We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wivenhoe House

Save
Share
Wivenhoe Park, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO4 3FA England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.comUS$149
FindHotelUS$149
eDreamsUS$149
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (612)
Room & Suite (156)
Dining (66)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Based on the Suffolk, Essex border this hotel boasts a fantastic location, and there is plenty to see and explore in the local area. The hotel has a stylish brasserie offering a perfect combination of classic dishes and modern cuisine, in a relaxed, informal setting, and an outdoor terrace for dining alfresco on those balmy summer evenings. The brasserie and bar is open every day for lunch and dinner, or if you fancy something a little more special, why not enjoy our impressive afternoon teas, available all week. With luxury bedrooms suitable for families, to contemporary classic rooms perfect for a couple’s getaway, Wivenhoe House also offers incredible balcony rooms with views overlooking the breath-taking grounds and picturesque countryside. If you are searching for the ultimate British staycation this year, look no further than Wivenhoe House Hotel and discover the wonders it has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1003Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 645
  • 219
  • 65
  • 49
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Glyn E wrote a review 15 Oct
Hayling Island, United Kingdom2671 contributions210 helpful votes
+1
This lovely Hotel started life as a private stately home, set in extensive parkland. In the early 1960's much of the parkland was sold off to become Essex University. A modern wing of some 28 rooms has been added and beautifully integrated with the old. Brilliant, friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Top quality restaurant with very acceptable prices if you select individual courses from the week's Set Menu. Comfortable, spacious rooms (new wing). Only negative the lighting in the spacious Lounge is totally inadequate for reading. Your best bet is under the fluorescent light in Reception over the SAS Memorial. We had a lovely 4 night stay, and will return. Hayling Seagoon
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
DL Mahon wrote a review 15 Oct
1 contribution
Our daughter booked her wedding reception at Wivenhoe House Hotel. She had tried other venues, but being a small party of 14, they were not interested. Wivenhoe House was not only interested, they made quite an effort to ensure that everyone enjoyed the afternoon and evening. My wife and I really enjoyed the dinner. The events manager was friendly, yet professional and made sure everything ran smoothly. I really cannot recommend this hotel enough for such events. They get a full 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
cablecar6 wrote a review 12 Oct
16 contributions5 helpful votes
We booked a classic room, and were allocated a room in the old building. It really was fantastic. Excellent room, spacious, really comfortable bed, big bathroom with a large bath, fantastic selection of teas/coffee, and really quiet. We didn't hear any neighbouring guests at all. The room had central heating which could be controlled by the radiator thermostatic valves. We ate dinner in the brasserie and the food was excellent - the 3 course set menu was delicious. They change the menu every week. Breakfast was fantastic, with a vast selection of cold meats, cheeses, olives, fruit, cereal, yoghurts, pastries, overnight oats, granola, cooked breakfast, and vegetation options on request. The only slight downside for me was that the gate to the hotel entrance from the main road was closed, so you had to drive through the university campus, to get to the hotel, which detracted from the experience of arriving at a nice 4 star hotel. I did know it was a training hotel for hospitality students, but felt that arriving was a bit of an anti-climax, as it felt weird checking in having just driven through the university campus. It is however a lovely hotel, and I would return if we were staying in the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Oliver K wrote a review 7 Oct
London, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Having checked in on Saturday 2nd October for what was meant to be a very special occasion (wife’s 30th birthday), we were left absolutely disgusted by the treatment we received and subsequent lack of action by the hotel. Having been watching tv in our room a few hours after checking in, we suddenly heard dripping coming from the bathroom so at first assumed this could be the shower. To our horror, water was gushing out of one of the lights in the bathroom ceiling as well as the back wall by the bath area. We immediately notified reception and the duty manager arrived who didn’t know what to say or do in the situation which was very unprofessional, instead asking us if we wanted a drink…when we refused it was quite cringeworthy to see a waitress come into our room with drinks did not want. The manager called a cleaner who to be fair tried her best to sort out what was almost a complete flood in the bathroom which had now started to soak into the adjoining carpet of the main bedroom area. When asked if the hotel had other rooms the manager said no which was incredibly disappointing and upsetting. We were simply left to try and get ready for dinner in the dark with the electrics having been turned off with no prior warning. We decided that the best course of action would be to leave at this point and get a refund. To my shock, another two couples were at reception arguing about the same situation with their rooms which really wasn’t a good advertisement for the hotel by any stretch of the imagination. Now here comes the most ridiculous part of our experience…. When asking to be refunded the two duty managers advised they couldn’t sort this based on authority and they would need to contact their senior manager to authorise. Despite waiting around over an hour and very nearly missing a dinner we had planned outside of the hotel, we were being continually belittled and bombarded with the most ridiculous excuses. How difficult is it to give someone a refund? We were finally told that the refund would either be processed later that evening or first thing the next day so at this point we reluctantly agreed and left the premises. It is now almost a week on from our experience and despite ringing almost every day since, a refund has not been credited into our bank account and a manager has not even been in touch to discuss our experience and offer a genuine apology for ruining my wife’s birthday. If it’s disgusting and appalling customer experience you are after this is your place, if not stay well clear. The only one good thing to come out of the experience was the hotel transferring us to another place so we were not homeless for the evening. Lifehouse hotel went above and beyond to try and rectify the mess Wivenhoe House left us in, although this was another 30 minutes out of the way and not what we had in mind when initially planning our weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver Brown, General Manager at Wivenhoe House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Oliver, We are truly sorry that your stay was spoiled by the unfortunate situation last Saturday. No-one could have predicted what happen to you and a couple of other guests when water started coming through the ceilings, caused by the unprecedented amount of rain we had. My team were under and awful lot of pressure to deal with a very difficult situation. It is not something you train for but you do certainly learn from, and we have. I am delighted that our colleagues at the Lifehouse looked after you so well. It is good to hear that in a crisis situation the hotel industry comes together. Just so your know, your bank will take up to 10 days to process a refund and credit your account. This is something that is out of our control, I can only assure you that the transaction has been process at this end. Yours sincerely, Oliver J. Q. Brown General Manager
Read more
Sharon M wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel was a breath of free air in comparison some awful British Hotels we have endured this summer! This one is clean, modern, good service and nice location. Rooms are large (superior room) and comfy - loved having a sofa in the room. Thank you for a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver Brown, General Manager at Wivenhoe House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sharon, How lovely to read your comments, I am pleased we restored your faith in British hotels! Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Regards Oliver J. Q. Brown General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wivenhoe house hotel colchester, wivenhoe hotel colchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexColchesterWivenhoe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wivenhoe House
Which popular attractions are close to Wivenhoe House?
Nearby attractions include Doomsday Escape Games (2.6 km), Escape Colchester (3.5 km), and Green Island Gardens (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wivenhoe House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Wivenhoe House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wivenhoe House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wivenhoe House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Orange Tree Tapas-Wine, Gin and Cocktail Bar with restaurant, The Wooden Fender, and Timbers.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wivenhoe House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Wivenhoe House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Wivenhoe House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Roman Circus Visitor Centre (3.8 km), Dutch Quarter (3.9 km), and The Claudius Gateway (3.4 km).
Does Wivenhoe House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Wivenhoe House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.