We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Utstein Kloster Hotell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Utstein Kloster Hotell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Haugesund, Norway
Reviewed 19 June 2016

The first impression of the hotel is marvelous. Located close to the sea in a magnificent scenery. The staff are helpful and positive. We stayed for two nights in june - i.e not high season. The room has a magnificent view. However the cleanliness was not good, floors and bathroom was dirty. In general the hotel needs an upgrade. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjellerik2015
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 9 May 2015

It is a shame how bad it is to stay here! This could be a great hotel in a superb area, but unfortunately it is not taken care of the hotel. Our room was dirty, very dusty (has not seen a vacume cleaner in a long time, do NOT look under the bed!) and the bathroom was not cleaned either....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank two_swissies
Nina O, Daglig leder at Utstein Kloster Hotell, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had this experience here with us! Can you please let us when you were staying here and in which room, so we can try to find out what happened here? Our email address is post@utsteinklosterhotell.no We will of course go through our routines to make sure this never happens again, and new blankets and...

Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed 19 October 2014

This hotel has the most magnificent location 2-3 meters from the ocean shore at Mosterøy and overlooking the archipelago of the surrounding cliffs and islands, seeing the sun setting - very beautiful! Me and my teenage daughter got a mini-suite, which was very nice and well-equipped, although bathroom is a little small. One bedroom and a sitting room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claus B
Minneapolis
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was a guest here two days in July, and it was wonderful. This part of Norway is not on the must-see list of many travelers, which is unfortunate. It is on these islands that one can experience the quiet rural Norway that is the diametric opposite of the packaged Norway-In-A-Nutshell experience that is better known and more often talked...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hans50
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I visited this hotel for my business meeting. This hotel was an absolute beauty. Stayed there for two nights. The food and ambiance was spectacular. Had a walk up to the Monastery as well which as wonderful. All in all it was a wonderful experience.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bushmaestor
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you want scenery, and a hotel with great service and food...this is a very good option. Located at Mosteroy, you will find yourself at ease and tranquil immediately after arriving. Simple rooms, bathrooms not very inviting. But you are here for the views, the Utstein Kloster and short travelled excellent food (but a bit pricey I admit). One can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yef70
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Been here a couple of times now, just for coffee and food. The hotel does seem clean but the conservatory is lovely to sit in and the food was presented very well by friendly staff. Its a nice little stop on the way to the klosters or lighthouse.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EnglishRichInNorway
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Was in Stavanger on business and could not get a local hotel so had to trek 25k out to Utstein Kloster. To begin with, the drive out is scenic and pleasant with good roads (although a bit narrow so watch for traffice and four footed friends). This hotel is literally on an island accessed by bridge and once you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul D
New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel is located on a nice lake. The rooms are "ok". Food was good. We only stayed the night. We were on a 6 day motorcycle trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HUH42
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2007

I stayed here for two nights in June. I was actually working in Stavanger that week and this was the only hotel my travel agent could get. It was really too far outside Stavanger to be practical for business and it cost about 500k each way in the taxi. However, it was fantastic, amazing location, just stunning scenery, very peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Emmaloocoo

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosteroy
18.2 km away
Hummeren Hotel
Hummeren Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sola Municipality
33 reviews
9.7 km away
Fjordbris Hotell
Fjordbris Hotell
#1 of 1 in Rennesoy Municipality
17 reviews
23.7 km away
Sola Strand Hotel
Sola Strand Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sola Municipality
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Utstein Kloster Hotell

Address: Mosteroeyveien 661, Mosteroy 4156, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Mosteroy
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Utstein Kloster Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Utstein Kloster Hotell staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Utstein Kloster Hotell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor of the waterfront.”
 of 5 bubbles kjellerik2015, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Take the rooms with ocean wiev, not all have this.”
 of 5 bubbles 348clausb, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
“You want to be on the ocean side.”
 of 5 bubbles Hans50, 13 Jul 2014 | Read review
“A few rooms renovated 2013 - ask for them. And remember 1st floor is better with access to outdoor area”
 of 5 bubbles yef70, 18 Jul 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay