We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Mill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Old Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Mill Hotel
 Click to rate
uk
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

had a 3 night groupon voucher for this place including a drink and one meal on first night when we arrived and checked in a member of staff took us to the room she put the key in the lock then left us which was a little odd but when we opened the door and walked into the room we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thrm
AssistantManage... O, Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving us your review, we are sorry that you found the room small. We apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay but thank you for your positive comments about the staff here at The Old Mill.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really disappointed and close to angry and read why - - dried blood in my bedsheets (not mine!!) - ducks woke me up at 4am and therefore lost sleep - cold shower - wifi in room is useless and couldn't work - the food was average (not great, but not horrible) I don't normally winge, and I downloaded the trip...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neil W
AssistantManage... O, Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Neil for taking the time to write us a review, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I have made notes on the issues that you have mentioned and will use these to improve our services. Thank you again

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's very hard to find a restaurant that'll cook a steak to perfection. This is one place I will go again. My wife likes her steak rare and I like mine bleu, many restaurants are reluctant to cook steaks bleu for obvious reasons but if your steak is fresh and left at room temperature there is no nicer steak. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
Abergele,North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely position opposite duck pond, lovely helpful staff. Good fresh cooked breakfast in the mornings, and good food in the restaurant, rooms clean and welcoming on site parking.Well positioned to explore the Peak District as well as Chester and North Wales.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
Halifax
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here before on my way up the M6 as it's quite close (no you can't hear it), superb location next to a duck pond, plenty of safe parking, Food is plentiful, and of very good quality, I had Gammon with home cooked chips veg and fresh pineapple... The rooms have had a much needed facelift, very comfortable bed, Full...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul F
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

went for a meal on Saturday with my wife and best friend , the new menu was greatly received , everything was excellent I had the pork belly for my main and it was amazing , and the fish and chips was a whale and chips . Please give this venue a try, food great service great, beer great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alsager26
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, its fantastic to receive such excellent feedback. We hope you will be back soon

Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Avoid room 11, above door to the pub. Hinge to door needs oiling. No mattress protective covers on beds and some cobwebs under shelving. Small shower cubicle, hot water took a while to come through. Wifi poor in room. Nice to have tea and coffee in room. Food in pub very good, staff pleasant and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stellafranklin
AssistantManage... O, Assistant manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I have spoken with our housekeeper and passed along your comments about cobwebs. I am glad that you found us all friendly and enjoyed your food, it would be lovely to welcome you again

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I saw a deal on Groupon for two courses and a glass of wine for two that looked like great value so we booked. After having been to the Old Mill a few years ago, we were looking forward to revisiting. The building itself is in a lovely spot and it's quaint interior is inviting. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew L
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review. Apologies that some items were missing from your meal, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your food with us here at The Old Mill. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

stoke on trent
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We attended here with my fiancée, 9 year old and friends via the Groupon offer. I had never been here before and on arrival was happy with the place. On arrival we were greeted by a nice lady behind the bar and taken to our seats. Meals were a delight. I had rump steak which was perfectly cooked. The onion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayley w
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you again for your kind words.

Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Four of us visited using a Groupon for 2 courses and a glass of wine. Steaks were fabulous, we all had rib eye but cooked differently they were all spot on as we had asked for them. Dessert was a bit of a let down, my husband was very disappointed as the only dessert he liked wasn't available, I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gilly1959
AssistantManage... O, Assistant Manager at The Old Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and I have made note of your disappointment with the desserts, I can pass this onto our chefs. We are very pleased that you would recommend us and we will hopefully see you again in the near future.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsager
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
5.4 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,050 reviews
12.0 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
1,124 reviews
39.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
7.0 km away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, The Old Mill is a magnificent 17th Century building set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views of the original mill pond, complete with resident geese, large shoals of friendly carp and abundant other wildlife. The Mill retains many of its original features including open stone fireplaces and oak beams in many of the rooms. This hidden gem of Cheshire is a real must if you want to enjoy a warm welcome, good food & drink and a good night's sleep. For private, corporate, or wedding events the charming original features combined with custom-designed, elegant decor results in a truly magical event setting for you and your guests to enjoy. The property is approached by its own private lane off the main Crewe Road and although only 2 minutes from the main road, 5 minutes from junction 16 of the M6 and a short distance from the bustling towns of Crewe and Alsager you will feel as though you are right in the middle of the Cheshire countryside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel

Address: Crewe Road, Alsager ST7 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alsager
Price Range: $84 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Mill Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bring some duck food if you like feeding the ducks”
 of 5 bubbles thrm, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 11, as noise from people coming and going to and from bar, plus smokers below window.”
 of 5 bubbles stellafranklin, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Gorgeous pub food, highly recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles paulineo457, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The large extractor fan system from the kitchen is just outside Room 12 and could be noisy with the windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles LashyDavid, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“room 12 and either side don,t bother”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaJStaffordshire, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5