We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Acropol Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
New Acropol Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for New Acropol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We came to the New Acropol because I knew some local friends used it. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent and friendly service. Michelle helped us to set up safari trips, helping to bypass price-gouging. The food was excellent, especially the enormous breakfasts with fresh coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Andy G
Morogoro, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2015

I booked my son and daughter-in-law to stay at “The Acropol” when they visited Morogoro in July. They loved experiencing first hand a place I have talked about for 15 years. They celebrated their tenth wedding anniversary at the Acropol and will never forget that night, which Michelle made very special for them. The room prices are low for this... More 

Helpful?
Thank bbKenz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I would like to say a big big thankyou to Michelle for her hospitality and company during my stay in your fantastic hotel! Of all the places I stayed while in Tanzania the Acropol was by far the best, most friendly and comfortable. If you are ever in the vaccinity don't hesitate to call Michelle, she is a most approachable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn V
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Overall a great, and very unique, place to stay not only in Morogoro but in Tanzania in general. The hotel is filled with old memorabilia which is a lot of fun to look at, the service is excellent (seriously, I've had worse service at places costing 5 times the price), and the food is also quite good with large portions.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kris C
Belper, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We found our stay here to be very relaxing and enjoyable. The hotel itself is delightful and has preserved the character of this old colonial building. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. Michelle and her staff were very friendly and helpful and our experience was similar to the previous reviewer that we were treated like family. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank rockofades
Calgary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2015

I am currently staying at this establishment. I have been here for three days and have been treated like family. Yes you do have to pay the first night when you check in but I have been asked to do this in other places. The staff already know how I like my coffee and yes folks it is real coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank craig c
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Yes it's quirky and yes there's a mass of African memorabilia, BUT a bucket of soap and water can go a long way. This is one of the oldest buildings in Morogoro and deserves a little more respect than what it's receiving. Michelle the owner was very rude to my parents and she made us feel unwelcome. I had to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anniex4
mnb2, Owner at New Acropol Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you had such a bad experience with us. You asked me if I had a problem with you I assured you I didn't. Your party was a late arrival with no previous booking. I have been trying to impress on the staff that rooms need to be paid when checking in . It is something we... More 

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2014

We have stayed at the Acropol many times over the years and what keeps drawing us back is the unique character of the place. It has a wonderful timeless feel to it, with collections of old photos and furniture, and a laid back vibe. The rooms are reasonably priced, with a residents rate of Tsh 65,000 for a double with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BigCatTraveller
NSW
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

But if you yearn for a taste of East Africa architecture, spacious rooms with stunning antique furniture, a large bar area with a mass of African memorabilia, a verandah on which to relax with a sundowner after a long drive or a day of sightseeing before sitting down to a sensational meal supervised by chef/proprietor Michelle then the New Acropol... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deefadog10
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

have passed through this hotel over the years...this is not the place for you if you need order, efficiency and uniformity....here, you never quite know what you are going to get. if you want predictable and a corporate professional feel, then go to the Nashera. Acropol is great if you are happy to go with the flow, not be too... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kate s

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morogoro hotels
0.0 km away
Arc Hotel
Arc Hotel
#4 of 5 in Morogoro
80 reviews
0.0 km away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#3 of 5 in Morogoro
64 reviews
0.0 km away
Nashera Hotel
Nashera Hotel
#2 of 5 in Morogoro
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#5 of 5 in Morogoro
9 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#2 of 6 in Morogoro
37 reviews
0.0 km away
Udzungwa Falls Lodge
Udzungwa Falls Lodge
#3 of 16 in Morogoro
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This building is one of the oldest in Morogoro and is filled with antiques and original furniture from the 1940s and 50s. It is on the Old Dar road, once the main road through Tanzania from the border to Dar es salaam. It has a fascinating pub with maps and curios from all over Zanzibar and mainland Tanzania. The food served features vegetables and other produce from various Morogoro organic cooperatives. North American style cuisine using beef filet and pork tenderloin. Specialty coffees and a fully stocked bar with cocktails. Free internet is available throughout the property and rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Acropol Hotel

Address: Plot 178 Old Dar Road | P.O. Box 78, Morogoro, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Price Range: $71 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Acropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Acropol Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from New Acropol Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Michelle will be happy to help you when you contact the hotel for a room. Also, she prefers you to pay around check-in. No credit cards.”
 of 5 bubbles L1404UHmattb, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a room in the main courtyard and it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Olivia_H0wland, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“They have only one area for rooms- just hope you sleep well in a neat bed.”
 of 5 bubbles saumitrag2015, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Any room is good”
  • room
  • Room
  • room
  • room
  • room
  • room
  • Bathroom view from room
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles satyaprasad2000, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms may have less road noise”
 of 5 bubbles bbKenz, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay