We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Fraoch Lodge Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN Scotland
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Vio.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (37)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
We have made some changes to how we are running Fraoch Lodge in response to the COVID-19 crisis. We may review these changes as the advice changes but for the time being: We have split the Lodge into 2 separate areas for guests. You can book either the Annexe or the Main House rooms. Both areas will sleep 4 - 5 people and include a complementary breakfast buffet. In the annex you will have exclusive use of a full kitchen plus open air, covered dining area, a double room with family shower room, a twin/triple room with en suite facilities and a lounge/breakfast room exclusive to your group/family. For the main house rooms, again you have exclusive use of your private area which includes: 1 x twin en suite room, 1 x triple en suite room, exclusive use of the dining room and guest lounge (both with multi-fuel stoves for extra heat - which will be prepared for you) Dinner options will be available should you wish to eat in but you will not have access to a kitchen. Your hosts will be on site and available to answer any queries, keep hygiene standards high and maintain the cleaning schedule. You can speak to us through Whatsapp, across a social distance or on the phone. We are keeping all our services in place including family games in the lounge and books availabe in house and choosing instead to space our bookings out to reduce the risk of infection from COVID-19
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Skiing
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Strollers
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Interconnected rooms available
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French
150Reviews3Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 37
  • 5
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nick wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
A superb experience, knowledgeable and experienced guide, marvellous food, great company and the best combination of activity and accommodation. For a combined walking, wildlife and activity vacation in the Hebredian Islands this trip was terriffic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anthony R wrote a review Aug 2020
Mars, Outerspace49 contributions31 helpful votes
This was an extended family get-away, and it was really handy having the space to relax together. The lodge is very well set up for the current covid19 restrictions and the hosts have put a lot of thought into looking after their guests. The addition of an outdoor dining option was very kind and we all enjoyed this, I loved the recycled whisky barrel being used for hand washing with the grey-water recycling scheme too. We had a lovely time and are looking forwards to our next visit. PS the food is great, highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: They also do guided walking and can assist with lots of activities in the surrounding area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
clive3smith wrote a review Feb 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom22 contributions15 helpful votes
Great place to stay close to all the area has to offer. Clean comfortable rooms, fantastic drying room facilities, and great home cooked food. Hosts Rebecca and Andy really go out of their way to make you feel at home and Rebecca’s cake’s and homemade bread are something to really look forward to after a hard day on the mountains. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
EtiveGirl wrote a review Nov 2019
Beauly, United Kingdom93 contributions91 helpful votes
We booked in here as a large group of friends visiting the area for hillwalking. The rooms were lovely, and perfectly adequate for our needs - the drying room is epic for wet gear. It managed to accommodate 13 people's wet walking gear & dry it overnight. Mega bonus! The heating is super effective, the house was roasting all the time. Plenty hot water as well. Rebecca's breakfast was really fab, plenty of options, home made jam and bread and good filter coffee - much appreciated by those of us that are caffeine junkies. The kitchen facilities provided again are totally adequate for what we required, reheating and serving a collective meal for us all at night. Short on fridge space but thats the same at every place we stay. We had rented the whole accommodation which was great but I don't think I'd have enjoyed it as much if we were sharing with other groups. The rooms have security codes but the kitchen could have been cramped. You are sharing the owners house so it feels a wee bit odd to start with, particularly as we were a big group and could be very noisy. All in all, a great wee place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
andrew j wrote a review Jul 2019
6 contributions
relaxed and comfortable place to stay with great food choices from Rebecca including amazing home grown Worcester berry jam, and first class hiking opportunities with experienced guide Andy. Boat of Garten is a great location especially if you like a heritage steam train rides, hiking, walking and biking. The outdoor opportunities are endless. The rooms are warm and clean, WiFi available. The 'make your own' packed lunch was good, there is a local store selling most things if needs be. Best of all you are away from the bustling outdoors crowd.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: have confidence when booking, ours was seamless from start to finish.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
strixy wrote a review Nov 2018
Edinburgh, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
We often visit the highlands to go mountain biking. We booked a 2 night stay at Fraoch Lodge in the middle of October and were excited to try the 'Burma Road' for the first time. We emailed the B&B 1 week prior to the stay and explained that we would be arriving around 9.30/10pm as we were driving straight from work in Edinburgh- received no reply. Unfortunately, on the Friday evening of our stay, I was loading up the cars in Edinburgh and one of our mountain bikes was stolen from the roof of the car. I called Fraoch Lodge but there was no reply. Left a voicemail explaining the situation, that we would no longer be staying (I must have sounded quite upset) and said that they needn't wait up for us! I asked if they could call me back when they got the voicemail. Never heard anything. Despite juggling calls from the police etc, I called them 5x over the next 24 hours and they never answered the phone or returned my voicemail. Eventually, I contacted Expedia as I was a bit dismayed at having never heard back from them. Expedia contacted them and they have declined to give even a partial refund. I do not want a refund. I just wished that they had returned my call! We quite often stay in Aviemore but I can say with confidence that we won't be staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch Lodge
Responded 3 Nov 2018
I am very sorry for your troubles. Unfortunately it seems that our house sitters were not manning the phones on our absence. We were away ourselves during the time of your stay and though I relayed your email to them, it seems they did not receive it or did not feel they needed to make any response. I have not received any further communication about the booking from either yourselves or Expedia, but that could well be because we are only just heading up the road ourselves. Until this moment I had no idea that you had not been able to take u your booking. I will check into all the details and do hope you will reconsider coming to stay once we are ourselves back in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SabrinaM904 wrote a review Oct 2018
Texarkana, Texas16 contributions8 helpful votes
My partner and I stayed at this lodge in September 2018. We had been camping in Skye when weather forced us to find more suitable accommodation, the Fraoch lodge was a haven in the loveliest of settings. Well priced, the hosts offer a continental breakfast of home baked bread, home made jams and jellies, cereal, fruit and porridge. A cooked breakfast can be made by request for a fee that includes sausages, eggs and other trimmings (well worth it). There is also a small kitchen for guests to use to make their own snacks, lunches and dinners. We had come to Scotland to do some mountaineering, but with weather in the Cuillin looking grim, we opted for the rounded summits of the Cairngorms --and this lodge is located right in the national park. For cyclists, runners and walkers the Fraoch lodge is also situated near to forested trails, dirt roads and cycling paths. The lodge's hostess, Rebecca, can give you directions for some of the forest paths (there are many). The lodge's host, Andy, organizes mountain holidays and hiking adventures -- he's very knowledgeable about the area and both he and Rebecca are helpful and have great tips for navigating the Cairngorm trails. As alluded too in the title of this review the lodge is cozy, homey and comfortable with a vegetable, fruit and spice garden in the back. I cannot recommend this place enough!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sulyn2018 wrote a review Aug 2018
Cardiff, United Kingdom3 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed 8 days here for a walking/Wildlife and Whisky holiday with Scot Mountain Holidays,, run by our hosts. Our Guide was Andy who led us very well on 6 excellent walks including Cairngorm itself, he found quite a lot of wildlife for us including mountain hares, dotterels, snow bunting, ospreys, and many mountain plants. We visited a hide where we say badgers and pine martens. We also toured a cooperage and tastes some very good whisky. Rebecca cooked us breakfasts and dinners and provided the makings of sandwiches for lunch, in the guest kitchen, She managed to provide excellent tasty meals for us 3 picky eaters (gluten/lactose free vegetarian). If you are eating your evening meals here then note you must tell her about allergies and preferences in advance as everyone eats the same meal, along with the family, There is Wi-Fi, no television, its quiet and you can walk out of the door into the woods. The hosts are friendly and helpful, we had a very pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch Lodge
Responded 16 Aug 2018
Thank you kindly. We do hope you will consider returning again, if not the the Cairngorms, then on one of our other trips!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma G wrote a review Jul 2018
Edinburgh, United Kingdom10 contributions11 helpful votes
We had an absolutely lovely time at fraoch lodge and Andy, Rebecca and Gregor could not have been more welcoming. We ate very well - Rebecca took great care to accommodate our dietary requirements and produced two delicious evening meals. Breakfast was homemade porridge, bread jams and fruit from the garden. Lunch was also provided and the homemade bread was a winner. Andy took us to the start and end of the walk, provided maps and tips and was generally very helpful. Would definitely recommend and we hope to be back soon. Emma
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch Lodge
Responded 23 Jul 2018
Thank you. We do hope you'll be back in time, Perhaps with the kids next time if you can turn them into hikers too.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Konstanze2018 wrote a review Jul 2018
Stuttgart, Germany2 contributions2 helpful votes
ATMOSPHERE Only Andy took notice of us. Unfortunately, this was not the case for Rebecca. It seemed to us that she was not really interested in her guests. This was very irritating and did not change during our 2-days stay. Not to mention that the atmosphere in the house was odd, fortunately the other guests were nice. BREAKFAST There were just a few basic things on the table for breakfast in very small measures for a bunch of 6 guests - rather reluctantly we got more after asking, also just the bare minimum. The home-made and praised marmalade was for sale in a shelf. Under these circumstances even calling the breakfast 'basic' or 'continental' is an overstatement. DINNER The three-course dinner mainly contained simple plain fare, tap water was served as drink. This wouldn’t have been a problem if the dinner had not been charged with 20 pounds per person like in a restaurant with appropriate service and scope. POSITIVE The kitchen with the fridge for guests and the possibility sitting on the bench in the garden for a picknick. RÉSUMÉ We cannot confirm the good impression given by the descriptions & ratings online. During our vacations in Scotland we were mainly accommodated with hospitality and interest; here we did not encounter a pleasant situation – contrary to the mostly positive feedbacks for this accommodation. It’s a pity, that these issues need to be mentioned – it should be in the interest of hosts that these issues don’t arise. Regard this rating as a chance for improvement. Instead of responding quickly take your time for careful reflecting and acting.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca F, Owner at Fraoch Lodge
Responded 18 Jul 2018
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we don't know when you stayed nor do we have a name to associate with the booking so it is difficult to address your personal issues. If you were uncomfortable during your stay, you could have said and we would have addressed your issues then and saved you the trouble of complaining online. We offer 4 types of cereal and porridge for breakfast along with 6 different types of preserve/spread for toast. The toast is all of home made fresh bread and sometimes supplemented with croissants or pancakes. Tea, coffee and orange juice are also supplied for breakfast. Fraoch Lodge is not a licensed premises but we can supply water endlessly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$57 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsAviemore and the CairngormsAviemoreBoat of Garten
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FRAOCH LODGE: See 143 Reviews, Price Comparison and 46 Photos (Boat of Garten, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fraoch Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Fraoch Lodge?
Nearby attractions include RSPB Loch Garten (4.1 km), Landmark Forest Adventure Park (4.5 km), and Aviemore Kart Raceway (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fraoch Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Fraoch Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, blackout curtains, and a separate dining room.
What food & drink options are available at Fraoch Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Fraoch Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fraoch Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nethy House, Route 7 Cafe, and Anderson's Restaurant.
Does Fraoch Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Fraoch Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Fraoch Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.02 km away from the centre of Boat of Garten.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fraoch Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Fraoch Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Packhorse Bridge (3.4 km), Aviemore Railway Station (7.0 km), and Aviemore Ring Cairn & Stone Circle (6.8 km).