We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mantra Bell City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra Bell City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

879 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 866: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff were friendly, but the service wasn't great, which could be due lack of staff on at the time, but I am not sure. I assume the hotel is busy on Friday nights, but again this should not be affecting a guest stay. I checked in 3pm and I immediately noticed my fridge was not working. I let the reception...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zee559
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were all really helpful, considering what they had to work with. The hotel itself is in need of an upgrade. Old carpets, were rippling and dangerous (OH&S) and made rooms smell like smoke, shower drains clogged and all TV channels not working.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
Orbost, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked a room through the Mantra mega sale - we got an upgrade and it was excellent value for my wife, daughter and myself - very nice room with two queen beds, parking and $50 for $177. Only tricky bit was actually finding a parking space.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S2239KNstephenh
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms were quaint but the shower was sadly quite mouldy. The sauna was okey but th light was broken. Games room was terrible. Pool was good but it was in a different building and you needed to get an additional card for it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leontheweeboo
Canberra
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is the perfect place to spend a holiday with family or friends which is just 20min away from cbd. Staff are very courteous and gives wonderful service. The room is quite lovely having its modern architecture. I would really like to come back and stay with mantra once more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 675romeov
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear 675romeov Many thanks for your review and we are so pleased you had a fantastic stay! Hope to see you again soon. Best regards Alistair Munro General manager

3016
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only down side was the food,bar hours. Bar closes to early on the weekends. the room service food needs work and as a guest paying $9 every time I took my car out is steep. i could live with $9 a day but everytime is not good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdg3020
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear sdg3020 Thank you for your review and pleased that you have enjoyed the hotel. I appreciate the feedback on the room service and car parking - it is only $9 a day with free entry/exit during this time so not sure how you were charged this each time? If you can please email me your best contact details and...

Murray Bridge, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay. Chill restaurant was affordable, food fresh and enjoyable. Parking affordable and convenient . Room service very efficient and helpful. Location to tram to city was excellent and it was a quick easy drive to Northland Shopping Centre

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne b
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear anne b Just a quick note to thank you for your review. The team and I are so pleased that you gave enjoyed the hotel facilities and location. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best regards Alistair Munro General manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here whilst floors were being polished. Main reason for choosing the Mantra was it being close to our house & being self catering. However its not really sel catering - if we wanted to cook; there were no cooking vessels. These were extra. However we thought it was value for money. God fed up with having to constantly...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene13
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear Gaylene13 Thank you for your review on your recent stay and pleased that you have found the hotel well situated and good value for money. All of our rooms are equipped with kitchenettes and I am sorry there was a lack of cooking utensils in your room. We do supply kitchen packs and hope when you called reception this...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only a short stay and I was very disappointed. The rooms were so big and gorgeous, that i wanted to stay longer. In at 10pm and out at 7am the next morning. Alas I didn't get to enjoy the rooms facilities. Great to view of the sunrise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Hi David T Just a quick note to thank you for your review and the team & I are so pleased that you had a great stay. Look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit next time! Many thanks Alistair Munro General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Restaurant was average. If not being served by the manager, service was slow and forgetful. Huge wine list, many not available/run out. $40 steak on the first nigjt was chewy and not enjoyable, barramundi was good. Benefit of tbe doubt had me trying th $40 steak again on night 4 and still tought and not enjoyable. Bar service was good....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y7175OWrichardf
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. Obviously the team & I are very disappointed to read that the quality of your steak has fallen short on 2 occasions. The Executive Chef has read your review and will investigate your feedback and ensure we provide best quality product. We are very...

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
954 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
173 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#86 of 156 in Melbourne
864 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
136 reviews
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Price Range: $117 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Bell City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Rutherford, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Bell City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe not Room 122 as you can hear the trolleys in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles SueLloyd2014, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“City view room would be nice”
 of 5 bubbles POBox202, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No scenic views in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles PoppetAustralia, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a City View room.”
 of 5 bubbles r2d22015, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Take a gas mask or breathing apparatus.”
 of 5 bubbles JesseR693, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5