We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Devonshire Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Devonshire Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Devonshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Stayed at the hotel last September for a visit to Yarndale. Booked a Suite with shower in the July for myself, my husband and our granddaughter. Also have emails to prove this. On arrival we were told that they didn't know our granddaughter was booked too. I said I had let them know and booked a table for dinner for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ladyshipfi
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We booked fairly last minute but managed to get a 'dog friendly' room. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and ate there both evenings. The atmosphere and surroundings are simply charming and the newly refurbished rooms delightful with lovely furnishings, comfy bed and bedding and fabulous bathroom with complementary toiletries. There was a good selection of coffee and tea with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shez5422
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi shez5422 We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time out to give us such a lovely review. We are a relatively new team here at the Devonshire and trying hard to create a great place to stay for our guests. All feedback is greatly appreciated. Regards Jayne

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed at The Devonshire in Grassington for one Friday evening at the end of November 2016. The pub/hotel has a lovely atmosphere and we enjoyed a really good quality meal on the Friday evening. The accommodation is very nice and in keeping with an old character building in a Yorkshire market town - with excellent facilities. The bathroom had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex1515S
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alex1515S, I enjoyed reading your review. We pride ourselves on our characteristic building and try to keep things somewhat traditional. Our breakfast is all locally sourced as are most of our restaurant delights. I am pleased that you found them to your liking. ~We thank you for your recommendation to your family and friends and look forward to seeing...

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Staying in Grassington for winter weekend away, called into this lovely hotel for pre dinner drinks. Beautiful inside, cosy and comfortable, with friendly staff. Unfortunately, we had a previous dinner booking elsewhere, but looking at the food being served we will definitely go back there to eat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 578jacky
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hello 578jacky, Nice of you to call in for pre dinner drinks. We look forward to seeing you again in our restaurant shortly. Hope you enjoyed the meal you had elsewhere. Jayne

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely pub with gorgeous rooms. We had a tiny room due to taking a dog with us but the room was still of a high standard. The pub is lovely a cosy and the food both on the evening and at breakfast was great. The location is fantastic as it is so central, the only issue some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyJar
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi EmilyJar, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately the car park issue is something we cannot do very much about. We look forward to seeing you again in March. If you haven't already booked your room please give me a call and I will reserve a lovely room for you. Regards Jayne

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

From booking it went wrong but to be fair that was late room.com. Our room was ok but the bathroom was dusty behind the door. The beds where comfy so had a good night sleep. The room was warm for us but hotel rooms always are, would rather that can always open window as we did. Now the restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sweetingthorns
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sweetingthorns for you complex review. I would like to bring to your attention that we have just had a new head chef started with us and he is currently looking at all the menus and suppliers. We are hoping shortly to correct the issues concerning the restaurant (inc breakfast). Your review has come at the perfect time. I...

Batley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Our room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the lovely square.Large and comfy bed and large tv.However there was no soap in the bathroom and the toilet needed thumbs of steel to flush it.There was the last guests water still in the kettle and the the cafetière only served one cup so had to cleaned out before we could make another....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Chris. We have taken on board all of the points you made and are working on correcting them. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the parking. The hotel is very old and obviously parking wasn't an issue back then. Our menu is also being reviewed for the new year. Thanks again, Jayne

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Went to Grassington for the Dickensian Christmas Festival this weekend. Thought we'd get in the Devonshire early before the crush and were pleasantly surprised by the choices on offer for the set menu. Placed our order after deliberating for some time over which main course to choose as they all sounded delicious. However, when we saw the meals coming out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GalaxyRider50
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us during the Dickensian Festival. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed. As you pointed out this is a very busy time for us therefore our menu has to be greatly reduced. After reading your review we took on board your comments and changed the wording on our menu for the following weekend. We...

Buckden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We didn't stay her but had a very nice meal at the Devonshire today with the family - staff demonstrated a good level of customer service and were very friendly - The different areas add character - thank you very much and keep it up

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuckInn1
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you chose us to visit for your family meal. We look forward to seeing you again perhaps in the new year when we will have a new menu to tempt you. Regards Jayne

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights - room and bathroom recently refurbished and comfy, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast excellent, location right in the centre in the square. Will stay again and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MTB99Mike
Jayne Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you MTB99Mike. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard here at the Devonshire to create the perfect atmosphere for all our guests and very pleased to receive such lovely feedback.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
94 reviews
12.8 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.3 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
750 reviews
23.8 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
552 reviews
25.9 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Devonshire Hotel

Address: 25-27 Main Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Price Range: $168 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Grassington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Devonshire Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Devonshire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The reception staff would be the best to offer advice”
 of 5 bubbles 578jacky, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 overlooks the pretty square and has a window seat,perfect for gazing out from”
 of 5 bubbles WakefieldShakywakey, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms off the main square would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Sam538, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Ainton suite room 6”
 of 5 bubbles stevemacAshbourne, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 1”
 of 5 bubbles AnnualOxford, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5