We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed in the Jervis Room for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. Colin and Carole were excellent hosts and were very attentive. It's clear that they take great pride in their B&B and want their guests to be comfortable. The room (and entire house for that matter) was well appointed and immaculate. It had a fireplace and its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Very nice B and B. My family of 9 visited for two nights. There are 4 rooms downstairs each with a bathroom. There was a large living area downstairs for visiting at night. We were on a tight schedule and Colin was a great help to us as we tried to schedule a ferry to leave the area. For breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We are a foursome of friends, professionals in our 30's and 40's, who rented the Sand and Sea cottage for a long weekend. We had a nice time and spent quite a bit of time cleaning and tidying on the Sunday morning. Colin was just lovely. Carole asked us at check out what we did for dinner while there. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LynnlovesParis
DiscoveryPlace, Owner at Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated. Clearly that was not our best day. No charge for using the stove or oven. There can be a charge if kitchen, stove, oven, dishes, etc., are not left clean as found, or are damaged. This is standard practice. More attention to care would be appreciated. One of your business colleagues wiped...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We chose to stay around Roberts Creek due to its proximity to both Sechelt and Gibsons but was not in the main city areas. What a great choice to stay with Carole and Colin, who were very gracious hosts who prepared amazing breakfasts and were great to talk with and to get to know. We came as a get away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianwychan
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Carole and Colin are very friendly and helpful hosts. They went out of their way to spoil me since I was their only guest and prepared a variety of delicious hot breakfasts for the 3 days I was there. We enjoyed many interesting conversations about a variety of topics at breakfast. They provided suggestions and directions for restaurants, parks, beaches,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue V
Campbell River, Canada
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Carole and Colin have exceeded and gone above and beyond our expectations. Their home is not only luxurious but comfortable and homelike. Carole's breakfast was delicious and we felt very well looked after. We look forward to our next visit!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon V
Vancouver
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights and loved the view, atmosphere, conversation and definitely the breakfasts! Would certainly go back when there's a chance to get away to the Sunshine Coast - could be a good venue for a family reunion too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveAndJudith
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Beautiful hotel with fantastic surroundings. VERY poor breakfast (we ended up going to a local diner and had a lovely full breakfast at 11am). No bed making or room cleaning our entire stay of three days. Very poor service for a five star. Its part of my holiday to have the beds made and bathroom cleaned. If they improved the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lancashireButtons
DiscoveryPlace, Owner at Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage, responded to this review

Our guests have expectations and so do we. Be fair. We offer a deluxe continental breakfast with each suite. What we offer is posted on our website. However, some people are light eaters. This is why we clarify with our guests the night before, as we did with you. We were perplexed as to why you ate so little. We...

Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I had a perfect 2 night stay at Discovery Place and would definitely want to stay again. The location is great because you're close enough to Gibsons and Sechelt, you're near the beach, and if you want to stay in, the beautifully decorated and immaculate home provides you with a comfortable, cozy place to kick up your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sdOpinion
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We wanted to like this place but the main home is not for children (yes we had our kids with us) and we were given huge hints by the owners constantly. The room and main areas were meticulous. We just felt uncomfortable the entire stay.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KGKGs
Carole J, Owner at Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage, responded to this review

We appreciate all of our many guests. Discovery Place Retreat is adult oriented and is advertised as such. Occassionaly families with children request a booking and less often we accept. Adults vary in their mindfulness of children. Sand & Sea Cottage is more suitable to families, again with the same desire for mindfulness.

23 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roberts Creek
13.8 km away
Tranquility Bay Waterfront Inn
13.6 km away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
308 reviews
14.7 km away
InnSpire Resort & Spa
InnSpire Resort & Spa
#2 of 6 in Halfmoon Bay
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#2 of 16 in Gibsons
86 reviews
2.0 km away
Up The Creek Backpackers B&B
Up The Creek Backpackers B&B
#2 of 10 in Roberts Creek
69 reviews
2.4 km away
The Artist and The Quiltmaker - Victorian B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
2 acres of forest and view of the Pacific Ocean, Discovery Place was designed as an Executive Retreat. Walk to the beach from your Private luxury suite, heated floors and green technology. Special Features: group meeting facility, ethernet, personal coach, and our Chef's gourmet breakfast. Whether fun with friends, loved ones, group celebration or business meeting, let beauty and the essence of being, surround you while served in the style and hospitality of Discovery Place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage

Address: 1556 Park Ave, Roberts Creek, British Columbia V0N 2W2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Roberts Creek
Price Range: $149 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Place Retreat and Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at the end of the hallway is a little bigger than the other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ianwychan, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Jervis suite was amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles sdOpinion, 1 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Strongly suggest the suites in the big house, not so much the cottage though”
 of 5 bubbles BCtravelerette, 3 Aug 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay