We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

278 On Main

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
278 On Main
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Comfortable stay close to centre. Adequate breakfast. Good service and very accommodating to our specific requests. We stayed with our 7 month old son and they were very helpful with our requests. It is worthwhile however requesting one of the rooms with a view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlissfulWanderer2015
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

The staff were lovely and accommodating. The room was comfortable and neat. The bathroom was the perfect setting for some rest and relaxation. Location was great for day time walks in and around Clarens but also removed enough for a restful evening. Great stay all around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyFeetHappyHeart
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Beautifull self catering two bedroom place on the Golf Estate, very well decorated, clean, cosy, fireplace and under floor heating, a place that you definitely recommend to others as everything you need was there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatima G
Sue C, Owner at 278 On Main, responded to this review

Thank you but we are 278 On main and you have written this review on the wrong site Regards Sue

Petaluma, California
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

The location is perfect and the Tuscan room was nice enough, with a huge bathroom and soaker tub (which we did not use). However, the room is stuck down a side alley and is dark with no view. We would have preferred one of the balcony rooms with a view. And, at $81, this was one of the more costly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pfefmeister
Sue C, Owner at 278 On Main, responded to this review

Dear William Thank you for taking the trouble to review 278 On Main. We always appreciate your effort. I am sorry you were not able to have an upstairs room but it was a very busy race weekend in Clarens and we had been booked for a long time. You only booked two days before arriving so then the choice...

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Crystal Room has the best view and ventilation (which was important because we stayed there during an oppressive heat wave). Quaint bathroom - bath has a view if you don't mind the exposure. TV didn't work when we arrived but the day manager got it working after being on the phone with service provider for about a half-hour. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rockburst74
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 24 December 2015

We could not complain - nice breakfast - although the omelets could do with more taste, the breakfast pizza is very good and the straightforward usual breakfast is nice. Might add a slice more toast though especially when ordering brown, it is small and one is just not enough - if you serve more than one guest just add another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coenie K
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 18 October 2015

A very pleasant ambience and quirky menu, clearly set out. All very inviting, but service was incredibly slow! My feta and spinach pancake, when it finally arrived, was sadly in need of some tangy sauce. None available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPWard
Sue C, Owner at 278 On Main, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. I am so sorry you were disappointed in you pancake. I must ask if you asked for another sauce to spice things up because we have a kitchen full of sauces from sweet chili to burning hot and everything in between. I am sure we would not have told...

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

The accommodation is perfectly located. The rooms are large and spacious. The bathrooms are spectacular, I want a bathroom like that! The breakfast was disappointing. But overall a fabulous stay! The best room to stay in is the Crystal room as this room has the best views.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jojobean1974
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 September 2015

My friend and I stayed in the Black and White apartment. We had a great time. Had almost all our meals in the Restaurant. The meals were so tasty. Sue really made us feel at home. We will be back for an extended visit next time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 219sonja
Midrand
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We had originally planned the trip for April and had to postpone which was sad as it would have been a lot nicer in the warmer weather! However the warm welcome from Joe Ann, the gas heater in the bedroom and the electric blanket all made up for the chilly season. The huge bedroom offered all comforts even fresh milk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PatG0ld

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clarens hotels
0.2 km away
Red Mountain House
Red Mountain House
#8 of 37 in Clarens
79 reviews
0.5 km away
Upper House
Upper House
#15 of 37 in Clarens
14 reviews
0.0 km away
Rosewood Corner Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
By the Way Guesthouse
By the Way Guesthouse
#6 of 37 in Clarens
36 reviews
5.4 km away
Andes Guest Farm & Wedding Venue
10.7 km away
Baris Guesthouse
Baris Guesthouse
#11 of 37 in Clarens
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
278 ON MAIN Bed & Breakfast Accommodationin Clarens, Free State, South AfricaWelcome to 278 0n Main. Luxury accommodation right in the center of the picturesque village of Clarens in the Eastern Freestate. Close enough to all Restaurants, Galleries and Shops to be able to park your car and forget it but secluded enough for total privacy and peace and quiet.Can accommodate 6 couples in total. Each bedroom is unique and special in character and all have their own view of the mountains that surround the village.We pride ourselves on our understated luxury.Breakfast served in our Restaurant 278 - all day - and we are open for dinner Friday and Saturday eveningsChildren welcomeNo pets.THE MAIN HOUSE: DOWNSTAIRS:The Main house is completely self-catering with a beautifully fitted kitchen. Complete with a gas hob, electric oven, and microwave and frig freezer. Serviced daily. Large dining room with crockery and cutlery for 8. Comfortable lounge with sleeper couch. Radio tape and CD player. Morso fireplace. Wood provided. Books magazines and games. Two private double bedrooms lead directly from the living area. Both have outside private entrances and en suite bathrooms. This will suite a family or two couples.Tea and coffee on tap all day. Can be booked self catering or B& B.The Black and White bedroom and Chakaland bedroom are in the Main House.BLACK AND WHITE BEDROOM : Large and airy double bedroom with beds that can either be two singles or one king. On suite bathroom with large bath and shower. Bubbles and oils a to pamper yourself .Beautiful cotton percale linen and fluffy towels for that extra luxury. Mountain views as you wake up in the morning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 278 On Main

Address: 278 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Price Range: $78 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 278 On Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 278 On Main staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“45 On Main Clarens”
 of 5 bubbles FatimaG267, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose the crystal room”
 of 5 bubbles Rockburst74, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“When more than 2 people, say 2 couples, a family or a group of 4 friends, do try and book "the house"”
 of 5 bubbles coeniek616, 24 Dec 2015 | Read review
“This is a restaurant, not a hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles CPWard, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“crystal suite for great mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles ZubsZA, 18 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay