We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Horse Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Black Horse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although extremely busy on the Sunday of the annual Dickensian Festival we still received a warm welcome from the landlord on arrival. We would have ordered a bar meal but found it difficult to find a spare table or seat given the bar was crowded. We settled for pints of Old Speckled Hen cask ale our favourite tipple and stood...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vuepoint
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when it is a bit quieter. Kind Regards

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just spent 2 nights at this lovely pub, the room was a double, very clean and comfy, large flat tv, tea coffee and biscuits, bath and shower hot water all times, breakfast lovely and plenty of it. Had evening meal also good, the staff very good and friendly,will go back here and recommend it to family and friends,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bren553
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards

Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here this week. Although weather outside was horrific, this hotel was a haven of calm, warmth and great staff. Room was beautiful and sooooooo clean. Would recommend without a doubt

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Merryl P
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we wish we could of improved the weather for you but unfortunately some thing are out of our control :) We hope to see you again. Kind Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel having not stayed in Grassington before and we were very pleased. The staff were all friendly and professional and our room was well decorated and clean. The breakfast and evening meal were very tasty and well cooked. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rr11956
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were all very polite & helpful @ our room was spotless. The breakfast is excellent comprising two rashers, a sausage, black pudding, beans, egg & mushrooms with unlimited toast & tea or coffee. Cereal or fresh fruit & yoghurt available as well. We ate in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris A
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are in the process of replacing carpets throughout the hotel and when we do this we are also doing the floorboards as inevitably with the age of the building we do have some squeaky floors. If you would be so kind as to email blackhorsegrassington@live.co.uk and provide us with the details of the room...

South Shields
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great 2 night stay Wednesday & Thursday. Room lovely and clean, felt totally relaxed. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was delicious couldn't complain. Would deffo stay again and highly recommend. Great country pub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lex L
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed for one night (Wednesday) which turned out to be quiz night. A lovely hotel and great friendly staff, the food was very good and well proportioned. The hotel is dog friendly and as a result there are dogs in the bar we have no problems with this as one of them was ours. The restaurant does not allow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James P
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also got to take part in the weekly quiz - we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, lovely food. Stayed 2 nights on a special deal including evening meal. A very comfortable, newly decorated room and they didn't mind the dog hairs! Delicious evening meal, better than pub standard. Busy bar with regular events. Freshly cooked breakfast. Wonderful situation in centre of Grassington with good walks around the Dales.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ElaineS78
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will hopefully see you again in the future. Kind Regards

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed last Saturday and sunday night with our two dogs. Had a very nice stay, slept extremely well . All the staff were very welcoming and helpful . The breakfast on both mornings were served quickly and on hot plates and of a high quality. We didn't need lunch as there was p[lenty to see us through till dinner. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah T
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately the roast dinner was on the specials menu so there is only a certain amount of the dishes available - hopefully if you visit again you may get the chance to try it. Kind Regards

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

we stayed Fri - Sun, and I have very mixed views of it. The initial welcome was great, very friendly. The room I can't fault, warm, clean, comfortable, nice towels and bedding. Quiet given it is over a pub, no problems sleeping. The food however, well, I am probably not the best person to review it. my main course arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kim n
bhgrass, Owner at Black Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry you did not receive the service we always strive to provide and that you had problems with your food - as you say this is not the norm for us at all and I sincerely apologise about this. I note you said you would stay again, I sincerely hope you do...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grassington
0.1 km away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
73 reviews
4.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
729 reviews
4.2 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Tennants Arms
The Tennants Arms
#1 of 1 in Kilnsey
259 reviews
25.9 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
12.8 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 17th-century coaching inn in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. 15 en-suite rooms - twin, double, king-size, 4 poster (with a magnificent view into the Dales), even hostel bedrooms. Typically Dales in its interior with nary a level floor or wall in sight! Cosy bar with a log fire, and an equally cosy restaurant with a la carte or traditional fayre dishes. Plenty of superb walks in the immediate area. 50 yards from Grassington square. A full refurbishment of the bedrooms, with new bathrooms, was completed in April, as was the restaurant, complete with carvery meals at the weekends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Hotel

Address: 4 Garrs Lane, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington
Price Range: $165 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Horse Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had room 3 overlooking the front street ,”
 of 5 bubbles bren553, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room near to the back of the hotel, (higher nos) of it might be noisey”
 of 5 bubbles kimn547, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“proper Yorkshire Dales experience”
 of 5 bubbles _catherinedacrehardy, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in main part with brick walls if a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Mikinblack, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“any they are very proffessional business people with the main aim to satisfy their customers”
 of 5 bubbles 627robing, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay