September) to improve the quality of the menu and service levels. We are going to introduce a... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Disappointed ... lambs liver very under-cooked (blood oozing from part of it), bubble and squeak burnt. Long piece of string left in the smoked brisket of beef. Bar lady very understanding of our complaint and didn't charge for the liver dish. We are local and thought we'd give it a try but we will not be going back!

Helpful?
2 Thank JHC225
John T, Owner at The Red Lion West Pennard, responded to this review

Dear JHC225, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit and the food you received was not of standard you would expect. I will raise the issues you have mentioned with the staff involved and we are working with new management (as of 17th September) to improve the menu, service levels and quality of the experience... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Didn't have a great start as the pub was locked just before 6pm when we arrived and had to wait approx 10 mins in the car park until the landlord appeared. The room was large clean and comfortable with a decent onsuite bath/shower. Being on a main road there was a fair amount of traffic noise but not a real... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee C

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Pennard
6.2 km away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
4.9 km away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
401 reviews
10.2 km away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
899 reviews
5.1 km away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 57 in Glastonbury
230 reviews
3.0 km away
Middlewick Holiday Cottages
Middlewick Holiday Cottages
#2 of 18 in Glastonbury
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional 15th-century village pub with 7 letting rooms all with ensuite showers and baths, recently fully refurbished to a high standard and awarded Visit England 3 star rating. Full English breakfast, lunch and evening meals available in the pub. Great selection of local Ales & ciders, pool table and skittles alley Dog friendly Only 2 miles from the world famous Somerset town of Glastonbury ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion West Pennard

Address: Glastonbury Road, West Pennard, Glastonbury BA6 8NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury > West Pennard
Price Range: $132 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion West Pennard 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Red Lion West Pennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion West Pennard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 1 possibly views of a lovely orchard”
 of 5 bubbles lizb729, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had room 3 and it was perfect for us....”
 of 5 bubbles jenandstu69, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in a lovely double room overlooking an orchard”
 of 5 bubbles rainbow3456, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay, only had a meal”
 of 5 bubbles PeteC530, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay