We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lambert Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lambert Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 529: English reviews
Boothbay, Maine
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived to a very polite staff after a long day at Stonehenge. The rooms were wonderful the food was great and sat in the pub for sometime reminiscing about our day. After a good nights sleep we went to the restaurant for a full buffet style breakfast with wonderfully fresh eggs bacon fruits and cereals. It also included all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don S
London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok for a night, nothing luxurious. The rooms are large, beds ok perhaps a bit too soft. The bar has a nice atmosphere and reception and bar team friendly. But the rooms and corridors have the feel of an OAP home. Also they need to employ a person who can pollyfiller better a 5 year old could have done a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PilotReviews
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that the staff made your stay enjoyable. As you have noticed, we are currently updating the hotel and apologise that this was so noticeable during your stay.

Alston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay - thank you. We had booked a dinner reservation for ten people on the Friday evening with family members attending who were staying elsewhere. Our table was in a private room and was perfect for us. A lovely meal to start a family weekend for a wedding in Thame. Our room was lovely and spacious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are extremely pleased that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyable dining experience and hope to welcome you here again soon.

Wombourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is quite a nice hotel but unfortunately our stay was not so good. Upon our arrival on 12th November our room was very cold as there was no heating on therefore we had to sit with our coats on while we waited for dinner and the room was too cold to shower. In the dining room we were shown...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rhall112016
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay and with the dining. If you would like to contact us directly, I would be very happy to ensure you are refunded the amount that was agreed and apologise this was not rectified at check out.

Suffolk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Lambert Arms for one night to attend a wedding being held at the hotel, there was a certain amount confusion in booking our room and we had to ring a couple of times before our booking confirmation was finally e-mailed to us. Several other people in our party had similar difficulties. While the Lambert Arms is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavenSueSuffolk
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that you had some problems with receiving your confirmation and are pleased you received it prior to your stay. Thank you for highlighting the maintenance issues in your room which we are working our way through as part of our overall rejuvenation. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay and thank you...

Blonde Brit
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What pleasant helpful staff, who helped us out when we were let down by The Kings Hotel at Stokenchurch. Our room was huge overlooking the courtyard, clean, warm and the bed was so comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorrainey5101
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you here again soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here for a visit to Oxford and Blenheim palace. The hotel was about half an hour from Thornhill park and ride which was convenient for getting into Oxford. Our stay in the Lambert was fine, the staff are friendly, check in was straight forward. We had an upper room which was quite large as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gower08
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Our Blenheim Package is extremely popular, so I hope that you found it extremely good value. Many thanks again for the detailed feedback on all aspects of your stay, and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Trumbull, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The hotel was quite a surprise in a good way. It's tucked away some miles from Oxford - about a 30 minute drive so don't be fooled by the fact that it's not that many miles away on the map. Rooms were very nice. The restaurant was surprisingly good. And, they serve some real ales made locally - a particular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john p
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you here again soon.

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I booked a night away for my wife's 30th. The main part of the hotel was very nice, Megan on reception was very professional and curteous. The room (6) was modern and well appointed. Decent bathroom and wardrobe space. I found the barman a little curt for my liking but not rude. (To be fair, it could of been the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm O
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I thank you for highlighting all aspects of your stay and am sorry that the service you received wasn't consistently to the high standards that it should be throughout the venue. Thank you again for taking the time to feedback, which will be passed to the appropriate departments for future training.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This really is a lovely location for a short-break. The main hotel accomodation is probably more cozy and relatively reflected in the tarriff, however we were more than happy to stay in the annex accomodation which presumably is for conference and function attendants. It's modern but unobtrusive from the main road and nicely done, forming two sides of a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceScholar
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you again soon!

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewknor
8.9 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,532 reviews
6.2 km away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
200 reviews
35.6 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
423 reviews
7.9 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
11.6 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful traditional coaching inn, retaining its original historic features, with a modern twist. Comfortable and friendly, with open-fires, real ales and mouth-watering food overseen by Chef Chris Coates, and with a great choice of stylish and spacious bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lambert Hotel

Address: London Road | Thame, Lewknor OX49 5SQ, England (Formerly The Lambert Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Lewknor
Price Range: $108 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lambert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Lambert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lambert Arms Hotel Aston Rowant
Lambert Arms Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lambert Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
New York
6 months ago
Solihull, United Kingdom
over a year ago
South East England, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Lambert Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a courtyard room away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles norfolkblue, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room in the new part, bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles Nickblackrat, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a ground floor room, overlong fields, really close to the M40 but NO traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Sheeba1953, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not book on hotels.com”
 of 5 bubbles LeifPartille, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a courtyard room”
 of 5 bubbles TravellerinhopeGB, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay