We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Liana Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tena
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Start your review of Liana Lodge
 Click to rate
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very beutifull lodge at the Arajuno River. Very friendly staff, comfortable cabanas, a nice restaurant area with a great view to the jungle. Daily offered are interessting jungle tours, which are included in the price. The food is great, prepared by a professional cook from Otavalo. Staying in this lidge is not really cheap but it is a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank torkel007
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Very well run, all naturally build and right on the river front. The food and service was very good, the rooms very comfortable and quite open but all netted so you don't get unwanted visitors! The walking is good and they provide wellington boots as it is muddy. You do need to take a torch as apart from the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennywinter23
Management response:

Thank you very much for your rating, Jenny! We're really sorry that there was a party this night and disturbed you. Unfortunately our neighbours don't always respect that there is a hotel on the other side of the river. But big parties like this are rare in the kichua community and we will take care of this problem. We hope...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We stayed here on their 3 day 2 night package which we felt was just right for an introductory tour. The only downside to the visit for a mobility challenged individual was the amount of stairs required to reach our accommodations so I would advise letting them know of any mobility issues when making any reservation requests so that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Management response:

Dear David, thank you very much for your recommendation and your advice! It is absolutely right that there are a lot of stairs but I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay anyway. When we know before, it is always possible to follow special requirements and wishes :) Kind regards Your Liana Lodge Team

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This is a well run place close to Tena (1 hour drive + 10 min boat) to get a first good impression of the Amazon. While this is probably not comparable with the isolated amazone lodges, we got a great feeling with nature and people. We stayed for 3 nights and 2 days which is sufficient to do most of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheFoxies
Management response:

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you liked your vaccations in our lodge. We really hope to welcome you back some day! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge Team

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 27 June 2016

A very special place, great service, very special, good guides, Eco-friendly in the middle of the Ecuadorean Amazon area. You do not want wifi or electricity, you're in the middle of the Selva! Only already the sound of the night is more than perfect. Beautiful river, great fireplace, good food, great butterflies....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J H
Management response:

Thank you for the comment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the stay in our Lodge and that you liked the amtosphere and the nature surrounding the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, the Liana Lodge team.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 May 2016

When interested in the forest, but without an abundance of time, go here. It is a lodge with sufficient comfort (hammock, shower, good bed, candle-lit) including the meals, right next to a river (surprisingly no musquitoes, but unfortunately with sandflies). Combination of pure relaxing and activities: short walks, floating downriver, visiting animal refuge. Meals are good enough (ecuador in itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toemaarjongens
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We always try to improve ourselves and so it's nice to hear that you had a good time in our Lodge. We recommend repellent to avoid any sandfly bites - they aren't dangereous because they don't transmit diseases but really nasty. Kind regards, the Liana Lodge team

Fife
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. No electricity & quite quaint to use candles for lighting. You need to bring a torch to navigate from the dining area back to your cabin at night Food could be a lot better - pretty boring & no good at dealing with special requests eg allergies /intolerances. Was disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doofer
Management response:

Thank you for your comment. We're sorry had bad experiences, normally it is no problem to deal with allergies and special requests in our Lodge, if you inform the reception or kitchen beforehand. Yet we hope you will come back one day! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge team.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at Cabana 3 of the Liana Lodge. The lodge is situated along the river, a 15 minutes canoe ride and 45 minutes drive from Tena bus station. Although there is no electricity in your room, nor in the restaurant area, you can charge your phone/ camera's etc at the reception, which is ofcourse really great....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MCC38
Management response:

Thank you for your positive feedback. We're glad you had a good time and Suyu will be pleased to hear your compliment. We'd like to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge Team

Groot-Ammers, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We spent three nights here with our son and we walked in the jungle, went down the river with tubes, watched the monkeys go bye and visited a small indian village on the island, the rooms were big but openly connected with the neighbours (you can hear everything), the meals were good and the service very good (they arranged extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank boerekampsj
Management response:

Thank for the positive feedback. We hope you will return some day to enjoy the Ecuadorian rainforest again. Kind regards, The Liana Lodge Team

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Liana Lodge is a boat ride from the nearest road but the rooms had hot showers and the food was excellent. Lovely location with wildlife around all the time. They lend you wellingtons for treks around the lodge. Take a torch though as you need to get from the main lodge to your room at night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandjtravels
Management response:

Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope you will return soon! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge Team

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
0.8 km away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador
21.2 km away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
10.1 km away
Itamandi EcoLodge
Itamandi EcoLodge
#12 of 29 in Tena
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
21.6 km away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#10 of 29 in Tena
104 reviews
14.9 km away
Yacuma Ecolodge
Yacuma Ecolodge
#7 of 29 in Tena
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms

Additional Information about Liana Lodge

Address: Puerto Barantilla (Downstream) | Selva Viva, Ahuano, Tena 150150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Liana Hotel Tena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Liana Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As close as possible to the main lodge for anybody with mobility issues”
watts_david_b22s, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lodge without neigbours”
Toemaarjongens, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are in lodges around the grounds, some are up hills and others near the water. This would be the only difference to my knowledge”
sandjtravels, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The geography is you arrive on the river, then walk up a set of steps to reach the public area. From there all rooms are uphill, some quite a ways uphill. If you are lugging a lot of bags or are infirm it will be a challenge if you take a cabana very far from the entrance. Even the close ones are a climb.”
GoOSUCowboys, 26 Apr 2014 | Read review
“I loved cabin 5 - the furthest to lug your luggage, but the a great 'lost in the woods' feel! Bring a flashlight or headlamp, consider a mosquito net and good bug spray.”
2-4-T, 28 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5