We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canareef Resort Maldives

Save
Share
Hulhudhoo, 19060
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 31/07/2021.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$79
View Deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$79
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1069)
Pool & Beach (276)
Room & Suite (124)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated in the southernmost atoll of the Maldives, lies the idyllic Canareef Resort Maldives, a 271 villa resort that presents the best the country has to offer. Our island spans 4.5 kilometres, which is the longest island resort in the country. Indulge in the multitude of activities the resort has for you to enjoy. Go beneath the waves, experience our 25 unique dive locations and spot dolphins all year round. Leave your inhibitions at home and 'Step Out of The Blue' with us. Canareef Resort Maldives welcomes you with 271 spacious rooms for your honeymoon, friends or family. Each villa is refined by nature and designed for guests to enjoy the lush natural vegetation of the Island. Our villas consists of 80 Sunrise Villas, 71 Sunset Beach Villas and 120 Jacuzzi Villas from sizes of 76sqm - 97sqm. The Equator Crossing to the Resort would be one of the key highlights of your trip to our Island with your loved ones or friends, as guests get to view breath-taking aerial view of the Maldives expansive turquoise blue atolls riddle in the Indian Ocean. All guests to the Island via domestic flight will receive a personalised Equator Crossing Certificate from the Captain of the airplane. Just when you thought the fun and thrills was about to stop, hold on to your seats and be blown away by a short 10-minute exhilarating speed boat ride from Gan International Airport.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Diving
Tennis court
Fishing
Table tennis
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
406Reviews142Q+A97Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 220
  • 114
  • 41
  • 19
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Volker D wrote a review Feb 2020
Prosselsheim9 contributions16 helpful votes
My wife and i spent 2 weeks (January / February 2020) in this wonderful island (all inclusive, Jacuzzi Villa on the sunset side). In Male we were greeted by a representative from Canareef who helped us check-in for the domestic flight to Gan (starting 50 minutes after we had left the international airport in Male), which is 80 minutes away from Male directly via a propeller plane. In Gan waited another representative and we were transported via buggy to a jetty for a great 20 minute speedboat ride over to the island (Herathera). While we drank our welcome drink and were introduced to the island and talked through all the details by a member of staff our luggage was brought to our villa. The resort makes up about 70% of the island, the other 30% is inhabited by the local
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear VolkerD595, We would like to thank you for writing such an extensive review on Tripadvisor concerning your stay at Canareef Resort Maldives. Yes, we are connected to a local Island via a bridge but the local island is not part of the resort. We are happy that you have found our food of good quality and taste both in the Kilhi Restaurant and the Meera Bar. We are trying to offer more action stations with food cooked on the spot and cater for more diverse requirements. Thank you for your comment on Shohel, Asan and Ameez from the Kilhi Restaurant and Abu from Housekeeping, we will make sure that they are informed of your comments. Thank you for your comments on our Drinks, Rooms, Beaches and the Island in general. We are happy that you enjoyed our Dolphin Tour but the commendation belongs to all the Dolphins who played their part in entertaining you. Great to know that you have already booked with us for your vacation next year and we hope to be able to welcome you again at Canareef Resort Maldives. Again thank you for being our guest.
Read more
FRI4WD wrote a review Feb 2020
Budapest, Hungary7 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed 18 nights in January with two kid, three and two years old. Canareef has some 3 star features (i.e. quality of room furniture, kids klub, local beach bar, activities), some 4 star features (food, local drinks, cleanliness) and some five star properties (pools, diving, scenery, Spa) All together I would say it is a 3,5 star resort. The resort is big, you can get around with bikes or with the well-organized buggy service. Safe for the kids, (some mosquitos though) and not overbooked. Transfer: Flowless transfer from Male (flight 75 min + speedboat 15 min). Check in / check out: kind, fast. Room: Rustic, spacious, nice lights, clean, perfectly working AC and jacuzzi. Nice view to the lagoon, sandy shore at 10 meters. Food: in general very good, two restaurant
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear FRI4WD, Thank you for taking the effort to write your comments on Tripadvisor concerning your stay at Canareef Resort Maldives. We are happy that you had a relaxing and beautiful holiday with us and have commented on each area of the resort and facilities. Yes, we are not a party destination but pride ourselves in our services, good food, activities and preserving the natural beauty of the resort and its surroundings. Thank you for your comment on Diving and your comments on the dive staff, will definitely let them know of your positive comments. We are, as you have rightly said "Good value for money" and we are gradually improving guest areas such as the guest rooms, outlets and activities. Again thank you for your time and we hope to be able to once again host you should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Annaliis S wrote a review Feb 2020
Tallinn, Estonia5 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in Canareef Resort Maldives 23.01-04.02.2020 and definitely picked the right resort where we had the most amazing experience! We chose sunset villa and it was absolutely the right choice! Sunsets were just breath-taking and white sand lead us right to the beach. Big thanks to all the stuff who helped us with any question and were very kind. Especially, we would like to send many kind words to our waiter Shafiz at Kilhi restaurant, who were just amazing in every way, so helpful and so kind! Also, we would like to thank and send greetings to Hassan at Dhoni bar! All in one, we were so lucky to have so many happy, positive and helpful people around us! And to add wonderful views, fantastic reef, great activities, clean beaches, delicious food and good weather - can
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear Annaliiss, I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor concerning your stay at Canareef Resort Maldives. Thank you for having an amazing experience with us, it was our pleasure to be your host. We are happy that you have found our staff happy, positive and helpful. We will definitely convey your comments to Shafiz your waiter and Hassan at the Dhoni Bar. Again thank you for your wonderful comments and we hope that you again choose Canareef Resort Maldives for your next vacation destination.
Read more
Helen H wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our stay in the Canareef Resort. Three flights followed by an exhilarating speed boat trip at sunset brought to us to our destination. We had a fantastic night’s sleep thanks to the comfortable bed and amazing pillows. Having got over the jet-lag we had breakfast and then explored. The island’s size means more walking and cycling than normal for the Maldives which is good. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food always great. The Dolphin cruise was well worth the cost as the large pod means you’re virtually guaranteed to see lots. We were glad we had the all-inclusive package as the prices for both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks were rather high. We were impressed with the Chef’s garden in which the favourable Maldivian climate is fully
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear HelenHX7371JB, Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a comment on Tripadviser concerning Canareef Resort Maldives. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay here with is and found our staff, food, bed and pillows, band and services to your satisfaction. Yes, we agree that it would be the people who make the Holiday really special and we will definitely inform Sampath, Riaj and Yamun at the Meera restaurant, Hassan your room boy, Aslam your waiter and both Kumar and Emran from the Dhoni Bar of your comments. we are also very happy that you were impressed with our Chefs Garden, we are currently trying to grow more fruits and vegetables. Again thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to be of service to you should you decide to visit us again in the near future. Thank you.
Read more
Stephen C wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom27 contributions23 helpful votes
I loved the resort and the people, so helpful and friendly. The snorkelling was great both on the trips and right off the beach. The food was abundant and generally of good quality although I wasn't overly keen on the pork substitutes. Fish and lamb were great. The down side would have to be the extra curricular water sports. I felt these were stratospherically expensive. We took part in only one, mainly due to the cost and this was disappointing. Deep sea fishing, something I'd always wanted to do but still don't feel as though I've done. We felt we were simple passengers in the boat. At no time did we actually take part in any 'fishing' activity. We didn't bait or deploy the rods, nor did we reel them in, all this was done by the boat operators. For what was essentially a
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KevinGTheseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear Stephen C, Thank you for taking the time and the effort to write your comments concerning your stay at Canareef Resort Maldives on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you loved the resort, found all our staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed the food offered. We had decided not to serve Pork in the main restaurant as we also cater for Muslim guests. Pork however is available in the Meera Restaurant. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Deep Sea Fishing, usually we do receive good comments for this especially when guests manage to catch fish. For the deep sea fishing we are using Rapalas and usually the method should be demonstrated by the guide as with the reels you cannot just release the Rapalas without controlling the speed of the release. He should also set the drag and then you will wait until there is a strike. If there is a strike, the guest will be given the rod to reel the fish in. He should also explain how to use the reel when there is a strike. I would agree that if there is no strike it would end up to be a boat ride. As for the Water sports, we will be speaking to them on their pricing to see if they are able to offer better rates or at least have promotions from time to time in order to get more guests to use their services. Again, thank you for your comments and for being our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to Canareef.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$165 - US$947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
j resort handhufushi hotel addu atoll, j hotel handhufushi, j hotel addu atoll
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
J Resort Handhufushi
LOCATION
MaldivesAddu AtollHerathera Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
271
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing