We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 May 2015

We booked a cabin at $90 a night. Very small and overpriced for what we got. We have stayed at YHA hostels all over South Island less than half the price and much more comfortable. Had to walk a distance to toilets and facilities were very basic. Would not stay again would rather pay another $5 for motel

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bridgegirls
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Hello, We would have been happy to show you our alternative accommodation options, including the motels, which you mentioned. Our cabins are "Historical Kiwiana Cabins" from when the Manapouri damn was being built. We have given them a remodel and now includes all the bells and whistles to have a more luxurious camping experience. They include your own personal flat...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2015

My partner and I stayed here for one night on our camper van and absolutely LOVED it! The remote location nestled in the bush was perfect and just a short drive to the McLean Falls walk. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming, we wished we had been able to stay another night! The cafe food is delicious and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EstherNZ
ISPIDunedin, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

This is more reflective of our property. Thank you for your kind words - we do strive to make people's stay enjoyable and it is nice when it is appreciated. We are a remote location and have no city services. It is a very intensive operation to provide pure water, waste disposal, a great restaurant and high speed internet, all...

Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

Highly overpriced in our opinion. $60 for two people in a campsite or $100 for a room with literally two single beds. Kitchen is alright. Showers are dark and the lights don't seem to turn on for you. Pressure is good but changes every time someone else uses water. Plenty of spiders and bugs up on the ceiling! Living area...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Beth Y
ISPIDunedin, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Camping is not $60 per day, so not sure how you arrived at that? It is $18.70 excluding GST per person up to two persons and $10 for the extra person, which includes free showers, free wifi internet service, free DVD rental and a kitchen and common room to enjoy. There is also an on-site restaurant for the camper's convenience....

Port Kennedy WA
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We had made this our base for a few days as there is so much to see in the Catlins. All was well until the owners were overheard talking about us ...then all hell let loose...Even now writing this makes me feel sick . The main problem is there is nowhere to park your car close to your tent, we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LinSim
ISPIDunedin, Owner at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

It was a sad case of unintended consequences. The simple question asked was whether they had paid for their last night and how long they intended staying? They swore that they had paid. Everyone was extremely polite to this party and they were irate that we asked them to not drive their car on the grass as it had made...

Axbridge
Reviewed 10 April 2015

The Holiday Park is situated in a pristine part of remote South Island NZ and its eco credentials do it proud. Very friendly and competent staff and excellent accommodation. Brilliant walks and beaches in easy reach.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SusanAxbridge
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Our stay in the McLean Falls cabins was our third and we were really happy with our cabin, everything we wanted. The kitchen nearby was kept clean and was stocked with all the required implements. Dinner one night in the Whistling Frog was as good as before, but it would be best to book as they sometimes do not stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mnowlan
ISPIDunedin, Manager at Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for review. I am glad we could accommodate you with everything that you needed. We are pleased you could join us for a nice dinner in our on-site restaurant. We have bug spray available for guests at reception for those pesky sand flies that come out over summer time. Haven't seen any sand flies for a while...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Probably one of the best NZ chalets I've stayed in. Clean as a whistle, everything you could ask for in the kitchen, super shower. Friendly staff at reception and really nice to chat to the boss lady - obviously takes a hands on approach which is why this place is so good. I really wouldn't hesitate to recommend this little...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NiallNoigiallach
Naseby, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 March 2015

What a hidden gem, lovely warm cabin, top class food in their restaurant, try their yummy pizza too, wonderful hosts who take time to chat to customers and care about the environment. Waterfalls ,caves, walks, Jurassic logs on the beach and penguins and other birds galore within a few minutes. We took a longer drive to take in other sights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SherPaul
Wellington
Reviewed 17 March 2015

My partner and I stayed at the Whistling Frog Resort for a couple of nights at the end of February and really enjoyed the isolation of the location and the homeliness of the 1 bedroom cabin we stayed in. The cabin was spotlessly clean and had a great kitchen with everything you could possibly think of for a self-catering holiday....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TillyHolmes
Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Rustic cottages but spacious and well appointed. Comfortable. Fine breakfast service. Margaret Very convenient location from which to see the Cathedral Caves. The cave must be seen. But it has to be done at afternoon low tide, so plan ahead. Jim

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaslands
28.1 km away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
42 reviews
17.3 km away
Waikava Harbour View
Waikava Harbour View
#1 of 2 in Waikawa
100 reviews
30.6 km away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
39.8 km away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
30.6 km away
Surat Bay Lodge
Surat Bay Lodge
#2 of 2 in Surat Bay
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Do you want value for money, free wifi and to stay at the most central location to all the iconic attractions? The Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls is perfectly situated in the heart of the Catlins Rainforest. This provides an ideal home-base to enjoy not only the nearby McLean Falls and Cathedral Caves, but North and South Catlins attractions as well. Our Accommodation ranges from budget beds to luxurious chalets and cottages, suiting everyone's needs and budget. We even have all your meals sorted with our very excellent acclaimed Whistling Frog Cafe, which is our fully licensed restaurant and bar for all day dining and evening meals. One of the few places in the Catlins that offers such amenities and convinience. Ideal for couples, families, tours and groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls

Address: 9 Rewcastle Road | off Chaslands Highway, Chaslands, New Zealand (Formerly McLean Falls Motels & Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Chaslands
Price Range: $88 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose a simple cabin, super quite”
 of 5 bubbles michelleskinz, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid staying in a motel room if you want don't want to hear the neighbours”
 of 5 bubbles jmW6290DW, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The motels rooms are nice with ensute. there is a well set up communal kithen. But the chalets are all self contained and very special”
 of 5 bubbles 361micks, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“instead of a motel unit, perhaps a villa is better value”
 of 5 bubbles 604roberth, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Standard cabins are lovely, number 5 is closest to the shower block!”
 of 5 bubbles AdamJ725, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay