We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Gun Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Gun Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Gun Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 August 2016

This is the only hotel in this little town, and one of the only pubs and restaurants, as well. It's in an old building that used to house the officers from the nearby fort. This means that the rooms have some of the classic quirks that come with 300+ year old places. The windows leak some air, making it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are constants carrying out rolling upgrades and hope to improve some of the quirks you have mentioned without loosing any of the charm. We hope to see you again soon.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 21 August 2016

WE chose this place to stay because it was off the beaten track. It was an experience. Very quiet one street town. Locals and staff very friendly. Beds comfy, bathrooms clean, Restaurant was mediocre. Coffee was the worst I have ever had. large choice of whiskey made it fun for tastings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tweettbird
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are upset to have our restaurant described as mediocre as we take great pride in our food and receive much praise for our dishes. It is possible however that a dish was not to your taste so we accept this and hope if you are ever in the area again that you give us...

Inverness, Scotland
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Last night, prior to an evening visit to The Highlanders Museum at Fort Geogem, eight ladies and myself enjoyed an excellent high tea in the Gun Lodge. We were looked after by Sheena and her son Douglas, A young man with infinate patience. Nothing was too much trouble Those of us who ordered fish and chips were treated to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gallipoli007
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments mean a lot to us. We hope to see you again soon !

South Molton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Stayed for one night for business. The staff really make this place, a lovely warm welcome. Very polite, helpful and pleasant. Stayed in room 4, it was a decent size with a comfortable bed. The downside to this room is the noise. It is at the top of the corridor by a fire door which banged as people walked through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have taken your comments on board and are looking into a softer door closer and further sound proofing for that particular room. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area!

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner, cosy atmosphere and good service.. we both had 2 courses soup and roast beef, chicken wings and gammon all lovely and homemade.. this is our 2nd time here and will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jukedog1
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, your feedback means a lot. We hope to see you again soon!

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I had another very pleasant stay here again (On business) the food is glorious and its a perfect getaway. I stayed in room 11 although I hear rooms 12 & 2 are also lovely. Very handy for Inverness airport and the city, If you go across the road you can walk along the beach

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shrigson
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Its always a pleasure to have you stay, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon.

Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Visited here for my birthday meal on 25th June just after we arrived in Ardersier, the restaurant came highly recommended by our apartment owner Paul. So glad we chose to eat here for my birthday meal because it was FABULOUS!!! It was so good, we've just come back from Another delicious meal for our last night in the village. Family...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pammieallwoman
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Our restaurant is hugely important to us and we hope that our food is always getting as much praise as it has from yourself. We hope to see you again soon.

Ness Ziona, Israel
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We stayed at this hotel one night, before flying from Inverness to London. The hotel is in very good condition, and we were given a large double bed room, with a large bathroom - which we found to be very comfortable. The whole hotel is very clean and orderly, and the restaurant of the hotel offered really great food -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lenmiri F
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we take pride in our facilities and service and we are glad you had a good experience. We hope to see you again soon !

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We recently overnighted in this great little hotel/restaurant. Looking quite small from the outside, we were pleasantly surprised by the space of our room which was tastefully decorated and in good condition. The en suite had obviously been recently refurbished and offered quality toiletries and an efficient shower. The biggest surprise however was the wonderful restaurant which provided a wide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin186470
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , we hope to see you again soon.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Our group of 8 were travelling to the Orkneys and stayed at the Gun Lodge Hotel overnight on the way. We were delighted with the delicious dinner, the history of the hotel (from the 1700s) and its great location near Culloden Battlefield and Clava Cairns. My single room was spacious with a lovely shower. (I do miss having an outlet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HighlandBelle
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the history of the building as its something that we have tried to highlight more as we have carried out renovations. We are attempting to restore as much of the original look as possible and believe this is why many of our guests love to stay with us. We hope...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardersier
10.7 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 33 in Inverness
469 reviews
15.5 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
13.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
15.7 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
15.0 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 33 in Inverness
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gun lodge hotel is nestled in the quiet and historic village of Ardersier, conveniently located three miles from the airport and 25 minutes from the centre of Inverness. With our historic building, ample parking, comfortable Cromal Restaurant & whisky bar and ten charismatic en-suite bedrooms the hotel is perfect for all occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gun Lodge Hotel

Address: High Street, Ardersier, Inverness IV2 7QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness > Ardersier
Price Range: $136 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Gun Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gun Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Gun Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was great, spacious and with a good size bathroom with shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 294kate, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs room seemed a little musty.”
 of 5 bubbles N7563ULdeborahs, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the fire door on the landing, it bangs continuously.”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaW201, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 2, 11 and 12 are all great, Room 11 overlooks a water feature”
 of 5 bubbles shrigson, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Due to there being no lift in the hotel, we suggest asking for a room without many stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles LENMIRI, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay