We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
London
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Great little find in a beautiful setting - Lovely accommodation and wonderful food! Staff were attentive and helpful and very polite. Perfect stop over along the garden route! We will be staying again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q7591HHjenniferh
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We decided to overnight at the hotel since it's conveniently located between Plettenberg Bay and Hermanus. The room was okay (few bugs though) and dinner at the restaurant was good (kudu steak especially delicious). Breakfast good, too, but service slow and the hours (one hour - 8 - 9 am) were puzzling. What we did not like was that although...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohannaKL
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your participation in the Tripadvisor community ! I sincerely thought that your request for a quiet room based on the fact that it was your honeymoon and birthday; was satisfied ! No other requests were made and I apologise that I was not able to make more of a fuss of yourselves (as I would normally...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Great stop over, friendly staff and impressive food. Wide ranging menu,safe off street parking together with a watchman on duty throughout the night, we will certainly visit here again and recommend the, hotel to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 491jacky
Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 7 January 2016

It was probably one of the hottest night of the year but even with 2 fans it was still 30 degrees in the room. The standard room was quite small, with a tiny TV and no water provided. The baby cot was very nice, but it was too hot for our baby to enjoy the night. We had a couple...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yml2016
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for participating in the Tripadvisor community ! I do understand that you were anxious about your really cute child's well being and would suggest that in future when you are traveling in Africa during the hot weather season please check whether or not the property is air conditioned - this will prevent a re-occurrence of this experience. Personally...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Room was very good and well serviced Food and service was excellent Staff was friendly and very client friendly The only negative factor was that the WiFi did not work .WiFi was advertised on the website. It did not specify that WiFi reception is limited.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alfies2016
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You very much for participating in The Tripadvisor community and your kind words. I should mention that on our websites home page we do state , "wireless internet hotspots are provided free of charge" - I apologise that you were not able to log on ... if only you had mentioned it to me I would of been happy...

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We paid R1500 for a double room. No aircon. Just think for a 4 star it should have zircon. It is nice and clean- just a but expensive for what you get. BUT the restaurant is fantatsic. Home cooked meals 5*!! Go and eat there! Do not miss that!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasja F
DeDoornkraal, General Manager at De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for taking the time to submit your thoughts apropos your stay with us. I am thrilled that you were happy with the kitchen and its food; with regards value I have to respectfully disagree - we are a fair trade business and when one chooses this path; ensuring that staff are not exploited financially for their time...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Lovely little hotel with excellent restaurant. Nice gardens partly used as a kitchen garden. Great position on the Garden Route so ideal as a stopover. Would certainly come again and maybe take a couple of days.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19colinr
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Wonderful hotel and restaurant in a very peaceful location. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves and received great personal attention from the chef and owner and all the staff. The food and wine is delicious, the rooms comfortable, the service attentive and he is also investing in training people in his hotel and restaurant business. We...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 8 December 2015

A true oasis in the heat. i arrived and it ws sweltering and a nice cold beer was handed to me to bring diown teh temperature. the rooms were very luxurious, all needs catered for, event the mosquito repellant in case there was an invasion. the grounds are superb and the meal was a dining experience. loved it and must...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We had to change our dates at the last minute but this was no problem for Christopher, the general manager and chef. When we finally arrived one week late, we were treated like royalty and even upgraded to a lounge room. The pool and garden are beautiful and they grow their own veggies. That night our dinner was excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydEpstein

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (123)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riversdale
32.4 km away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
40 reviews
1.7 km away
Fynbos Guest House
Fynbos Guest House
#2 of 8 in Riversdale
58 reviews
36.7 km away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
Sleeping Beauty Guest House
#3 of 8 in Riversdale
22 reviews
1.4 km away
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
Kweekkraal Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Riversdale
9 reviews
32.5 km away
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
- Experience charming countryside hospitality in South Africa - We are committed to providing service excellence and ensuring that our guests feel that they are at home whilst away from home. Our good-natured team are proud that De Doornkraal has been recognized as the best four star Country House in South Africa, as well as the best in our province two years running at the prestigious Lilizela Tourism Awards – 2014 and 2015. In addition we also are proud recipients of The TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013, 2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel

Address: 8 Long Street, Riversdale 6670, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riversdale
Price Range: $113 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from De Doornkraal Historic Country House Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not choose either of the cottages!”
Morifi, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room fronting onto the stoop was spacious and quiet.”
Mrsfromgorton, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The garden cottage is small and not convenient with a lot of luggage, the vineyard cottage would be a better choice.”
ettemar, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Every room had a silver lining, great value for money.”
111TWIGAMINHAAFRIKA, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The cottages in the garden and vineyard are beautiful and a bit secluded”
rxkok1, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5