We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Clarens

Booking.comUS$112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Clarens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 259: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel Clarens
 Click to rate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed our two night stay. The staff are all exceptionally helpful and will go out of their way to help. For example, in the morning the waitress remembered our coffee preferences exactly and without a word from us delivered them to our table as we were helping ourselves to the generous breakfast buffet. We were cold and asked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poleinahole1
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited Clarens over Easter with a large group of friends. The hotel met with all my expectations. Rooms were good and the breakfasts offered a large variety. Staff at the restaurant were always friendly and efficient. Dinner menu was good and also good value for a hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 265bhartih
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear 265bhartih, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. It was such a delight to read your review, our TEAM are so pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations and that you had such an enjoyable stay with your friends. Thank you again for your great feedback and we...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a very comfortable and relaxing 2 night stay in this well know hotel chain. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with Dstv, large shower, no bath, aircon and tea/coffee station, electronic safe. The lounge and bar area is comfortable with gas fireplaces for a cost and warm nightcap. Lounge leads onto outdoor terrace with plunge pool with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Ryan R, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay with us and that our facilities and services met your expectations. Your review will be shared with the rest of the TEAM to continue to inspire and motivate...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It delivers every time!! Accommodation is good, the view from the room balcony's are breathtaking, the breakfasts are one of the best all topped with friendly staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melaniekeague
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Melaniekeague, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that as a return and loyal GUEST of ours that we are still meeting and exceeding your expectations. Thank you so much for your glowing review, I will most certainly be sharing this with the rest...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is quite modern and very comfortable. Rooms are well laid out with all the necessities one needs. We stayed in standard rooms which were ample for what we needed. If one upgraded to larger rooms then I am sure the extra space would be welcomed by whoever did so. We simply never did because only the standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flamethorn
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Flamethorn, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. What a delight it was to read your review today, thank you very much for your detailed feedback about your stay and experience at our hotel. I am so pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay with us and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Noisy. Not a quiet country hotel. Worst hotel in the world. Room 101 is off reception and above the restaurant . U can hear the phone ring in exception. The crowds gather outside your room and can be heard loudly. No rest at all. The shower in the bedroom is simply stupid . This hotel is a disgrace

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lennardc2016
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Len Cowan, I appreciate the time that you have taken to leave a comment here on Trip Advisor after speaking with me directly about your concerns yesterday. Once again I would like to apologise about the noise disturbance that bothered you due to the busy hotel and street this weekend. As per the email sent yesterday after you...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on 11 April 2017. I found the staff very welcoming and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. I found the breakfast quite uninspiring and bland and the coffee was really weak.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevinstone84
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Kevinstone84, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. I am so delighted to hear that the STAFF were welcoming and accommodating, we always strive to deliver the best GUEST service and I am truly happy to hear that the STAFF could assist in delivering this experience for you at our...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A quaint gem with wonderful mountain views across a golf course . Centrally situated and within walking distance to ever part of the village . Wonderful restaurants , 2 craft beer pubs and plenty of craft shops .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N2619XJbrianr
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear N2619XJbrianr, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your visit to Clarens. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the views around the hotel as well as the convenient location. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming...

Gillitts, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We had a lovely stay at the Protea Hotel, breakfast was awesome and very filling! Room was clean and very well kept. Close to lovely restaurants in Clarens which you can safely walk to on foot. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natashabT3064VJ
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear NatashabT3064VJ, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted to see that you had a lovely stay at our beautiful hotel and that you enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you for your great feedback received, I will be sure to share your review with the rest of the...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We stayed here for a multi day race in beautiful clarens. The town is tiny, so this is the only chain hotel in town. The hotel itself is pretty, is in an excellent location, has good parking and great breakfasts. The rooms are larger than average and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel also has a backup generator in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jge97
KarenB_PHClarens, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Jge97, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor and for taking my call on Wednesday morning. We are so pleased to hear that you thought the hotel’s location was convenient, and that we have a great breakfast offering. Once again I do apologise about the noise that came across from...

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (158)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (20)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.9 km away
Mont d'Or Hotel
Mont d'Or Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarens
97 reviews
18.4 km away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 29 in Clarens
162 reviews
0.4 km away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 29 in Clarens
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
167 reviews
1.0 km away
The Clarens Country House
0.7 km away
Ash River Lodge B&B
Ash River Lodge B&B
#8 of 38 in Clarens
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Clarens - Home is where the Art is. The Protea Hotel Clarens is located in the best kept secret in art and culture circles of the Free State. The picturesque village of Clarens is framed by the majestic Maluti Mountains, sandstone cliffs and is in close proximity to the Golden Gate National Park and the mountain kingdom of Lesotho. This artists’ haven is a tapestry steeped in history and rich in legend. Experience a living masterpiece that exudes sheer style, luxury and design. Protea Hotel Clarens blends in with the natural splendour that has inspired artists, eco lovers and tourists who simply enjoy the art of living to explore this tranquil, magical landscape and relax, in style. Take in the breathtaking scenery with sundowners on Protea Hotel Clarens’ terrace, enjoy fine dining or laze away the hours in luxury and comfort. This sanctuary embodies state-of-the-art excellence and service. From adrenalin rushes to cultural expeditions, Clarens offers it all. With an abundance of activities nearby, from San paintings and dinosaur trails to white river rafting and rock climbing; Protea Hotel Clarens’ warm hospitality completes the picture. So whether you plan a romantic getaway, team-building exercise, business conference or African adventure, Protea Hotel Clarens has it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Clarens

Address: corner of Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Price Range: $134 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Clarens 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Clarens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Clarens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Polokwane, South Africa
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Clarens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“South East rooms have the better view .”
N2619XJbrianr, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't face the main road as it can get noisy.”
natashabT3064VJ, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with a balcony is a must ..”
Shezelle, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure if you would mind not having a mountain facing room as I suspect you will spend more time outdoors.”
jacob736, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If available the rooms with the mountain views are spectacular”
charmaineb715, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$112
TravelocityUS$119
Hotels.comUS$118
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates