We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Trowle Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$180
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (439)
Room & Suite (122)
Dining (67)

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Trowbridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Moonraker Hotel, a grade 2 listed 23 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon and Trowbridge and is a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Our Head Chef and his team has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs and chickens live on the grounds. The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Full body massage
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1435Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 865
  • 374
  • 126
  • 42
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Selina B wrote a review 17 Jan
1 contribution
Me and my husband had our wedding at the moonraker Hotel and we absolutely loved every moment of it from start to finish. The staff were absolutely fantastic and couldn't be more helpful they were all very hands on and very friendly, they couldn't of been more helpful on our special day. The hotel is very beautiful and the food was very delicious , all of our guest really enjoyed the food and said how nice it all was, even the fish and chips that we had in the evening were delicious and all of our guests thought that too. All the rooms are beautiful and felt homely. I highly recommend the moonraker Hotel and should be a 4 star and not a 3 star hotel. We will be definitely going back. Thankyou to all of the staff and the chef for making our day so special. From selina and Paul may.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
robertm wrote a review 14 Jan
Berkshire, United Kingdom25 contributions11 helpful votes
A one night night DB&B stay on cold dark January night. All was "OK". A very comfortable and warm Courtyard room. Attentive staff. But overall failed to live up to its own promise with only limited Menu (reasonably well executed), the tinyest bar, the lack of any cosy residents lounge (despite the glorious Manor Farmhouse as part of the set-up/complex - which boasts about said lounge - and, on a dark cold winter evening, hugely disappointingly, no fire burning in the grate of the rather cavernous and otherwise characterless dining room/bar/reception which was begging for the atmosphere an open fire/ woodburner would have given. A missed opportunity to make a more positive impression.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: No obvious "views" to be had (in January) but a pretty Manor Farmhouse as centrepiece...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
1967mrt wrote a review 10 Jan
Maidstone, United Kingdom13 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Two-night stay. First room Freezing on arrival and blocked toilet, toilet handle falling off, moved to second room dirty towels on the floor around the leaking shower, holes in the floor, generally dirty and run down. Third room shower not working. Unable to contact reception from room to order room service, ended up having food delivered. Not told about cooked breakfast, charge over £10 for continental and £14 for cooked if you get offered. Very tired run-down place that needs a lot of work. Could be lovely. Was given a full refund and offer of a free one-night stay, but as this is over a three-hour drive for us, one night is not much use. This was a Christmas gift to each other, so completely ruined by a very shabby hotel. Rachael the booking manager was very prompt and polite with her response to my negative feedback.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Just check all works before you unpack
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael Frankland, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moonraker
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, it was myself who tried to make amends and issued a full refund along with the offer of another stay. We are all working exceptionally hard to deliver a great experience for our guests and it would seem on this occasion we got it wrong. Again apologies for this. The offer for a stay in one of our sister hotels still stands, you have my contact details should you wish to reconsider.
Read more
A&P wrote a review 10 Jan
8 contributions
+1
Our December wedding at The Moonraker simply couldn't have been any more perfect. From the team, the food, the venue, the decor, it was all wonderful! Rachel and all of the staff at The Moonraker went above and beyond for us, nothing was too much trouble. We setup in the Marque the night before, and had a gorgeous dinner with all of our friends and family. The food was stunning, the service was impeccable! Our wedding morning ran so smoothly, Rachel was back and forth to the Bridal suite checking how we were getting on, whilst also liaising with her team to organise the ceremony room for me. The room looked gorgeous and everything just felt so relaxed all morning! The ceremony ran like clockwork, straight into drinks, canapés and photos outside. The food From the canapés to the full English breakfast the day after the wedding, everything was amazing! We chose the Feather-blade of Beef for our Wedding Breakfast meal and it was simply stunning! Almost every single one of our guests commented on how gorgeous it was, the beef just fell apart. A huge thank-you to the chef! We chose Pizza, Mulled Wine and Hot Chocolate for our evening guests, which all our guests absolutely loved! The rooms All of our guests loved the venue, commenting on how quaint and thoughtful the rooms were. Room 17, the Bridal Suite, was just gorgeous, the perfect amount of space to get ready in on the wedding morning – I would highly recommend this room for you and your Bridesmaids to get ready in. It was perfectly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of anything else going on that morning. The venue We decorated the marque ourselves, but the fairy-lighting and Rustic tables just suited our theme perfectly. Along with the fireplace, tall candles and rustic Love Letters, the room looked beautiful. We had a winter wedding which felt intimate and cosy, but in the summer you could have the doors open which would be lovely. The Milking Parlour becomes the most beautiful space for your ceremony, lit with fairy lights on the ceiling, it makes for stunning photos. It is then converted in the evening for a great party space! It has everything you need, bar, tables, seating, DJ area and Dance-floor space! The staff We actually work in the wedding industry ourselves, and I can honestly say we have never been to a venue where the staff were so attentive. Nothing was too much trouble, they thought of every single detail. Rachel Verghese, our event planner, helped me with every aspect of the day, zoom calls and emails flying back and forth, along with taking care of all of my needs on the wedding morning and throughout the day. Jordan, our event manager on the day, ensured everything ran smoothly for us. The evening duty manager ensured we had the most awesome evening disco. Even the bar staff/waiters/waitresses were all so unbelievably attentive to our needs. No one ever waiting longer than a few minutes at the bar for a drink. Thank-you all for being so wonderful. If you are looking for a beautiful, intimate, cost wedding venue, where the staff will simply go above and beyond for you, this it the place for you. There is not a single part of our wedding day that we would change. Thank-you Moonraker!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room 17 for the Bridal Party to get ready in was gorgeous! Very luxurious with a walk in...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael Frankland, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moonraker
Responded 1 week ago
What a wonderful review for our hardworking team to receive, thank you so much! Wishing you both every happiness for your future together as man and wife 😊
Read more
markginns wrote a review 7 Jan
Kettering, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
We booked the night before our visit after a few glasses of wine and woke up in the morning worried we might have made a mistake. We booked a Superior room with a 3 course meal and breakfast through a well known (but secret) 3rd party. On arrival Jordon booked us in and showed us to our room via a little history of the building. The bedroom was massive, and had everything we needed and more. During a few beers in the bar, Jordon kept us entertained with his background and what the owners vision for The Moonraker was. Jordon is very professional and this showed throughout our stay. The evening meal was very good, we both had the Loch Duarte Smoked Salmon starter, amazing, my wife had the Roast Rump of Mendip Lamb, I don’t normally like lamb, but had a little taste, amazing. I then had Beer Battered Fish, amazing. I then had then had a sticky toffee pudding, amazing. Breakfast, after a 3 course the night before all I wanted was tea and toast! So glad we booked this, exceptional value, great staff made for a very relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael Frankland, Guest Services / Front Office at The Moonraker
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for taking the time to post such positive comments, our hard working team really appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel old manor
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Old Manor Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireTrowbridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Moonraker
Which popular attractions are close to The Moonraker?
Nearby attractions include The Courts Garden (3.7 km), Great Chalfield Manor (4.9 km), and Farleigh Hungerford Castle (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Moonraker?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Moonraker?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Moonraker?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Moonraker?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Moonraker?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mes Amis, The Longs Arms, and Verona Italian restaurant.
Are pets allowed at The Moonraker?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Moonraker offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Moonraker?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Great Chalfield Manor (4.9 km), Farleigh Hungerford Castle (4.2 km), and Westwood Manor (2.9 km).
Is The Moonraker accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.