We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Angler and Antelope Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We had a great stay, very comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and great fishing. The bar and dining set in an old church and is a great place to eat (although we only ate breakfast there). I recommend it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Toby, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are really happy that you had a great trip and that your fishing was successful. Looking forward to your next trip, and hopefully you'll have a chance to sample more than just breakfast then. Kind regards Angler & Antelope

pretoria
Reviewed 8 July 2015

My stay was excellent, the service was wonderful, the food was superb, the rooms were comfortable however it would be nice to get tv reception with DSTV perhaps, only 1 channel was on the tv and the tv reception was of a poor quality, with such a situation it would be better to not have a TV in the room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 739tarynb
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Taryn, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that we were able to meet your standards when it came to service and the food. We would like to point out that you were staying in our standard room, which you booked through a third party website. This website indicates that this specific room...

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Angler and Antelope in Somerset East is run by Alan and Annabelle Hobson, whose energy and commitment to the guesthouse and the associated flyfishing activities has paid dividends. The central reception/bar/ restaurant area is housed in a small deconsecrated Catholic Church, while the rooms themselves are some 20 meters away in a separate building. My bedroom was spacious, with solid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Philip. Looking forward to your next fishing trip with us.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Outstanding, excellent. 4th visit and just gets better every time. The service and attention to detail is amazing. A must getaway if you want to be spoilt. The food is master chef quality and rooms something to experience. No comfort detail left to chance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanp97
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Alan for your wonderful review. Nice to know we're getting it right.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Being taking some of my customers to Angler for last three tears and a real winner. Best hosts you will ever find and fishing always great. Alan will go out of his way to make sure every angler gets the best opportunity to catch more than enough fish and youalways leave thereknowing that you learned a hell of a lot...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank apiev
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks Apie, glad the fish played ball on this trip again. Glad we could make your stay special.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 30 May 2015

I was very pleasantly surprised to find this up-market accommodation at a reasonable rate. Very clean & neat. Clearly significant attention is given to the detail to make the whole experience relaxed and comfortable. I'll gladly recommend it to other discerning guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 825philliph
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Phillip, glad we could help on short notice. Hope to see you again soon.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I have enjoyed the privilege of staying at this fine historic establishment numerous times & the very reason we return every year is because Alan & Annabelle are quite simply the most wonderful folks/hosts who have made their dreams come true by working hard to offer a unique & charming place to stay with an even more unique guided fly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CWasserman
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

All we can say is Wow, thank you Craig. We strive for excellence and your comments are so rewarding. Looking forward to your next visit.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We spent three fantastic days with Alan - fly fishing. The accommodation at Angler and Antelope was top notch, the evenings around the bar were really great. Annabelle's food was absolutely outstanding (lemon meringue roulade to die for). Alan's guiding is phenomenal - such detailed dedication and thoroughness. A privileged experience - well done Alan and Annabelle. Stephen Theo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stheodosiou
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Wonderful having you guys here with us again Stephen. Will remember to do the meringue roulade again next year.

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 14 May 2015

The rooms are massive and the breakfast is really good. Full dstv which you don't usually find. The hosts are passionate and very accommodating. Alan is the go to guy for trout fishing and knows all the local spots. The best place to stay in Somerset-East.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gibb119
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We would like to point out that the DSTV in our rooms is the hospitality bouquet with selected additional channels, and whilst it is quite comprehensive, it is unfortunately not full DSTV.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 10 May 2015

We spent 3 nights with Alan & Annabelle. The food, accommodation and hospitality was excellent. We managed to share some quality fishing time with Alan which was also a bonus. This was our second stay and will likely become a routine stop for our travels around the Eastern Cape in the future. Thank you for everything, Phil & Carina

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philcarinas
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you P&C, it was great to have you here again. We look forward to your next visit.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset East hotels
0.7 km away
Aloma House
Aloma House
#4 of 10 in Somerset East
6 reviews
0.3 km away
Altenburgh Guest Cottages
Altenburgh Guest Cottages
#3 of 10 in Somerset East
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming guesthouse with seven rooms, from a simple standard room, to luxury with air-conditioning, under-floor heating & satellite TV. Included is two rooms with self-catering facilities. Two self-catering family units also available. Spectacular fly fishing on top of the Boschberg mountain. Enjoy the pub in the old Roman Catholic church with over 50 Malt Whiskies, and country cooking for dinner! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Angler and Antelope Guesthouse

Address: 2 College Street | cnr New Street, Somerset East 5850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Somerset East
Price Range: $119 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Angler and Antelope Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Angler and Antelope Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Angler and Antelope Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely the honeymoon suite.”
 of 5 bubbles kayv454, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The "Gazania" Room is probably the best, followed by the "Train" room. The family cottage is the most private and is the largest.”
 of 5 bubbles H_J_W_S, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles RudiVoges156, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 Ganzania”
 of 5 bubbles tmpars7, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all rooms great with aircon”
 of 5 bubbles RudiVoges156, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5