We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Shoulder of Mutton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradwell
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 124: English reviews
Start your review of The Shoulder of Mutton
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed at many bed and breakfasts in Derbyshire and this has to be the best and will definitely be coming back. Such a great atmosphere. Food was amazing, real home cooked. Really felt welcomed upon arrival. Highly recommend staying here. You will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely overnight stay on our way to Scotland for a friends wedding. We arrived too early for check in but luckily for us the lovely landlady was around to check us in early. She showed us to our room which was clean and warm. Just what we needed after a long drive. We had a fab home cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Visiting the Peak District, booked two nights in this B&B. The atmosphere makes you feel at home, we had a room with a balcony overlooking the church - a very pretty view. The room was compact but had all we needed. It was pretty convenient also to have a good pub-restaurant right downstairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaroNegret
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This is a very friendly and very cosy B&B. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. A warm family feel about the place. The breakfast was delivered in a friendly café-style environment and the host & hostess were very attentive and the fare was exceptional, the full English breakfast was exactly what it says, 'Full English'. The tea, coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter p
Sao Bras de Alportel, Portugal
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Superb accommodation with very welcoming staff make this a place of joy to stay in. Rooms although very compact and bijou were spotlessly clean and well furnished with copious amounts of tea and coffee on tap. What made this place so special were the staff. From Lynne the owner to all the ancillary staff it was a very special and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review

Hi Phil, It was an absolute pleasure!! You and your friends/family, were a joy and we enjoyed the fun and laughter with you all enormously! We are delighted that, looking back, you enjoyed your stay with us here and wish you all an early "Merry Christmas" celebrated in the sunshine of the Algarve! Best Regards Lynne and Staff

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night & had a lovely relaxing time & great sleep in a cosy bedroom at the pub. The pub is very much a local, & we were made welcome by the staff. Incredibly, our friends had rung the pub before we arrived & they'd kindly arranged for fizz to be placed in our room! The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shropshirestalker
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Shoulder of Mutton. We have taken on board your comments about the tired bathroom and have taken steps to improve the flooring, replace the shower screen and change the toilet roll holder. We would like to emphasis that the bathroom was spotlessly clean and the "orange mould" you describe, was in fact the...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

On phoning to enquire about a room was informed that the only room left was compact and that some noise from the bar may be heard. Booked the room anyway as we did not intend to spend much time in the room (and the slight noise did not keep us awake). The room was compact but very clean, and contained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of The Shoulder of Mutton. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again on some future occasion. Kind Regards Lynne

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a Saturday night, the hosts were very welcoming and allowed us to leave a bag there before our room was ready so we could head out on a ramble. The room itself was clean, spacious and well furnished, as was the en suite. Breakfast good and hearty too :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Me and the wife popped in for a Sunday lunch. We wasn't disappointed. Food was well presented and delicious. Had the roast beef dinner, there was plenty of meat and veg and the Yorkshire pud that was balanced on top was huge. Staff were polite. All in all a great experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yolo1975
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review

We are always delighted when people take the time to review a visit for food, as opposed to a bed and breakfast stay. Our Sunday lunch is extremely popular and we are pleased you enjoyed yours! We hope you will visit us again on a future occasion? Regards Lynne

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We had an evening meal here as we were staying at a nearby B & B. The food was fine but we only had a main course. When I went to order a desert I was staggered to be informed that I would be charged the extortionate sum of £4 to pay by credit card! There had been no indication...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steveelward
Lynne S, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review

As we have already replied by personal email regarding this matter on an earlier occasion, I will not go into great detail on our reasons for charging this amount for using credit cards. Suffice to say that we have an across the board fee to simplify the complex, ever changing and exorbitant rates levied on us by the Credit card...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradwell
5.5 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
364 reviews
4.0 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
13.2 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
196 reviews
30.4 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.8 km away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional pub, bed and breakfast in Bradwell, Hope Valley selling a wide range of hand pulled cask beers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Address: Church Street, Bradwell, Peak District National Park S33 9HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bradwell
Price Range: $79 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shoulder of Mutton staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Shoulder of Mutton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd suggest book a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles CaroNegret, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2 Rooms do have balconys with good scenic outlooks”
 of 5 bubbles peterp323, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on front have view of church but loud bells in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles PhilH46, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Had a superior room and the bed was huge!!”
 of 5 bubbles 4thompsons15, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms give a great view of the district.”
 of 5 bubbles ralphf588, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5