We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sovetskaya st., 66 Across Historical Museum, Cholpon Ata 722315 Kyrgyzstan
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)

About

#1 of 71 Specialty lodging in Cholpon Ata
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Apple hostel located in the center of town right across the historical museum! The main attractions of town are located within walking distance, the biggest supermarket is located right across the street. Petroglyphs is within 30-40 min walking from the hostel. The hostel is clean and tidy and all the staff at the hostel always welcome all tourists from all over the world. Hiking tours are available on site as well as a range of activities including but not limited to eagle hunting shows/music performances. Airport transfer can be organized as well.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Diving
Hot spring bath
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Secured parking
Wifi
Horseback riding
Salon
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Chinese
41Reviews3Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 4
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
CarlaSianinCairo wrote a review Sep 2018
Cairo, Egypt24 contributions11 helpful votes
I stayed in Apple Hostel during the World Nomad Games, and like other travellers I was actually sent to another guesthouse 5 minutes’ walk away. This didn’t bother me as I was only staying for one night and the other guesthouse was decent, but it was a bit dishonest that they didn’t explain that I wouldn’t be in the actual hostel before booking. The other guesthouse was quiet, clean and comfortable, but its staff spoke absolutely no English which was a bit inconvenient. However, the staff from Apple Hostel itself were very friendly and helpful (including over WhatsApp) and translated for me. I only passed through the real Apple Hostel for 5 minutes on arrival, but it seemed very sociable and the best place in Cholpon Ata to meet other travellers if that’s what you want. Oh and breakfast was tasty!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 29 May 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We will keep your recommendations in mind and will deliver better during your next visit. Stay safe and take care, Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leaper84 wrote a review Sep 2018
Makati, Philippines78 contributions12 helpful votes
Perhaps because of the season it was understaffed and at times I couldn’t find anybody to help me or answer questions. I understand that tourism isn’t big yet but it would be helpful to have signs or instructions around if the staff doesn’t speak English and you’re expecting non Russian or Kyrgyz speakers. There were two showers but one was difficult to work out (hot water didn’t always work). The squat toilet was hardly ever clean. For $15 a night there are other places for better value nearby although their staff might not speak English. The owner/manager spoke English and the staff were friendly. They seemed to be informed about the World Nomad Games and readily gave information. Location was in the middle of the bus stations to Cholpon Ata and Bishkek. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Breakfast was served quickly and it was always warm. I was lucky to get a warm dorm room as I heard from others that theirs was freezing. The bed is tinier than some of the dorm beds I’ve slept on (just to let people know I’m 5’1” so they’re forewarned) but quite comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 29 May 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. I totally agree on the signs and instructions in English. Will prepare them for the next time. In addition to squat toilets there are normal European toilets as well. Hope you were able to use them as well. Stay safe and take care, Best Aigul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carter F wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution3 helpful votes
BEWARE: they will lie to you here. They will tell you whatever they need to tell you in order to take your money. Allow me to share our nightmare.. We booked a private room at apple hostel, and were very excited because of these great reviews. When we arrived, we were told that we had to pay for our 5 night stay, up front, in cash, before they will let you even put your bags in the room. This was the first we heard about this. But they don’t have an atm on-site. Then after dealing with that, we were led across the street several minutes away to a different hotel that was in very poor condition. Although they told us we would have a room in apple hostel, this turned out to be a lie. This new hotel has no people who speak any English, and is in a state of major disrepair. Additionally, this location had no WiFi for our room. None. When we complained to apple hostel, they said we can cancel and find a new place if we want, which is impossible in the evening of the same day. The staff was incredibly unhelpful throughout this entire process, which was surprising because all 3 other hostels we have stayed in around Issyk Kul have been amazing and very helpful. The contrast is stark. Apple Hostel is also one of the most expensive options in the area. So at th end of the day, we paid top dollar to be put in a decrepit hotel with no WiFi, by a very rude staff who seemed to not care what we did one way or another. This place might be a nice place to stay during down times or off-season, but do not even think about booking here during the peak tourist months. They will lie to you and wait until the very last minute to reveal the lie, leaving you with no other options but to post a bad review and hope others don’t make the same mistake.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 29 May 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your time to leave a review. I remember both of you and the situation we had so I can respond here in details even after almost 2 years. You guys made a reservation for a double room. At Apple hostel we have only dorms so especially for the World Nomad Games we rented a hotel across the street which had double rooms. I messaged you on what's app several days before your arrival that you would be accommodated in a different hotel next to the hostel. On arrival I told you the same but you decided to check in anyways. 90% of hotels/hostels and guesthouses charge upon check in. It is a normal practice not only in Kyrgyzstan but abroad as well. If you check in to homestays or some guesthouses in Kyrgyzstan then yes - if you do not offer them the payment at the beginning - they are patient to wait until you check out. For most of them it is a first time experience managing a business so often times they are just shy to ask for payment at the check in. Another reason for charging later is if they offer on-site meals or activities that you might be interested in. To make it easier for both parties they might charge in the end as well. I have checked you into the room. A few hours after checking in you came back saying that you found another place which was not a problem for us at all. I offered you your money back even though it was a peak season for us and we were fully booked. I am not sure how incredibly unhelpful I was in this situation but I did my best to accommodate your requests. The hostel is in the city center so there are a dozen banks near the hostel. There is atm when you exit the hostel on your right/left/across the street - all within 5 minutes walk. So far nobody have complained about that. Sorry for responding so late. Just catching up on things during COVID 19. Hope you guys stay safe and take care. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
直弘 冨 wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution
Very good place to make new friends. I spent a fun night with shared meals, and had an amazing morning yoga on the beach. The kitchen was enough good. The number of showers and toilets was fine. The room was clean. Garden was very helpful to get my laundries dry.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 29 May 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking time to leave your review. I see that you have visited us during World Nomad Games - I am glad to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay! Hope to welcome you back for the next World Nomad Games :) Sincerely, Apple Hostel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Untoldwanderlust wrote a review Jun 2018
Hanoi, Vietnam249 contributions44 helpful votes
Location: centrally located in the heart of Cholpon Ata. There is a supermarket across the road. Room: The dorm rooms have 2 bunk beds with enough room to store your luggage. Beds are comfy and the blankets are thick for the cold weather. Staff: we were welcomed by other fellow traveller who was volunteering at the hostel. Ruben gave us some great advice of what there is to do in the area with the help of the map in the kitchen. Together we explored the town and encounter some once in a life time spectacles! During our time at Apple Hostel there were several other travellers. I would highly recommend this hostel to travellers looking to connect with like minded individuals and plan a day trip around the area together
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The room closet to the kitchen has a radiator
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Dear Jake and Katie, Thank you very much for sharing with such a positive review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay! All the best in your travels, Aigul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sscdjo wrote a review May 2018
Sydney, Australia138 contributions14 helpful votes
Stayed at the Apple Hostel. This is a small Hostel, not easy to find, even tho it is on the man street. The staff (other travellers temporarily managing the place) were fantastic. We felt like we were at home. The kitchen is well stocked. Location of the hostel is perfect. Short walk to the super market and other shops. Chill-out area great to enjoy at the afternoon sun. Rooms comfortable. Note they only have dorm rooms tho.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 4 bed dorm room is best
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing with such a positive review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Aigul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erkan C wrote a review Oct 2017
Berlin, Germany15 contributions6 helpful votes
I enjoyed my stay here. Everything good. Met nice people in the common room. You can use kitchen to cook or the fridge. Nice and helpful staff. Supermarket 1 minute to walk. Host helped me to organize Kumyz :) I can recommend to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Dear Erkan, Thank you very much for taking time to share with such a positive review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back this year for the World Nomad Games! Best, Aigul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bernarderr wrote a review Oct 2017
11 contributions5 helpful votes
Great short, overnight stay. Hostel and courtyard were clean. Owner and other guests nice and respectful. Located in the center of the commercial road making it easy to grab food, visit the beach and Cultural Center.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Dear Max, Thank you very much for taking time to share with such a positive review. Indeed, everything is within proximity because of our central location. Hope to see you back this year for the World Nomad Games! :) Best, Aigul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WMBandit wrote a review Jun 2017
Shanghai, China1895 contributions214 helpful votes
Went at the end of May and stayed for one night. Not alot of other tourists so it was a plesant and quiet stay. Located on the main street but tucked away in a quiet neighbouhood, it is opposite of the market and many shops. Very nice and safe place and the owner is super lovely. Breakfast is provided and dinner is available as well. Nice ocmfortable beds and clean toilets and showers. Overall, a great stay with more than reasonable prices.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Any is fine
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a positive review highlighting our services. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to welcome you back this year for the World Nomad Games! :) Best, Aigul
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S H wrote a review Sep 2016
Cardiff, United Kingdom68 contributions43 helpful votes
I stayed here for a week for the recent Nomad Games, so read tus review knowing the hostel was packed and staff very budy. 1. Hostelworld advises breakfast is included, it was not. 2. I booked a 6 bed dorm well in advance, but was put in a 12 bed. The dorm had lockers, the bed was comfortable. Tea/coffee on arrival. Managers spoke English well and were helpful, knew all about the area and bought pizza for guests one night i was there. What else...no trash can in the dorm, but lots of sockets for charging devices. Showers are hot but the heads are broken so they are like a tap really! There were not enough washing facilities to go around, every morning was a bit of a scramble for a toilet or shower - a couple of each for 20 odd guests. People drank outside the dorm pretty much every night. It was noisy. A cut off time for drinking at the hostel, say 11pm? Would be great for those who are not alcholics, there are plenty of places to drink in Cholpon Ata! At another time the hostel may have been quieter and this less of an issue. Wifi was not the most reliable. The facilities were pretty clean and well maintained. If you want an authentic Kyrgyz experience find a homestay, if you want to meet other travellers and feel a backpacker atmosphere go here. The staff are good and can help you with anything you need to do in the area etc. If the hostel was able to pay attention to a few basic things if would be so much better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aigul K, Manager at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Responded 17 Sep 2016
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to share with your experience. I will try to respond as best as I can. First, yes we have been overbooked during the Nomad Games and it was hard for us to trek which people reserved in which room. Also some people have asked to change their beds different from the original booking to be able to stay with their friends. If you were to ask to be placed in a 6 bed dorm I am sure we could have accomodated you in the one you booked. Secondly, regarding the hostelworld: we had breakfasts served at the hostel in cholpon ata last year but this year we dropped the price and removed the breakfast. I have asked the hostelworld manager to add breakfast at Apple hostel in Bishkek and remove the breakfast in Cholpon ata but I guess he got confused. I am very sorry for the confusion. We have removed the free breakfast at the hostel in cholpon ata from the hostelworld now. Last but not least, we would fix the other details you have mentioned though, thank you for pointing them out. We have also asked numerous times the guests sitting at the outside terrace to keep their voices down but they were not much responsive. We normally do not get this busy and it was only the Nomad Games that guests from other places have also come and joined the hostel guests. Sorry about that. Hope that during your next visit you will find the small details fixed. Safe travels, Aigul Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
KyrgyzstanIssyk Kul ProvinceCholpon Ata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata
Which popular attractions are close to Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata?
Nearby attractions include Museum of Petroglyphs (2.6 km), Historical Museum (0.03 km), and The Equestrian Hippodrome (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata?
Conveniently located restaurants include U Rybaka, Cafe Bomond, and Barashek.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Apple Hostel Cholpon Ata?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Chinese.