We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The County Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Stayed here for one night for the tattoo with national holidays. Always go with them never knowing what to expect in the hotel. Very friendly staff. Room wasn't that great but bedding and towels were lovely and white and clean. Very strange bathroom. White toilet and green sink and shower.could only get one channel on the TV. A bit more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed at the County Hotel on 18th August before going to Edinburgh Tattoo. The evening meal was beautiful. Delicious soup, chicken dinner and sweet. The room was very comfortable and breakfast next morning was again delicious. Help yourself to fruit juices and cornflakes, then lovely cooked breakfast with as much toast and tea/coffee as you wish. We loved the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alun J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Slept all night with wedge under door as bedroom lock on door was completely broke. Shortage of staff meant no one on reception at meal times as they were serving the food. This also caused so much waiting time didn't have time for dessert before going to tattoo at night. Bar closed so if paying on card had to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

After reading some reviews about this hotel my wife and i were a bit hesitant but after staying there last week as a part of a organized group to see the Tattoo we found it to be just fine for our one night stay,we had a room on the 3rd floor which we found to be clean and spacious clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank craig f
Pauline M, Owner at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest and frank reveiw. The hotel is undergoing a massive refurb in January. At the moment this is immpossible due to it being our busiest time .

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Stayed at this hotel on a National Edinburgh Tattoo trip, on arrival we were swiftly allocated our room, and we couldn't fault the staff or the service given. The room overlooked the main street, and was equipped with a flat screen television, tea/coffee facilities, sheets were clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel was a little tired but the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank andanteandante1
Pauline M, Owner at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your honest reveiw , we are glad you enjoyed your stay . our new chef is doing very well .

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Hotel is now under new ownership. Our room was lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you Pauline. only let down is room 314 on a Saturday night noise from music? Not to bad. . nothing really bad to say. If back in Dalkeith would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cecilia w
Worcestershire
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The one night stay here was part of a package booked for my wife and myself, by my sister, so we had no idea where we were staying or what to expect. We don't really have very high expectations, so weren't at all surprised to find the County Hotel in the state that it is in. The reception room, restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drusiak
Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights while playing golf in the area rooms pleasant but could do with redecorating but sleep was disrupted on first night due to a party of Chinese pupils leaving at 5am banging shouting in the corridor and rooms adjacent so much so I had to get out of bed to get them to keep the noise down !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillip r
Pauline M, Owner at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your consructive reveiw. We are new owners to the hotel and are aware the bedrooms need a refurb. This will start in January when busy season is over and hotel is less busy.

Sunderland
Reviewed 30 July 2016

My stay was not as bad as expected. It still has problems but , the new owners, seem to be getting on the top of them. Busy location, as address suggests, High Street. Parking is possible but maybe not as close as you want. Used by contractors during the week, as well as visitors, so don't know about week-ends. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DenisHiles
Pauline M, Owner at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your consructive reveiw of the County Hotel . We are undergoing a big refurbishment in January , and hope to improve on many of the points you have mentioned .

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We stopped here for one night on the way back from the Highlands. We tried to book many places before this but they were full up or no longer dog friendly. The new owners are really trying to make amends for previous reviews. They have staff shortages etc but there was a wedding on in the function room and many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken J

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
1.5 km away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
878 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
3.9 km away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
9.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Dalkeith, a five minute commute to Edinburgh. The County Hotel is a striking building dating back to 1940. Enjoy comfortable accommodation in one of our 32 en suite bedrooms, relax with a drink in the bar or sample home-cooked meals in our cosy restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 152 High Street, Dalkeith EH22 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Price Range: $87 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The County Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check they have been refurbished beforehand and avoid room 208”
  • Next door
 of 5 bubbles AWPedd, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a room overlooking the main road but it was still very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 653alunj, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 3rd flour as you could be in room on top of the Combi Boiler”
  • My Bedroom Door
 of 5 bubbles M671PMstephenh, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“lift to all floors,we stayed on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel with a good view of the church.”
 of 5 bubbles craigf962, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“At rear of hotel, avoid clock.”
 of 5 bubbles DenisHiles, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay