We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The New Inn

    The New Inn Main Street, Cropton YO18 8HH, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    5 Nov 6 Nov
    Traveller (77)
    Room & Suite (25)
    Dining (17)
    Overview
    • Excellent44%
    • Very good34%
    • Average14%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible3%
    Travellers talk about
    “brewery tour” (114 reviews)
    “micro brewery” (25 reviews)
    “the pub” (86 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Family Rooms
    Wheelchair Access
    All hotel details
    Deals
    5 Nov6 Nov
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (399)
    There are newer reviews for The New Inn
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 398 reviews

    Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

    We decided to have lunch here while waiting for the brewery tour to start. There was no polite conversation from either bar staff or waiting staff. The food was nothing special at all and the cup of tea was awful. I'm pleased to say the...More

    Thank gailmumby
    Response from Phil L, Owner at The New InnResponded 14 September 2017

    Hi gailmumby Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We take all feedback seriously wether it be positive or negative. We take pride in not only delivering a true, warm Yorkshire welcome but tasty, quality food as should be expected in a...More

    Reviewed 30 August 2017

    Stopped here for Sunday lunch after a local walk. Having read the reviews we had high expectations. The setting and the beer garden (where we ate) were certainly very pleasant. The staff were fine. One girl in particular who was serving on the tables in...More

    Thank HelenMR30
    Response from Phil L, Owner at The New InnResponded 14 September 2017

    Hi HelenMR30 Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We take all feedback seriously wether it be positive or negative. We take pride in not only delivering a true, warm Yorkshire welcome but tasty, quality food as should be expected in a...More

    Reviewed 29 August 2017

    Booked to eat here last week while staying locally with my parents, wife and children. My mother has difficulty walking a struggled up the stairs from the car park and then to the restaurant. The staff did not offer to make a table available in...More

    Thank AndyMcD9
    Response from Phil L, Owner at The New InnResponded 14 September 2017

    Hi AndyMcD9 We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your short time with us. We pride ourselves on providing a true quality Yorkshire experience. We would have gladly accommodated your mother with a suitable table had you made us aware beforehand....More

    Reviewed 24 August 2017

    Stopped here overnight with a group of friends on a Saturday, the service in the bar was appalling with only one young girl serving drinks, taking food orders and payment for meals. It was 4 deep at the bar and 15 minute wait for drinks...More

    1  Thank kevin w
    Response from Phil L, Owner at The New InnResponded 29 August 2017

    Hello Kevin W We have read through you review. As we have highlighted in previous responses we endeavour to provide great customer service. However due to the popularity of the pub because of our excellent beer and home cooked food we do sometimes have longer...More

    Reviewed 23 August 2017

    We always try to eat here when on holiday locally, so we were pleased to return. Just as well we had booked as they get very busy. We were sitting in the restaurant - a bit quieter than the very busy bar. The waiting staff...More

    Thank MoiWHW
    Response from Phil L, Owner at The New InnResponded 29 August 2017

    Hi MoiWHW Thank you for providing us with your review. We take on board your comments, whilst we try to provide a traditional Yorkshire welcome to all our customers it is sometimes a little challenging at peak times such as a weekend in August. Regardless...More

    The Pheasant Hotel
    376 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Harome
     
    Kings Head Hotel
    150 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Kirkbymoorside
     
    Old Manse Hotel
    254 reviews
    #3 of 3 hotels in Pickering
     
    Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
    427 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Pickering
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$110 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 9
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Yorkshire >
    • North Yorkshire >
    • Cropton
    • Also Known As
    • The New Hotel Pickering
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (77)
    Room & Suite (25)
    Dining (17)
    Hotel & Grounds (67)
    Bathroom (3)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
    427 reviews
    6.68 km away
     
    Old Manse Hotel
    254 reviews
    6.07 km away
     
    The Pheasant Hotel
    376 reviews
    12.85 km away
     
    Kings Head Hotel
    150 reviews
    6.31 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Moors Inn
    130 reviews
    2.25 km away
    Blacksmith's Arms
    457 reviews
    3.10 km away
    The Crown
    420 reviews
    5.11 km away
    The White Swan
    91 reviews
    5.95 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Friar's Hill Riding Stables
    9 reviews
    3.65 km away
    Ryedale Folk Museum
    362 reviews
    5.10 km away
    Bils & Rye
    35 reviews
    6.27 km away
    North Yorkshire Moors Railway
    3,228 reviews
    6.27 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Vicky S
    28 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from Deborah H | Reviewed this property |
    Yes the pub is dog friendly
    0
    Votes
    MazzaITFC
    22 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 7 answers
    Response from BlacCoffee | Reviewed this property |
    When you walk out the front door of the inn turn left and there is a public footpath next to the drive. It''s lovely. Takes you down into rolling countryside. There are areas with livestock where your dog has to be on... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "try room 8,loft room"
    Read review
    "Stay somewhere else"
    Read review
    "The cottages are best, as larger and away from the noise of the pub."
    Read review
    "bring a showerhead cleaning kit with you & ear plugs"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing