We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Plus Collingwood

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hostel Plus Collingwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Start your review of Hostel Plus Collingwood
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Located on an amazing spot in the middle of a hipster suburb of melbourne, with easy eccess to public transport, supermarkets and the inner city! Friendly staff and everyday free breakfast! Easy going people, chilled environment, good rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stéphanie v
Hostel Plus C, Manager at Hostel Plus Collingwood, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay with us :)

Hobart
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hostel is well located near all public transport and within walking distance from the city and all inner suburbs . The staff are really friendly . The tariffs are very fair . They also provide a free Continental breakfast

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilko7000
Hostel Plus C, Manager at Hostel Plus Collingwood, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. Do not go here. Horrible dirty place! Came back from being out for the day to get back to find someone else in my bed and he hadn't paid to be there. Complained to the reception and she said there was nothing she could do?!! The whole place is filthy and has a horrible smell.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmJames93
Hostel Plus C, Manager at Hostel Plus Collingwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had this experience at our hostel. We want our hostel to be welcoming and enjoyable experience for all of our guests. We welcome constructive feedback and I will review our staff procedures to ensure a happy and safe environment for everyone who stays with us.

Penguin, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2017

This is the worst place that my partner and I have ever stayed. It was filthy and unhygienic and the sheets were so disgusting we asked to have them changed and the next sheet was even worse.... the next attempt after that was the wrong size and still filthy. We stayed in the private double room and its was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank riceyihr
Hostel Plus C, Manager at Hostel Plus Collingwood, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. Sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay during your partners birthday - we hope she had a blast on your remaining night in Melbourne. We try to resolve any issues that you have during your stay to make it an enjoyable and comfortable stay. I have noted your concerns and given extra training...

Reviewed 30 March 2017

The place was in such bad conditions in terms of hygiene and environment that my husband and I decided not to stay at the hostel. Despite the friendly staff, they have no control of what happens inside - the facilities were trashed. Besides that, was inevitable not to noticed the free consumption of drugs inside the hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Júlia C
Hostel Plus C, Manager at Hostel Plus Collingwood, responded to this review

Hi Julia, Thank you for your review. We regret that you decided to leave the hostel after trying to accomodate your wishes but we hope you both enjoyed Melbourne and were able to get some great shots during the Formula One.

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Rooms were filthy. Massive Q for the showers. Out the way from everything. Wouldn't recommend Wifi was also really slow and didn't work Mice in the room The lad who sorts out all the bedding and sheets needs to sort his face out! He's very lazy and rude

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollyjones3302
Hostel Plus C, Manager at Hostel Plus Collingwood, responded to this review

Hi Molly, Thank you for your review we take all feedback on board. We are a 10 min train ride from the CBD and about 30 min walk from CBD. We have given our staff extra training to ensure there are no further issues regarding our check out process (including linen/laundry).

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

So. I like the look of the hostel. The graffiti on walls, the lounge, the new bathrooms.. all good when it comes to that. And the area is generally awesome. Easy to get to everywhere, good, artsy style. But. I know, that hostels are not the quietest usually. And a lot of people party there. And maybe it was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aga M
Hostel Plus C, Manager at Hostel Plus Collingwood, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Wi fi doesn't work . Toilets arevdirty no hot water most of the time ,Mouses walking in the kitchen , over crawded room ( extra beds !) Staffs were friendly though and I met great pepole from different countries!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pooya K
c0llingw00d, Manager at Hostel Plus Collingwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

I came here with the intention of staying 5 nights and barely made it through 4; this place was so dirty, my bedding was severely stained, the bathrooms never had toilet paper were always disgusting. The staff is unapproachable and they clearly don't care about this place; so the people who stay here don't either. One of the managers has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Hi, Thank you for your review. To keep the hostel clean and tidy it is important that everyone takes responsibility to clean up after themselves. We have a strict "Yo Mama doesn't live here Policy" at Hostel Plus Collingwood. We encourage everyone to be clean and tidy with signs throughout the hostel encouraging everyone to clean their dishes, keep your...

Aldgate, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I've stayed at quite a lot of hostels and Hostel Plus is up in my top favourites. The bathrooms were all clean, the outdoor area had a great atmosphere and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. If i return to Melbourne I will definitely come back to this hostel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TDelvaux94
Management response:

Hi :) Thank you so much for your review. We wish you a healthy and safe new year! We look forward to seeing you next time :)

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingwood
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#117 of 159 in Melbourne
108 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
205 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
7,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 133 in Melbourne
787 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#48 of 133 in Melbourne
115 reviews
Baden Powell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Collingwood
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Brand new hostel with fully renovated bathrooms and fresh dorm rooms! Collingwood is famous for its artsy culture; this hostel captures exactly that with street art throughout the hostel and giant murals on the exterior. We offer private rooms and dorm rooms from 4-18 beds available. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Plus Collingwood

Address: 177 Johnston Street, Collingwood, Yarra, Victoria 3066, Australia (Formerly Travellers Trax at The Barley Corn)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Collingwood
Price Range: $22 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Plus Collingwood 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Plus Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Plus Collingwood staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Plus Collingwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want free breakfast, best you bring your own bowl and cutlery to save you $5. Otherwise they charge you $5 to use theirs”
TDelvaux94, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“recently renovated rooms 1,2,9,10,11”
jessicabQ7799TO, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
2 of 2
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates