Hotel Cerro Lodge

Hotel Cerro Lodge

Calle La Barca 3 Km Antes del Puente Sobre el Rio Tarcoles, Tarcoles, Garabito Municipality 4023 Costa Rica
Traveller (595)
Le bungalow 17, tout neuf!
Room & Suite (90)
Restaurant met een aantal feeders voor de vogels
Dining (41)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 5 hotels in Tarcoles
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Strongly recommended for Birdwatchers and Photographers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Calle La Barca 3 Km Antes del Puente Sobre el Rio Tarcoles, Tarcoles, Garabito Municipality 4023 Costa Rica
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles657 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel Cerro Lodge is renowned for its tranquil setting and scenic views, with guests frequently commending its proximity to nature. The lodge boasts clean and comfortable accommodations, though occasional issues with WiFi and amenities are noted. Its serene atmosphere is accentuated by private cabins and open-air bathrooms, with the cleanliness of these spaces consistently praised. While some guests find the pricing steep, others appreciate the value offered through meal deals. Despite occasional service hiccups during peak times, the staff generally receives accolades for their helpfulness.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
657Reviews11Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 374
  • 190
  • 53
  • 20
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Petra J wrote a review Feb 2021
Mexico City, Mexico
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice place to stay if you want to visit Tarcoles NP. The price was great and the hotel garden is perhaps nicer than the national park itself! They feed birds so big red Macaws and other birds come while you re having breakfast, the pool was clean and there is a view tower great for sunsets! So why only 4 stars? Food was so-so and the rooms were fine but walls were so thin that the first night we could not sleep at all - all of our neighbors were so loud and even at 2am - I don t know if people go party to Jaco and then come back to the hotel, did not expect this at all. If you stay, perhaps get one of the cottages that don t share walls and have more privacy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spg6611 wrote a review Jan 2020
Lafayette, Louisiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was really an amazing experience. The grounds were beautifully designed, with bungalows in a very natural setting. Lots of flowering plants and many bird species, in particular, scarlet macaws which were plentiful and you could get very close views of. Our room had a very unusual bathroom, opening up to a small, but private garden. The excellent meals were served buffet style for a very reasonable price with a fantastic view of the surrounding area. The staff was very nice and helpful. It made us want to come back and stay a month.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Brad W wrote a review Feb 2020
Seattle, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me first be clear, this is not the Four Seasons. It's not an all-inclusive resort with massive pools.

This property is as if your Costa Rican relatives owned a large plot of land with rooms and bungalows, and invited you to come stay with them. You're very close to nature. Birds are everywhere, monkeys are frequent visitors, and, at night, the nocturnal world is also present. This means you might share your bungalow's outdoor bathroom with a frog or arachnids. If this is a problem, you might want to make sure you have indoor facilities.

I can't say enough good things about the staff. Natalia and Maria especially went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of and set up great tours for us. From what we could tell, guests do not pay any sort of commission for having the front desk arrange tours. If anything, we noticed the prices were a bit cheaper with their help!

The meals are simple, yet delicious. Please do plan on eating at least breakfast (included) and dinner here, when the open-air restaurant becomes the social hub of the hotel. Strangers become familiar, as you share stories of your day's experiences with people that become familiar over a several-might stay.

I'm sure we'll return to Costa Rica, and I'm certain we'll stay here again if we do.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paola Backens wrote a review Feb 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Just a Horrible experience.
Take into consideration that when we left there were other people at the reception complaining about their stay.
We were traveling in family so we rented 2 superior rooms, they placed us at opposite ends of the facilities, some of us had parking spaces on site and others did not.
We traveled with children who couldn't use the pool because it was GREEN when we arrived with mold floating around, all covered. They indicate they are pet friendly but when we arrived with the dog they charged us an extra fee + they retained $ 50 of the security deposit FOR DOG HAIR IN THE ROOM.
We had roaches in the room, we ran out of water at night, and mattresses are exactly the same as sleeping on the floor.
The road to get there is not paved, so there are kilometers of ballast that are not indicated, for the same reason you are basically forced to eat there and the food is not good and overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Just do not stay here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivan sala, Owner at Hotel Cerro Lodge
Responded 23 May 2022
we was with a pool problem , we fix quicly the day after we are so sorry! and parking we recentryl open a new one for 60 cars , now we have a lot of space !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TopCatExeter wrote a review Jan 2020
Exeter, Devon,
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent one week here. They have nice, spacious lodges, plenty of space between them on a lovey site nea Tarcoles. A small but good restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Whilst sitting there you can view monkeys in the trees, birds galore including toucans and machous etc. They have a medium size swimming pool, a large site that you can stroll around and a Lookout point, with views to the ocean and mountains beyong. Great for viewing sunsets!
All the staff are exceedingly friendly and were very welcoming and helpful with information and the occasional request for an item or two!
Ideal for chilling out and reasonably close to the main highway (far enough away not to hear traffic!) for that adventure trip.
Rental car is advised but the Lodge do have travel companies they can contact for trips out. Not near a beach although they are nearby but car needed.
Bird watchers paradise and whilst staying there we witnessed many a group, on tour, who thoroughly enjoyed the spectacle of many species flying around the Lodge area.
An adult place really as not much for children to enjoy, apart from the pool !
We had originally booked for 4 nights but enjoyed it so much there that we extended our stay for another 5 days!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Every lodge has a good space and plenty of private area surrounding and the area is ultra quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Cerro Lodge Tarcoles, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Hotel Cerro Lodge
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Hello! Its super nice to read that you call us a Bird watcher paradise, We are always trying to share our place with all the fauna around the areas with out getting involve in their natural behaviors, we love they visit us so all of you can enjoy them. Hope you can come back soon, it was really nice to have you around
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anis Ben zineb wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
İ have the worst travel experience in this hotel. The website is misleading, there's no transportation, the room i had looks like a prison cell, the food is disgusting and overpriced, the pool is green and moldy inside, the front desk manager is rude and doesn't speak English, the rooms are filthy and full of insects, İ was very uncomfortable so i have to leave two days early. Although it was very inconvenient for me to stay, they refused to give me refund for the days i was not staying there. İ asked the reception to call a taxi for me, they said nobody would come because of the bad roads, i tried to call Uber but the road was unnamed so no driver was available. The front desk proposed to call a friend of him to take me if İ pay him $35 when my costs no more $5 when i tried to reserve Uber. İ had to ask a customer to give me a ride, which she volunteraly did. That place is a nightmare and İ don't anyone to go there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Federico Ferraro Castro, Director General at Hotel Cerro Lodge
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear Sir: We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had when visiting our Hotel. We want to clarify that you reserved a basic room with shared bathroom for 4 nights. However, we gave him a standard room, which was more spacious and with a private bathroom. Our menu is international and the dishes you ordered were typical of the area. We are sorry you did not like them. All the workers at the reception speak English and we are known for being friendly, courteous and seeing all the comments of all our guests. When you arrived at the Hotel, you informed that you would leave the night before and for that reason we made you a credit, which you consumed in the Hotel's restaurant. You asked us for a taxi that would take you to Villa Majolana in Playa Aguja, which is 40 minutes from our Hotel and has a normal taxi rate of 35 dollars for that trip. We hope you have a happy vacation in the next few days.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PGerace wrote a review Feb 2020
Lagos, Portugal
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I just finished our 14 day stay at this Tico run lodge.
It was one of the best overall travel experiences that we have ever had in our 12 years of visiting and then living in Costa Rica.
The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The typical Costa Rican cuisine was tasty and plentiful.
The included buffet style breakfast featured fresh tropical fruits and they made the best French toast!
Buffet dinner highlights were the beets and hearts of palms in the salads. Delicious breaded fish, mashed potatoes, and pulled beef.
After a few days Yanory the manager asked us if we want any special meals just in case we found the food to be repetitive. We accepted and enjoyed fried eggs, octopus & rice, grilled fish with patacones & sautéed veggies, and spaghetti bolegnase.
WiFi was only available at the open air restaurant so it became a popular meeting place to get to know other travelers, as well as watch the birds and monkeys.
The stars of the lodge are the scarlet macaws and some will even come down to the feeders.
A staff member even offered to take us to find owls at night on his free time. Gracias Ramon!
We took advantage of the pool and were able to cool off in the hot afternoons.
The room was air conditioned and comfortable.
The birds that we saw included Turqoise-browed Motmots, Gartered & Black-headed Trogons, Pygmy Owl, Parrots, Yellow-Throated Toucans, Masked Tityra, and many different raptors.
White Faced monkeys were also seen every day.
Muchas Gracias Yanory, Aurelio y esposa, Abraham, Maria, Diana, Juanito, Marvin, & housekeeping for making us feel at home.
We were even presented with a gift bag as a remembrance of our stay.
We arrived as tourists and left as family.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
debird58 wrote a review May 2022
Maryland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I immediately disliked this property as they answered all of my messages before I arrived but did not address my desire to shorten my stay by 1 day. The hotel was empty so there was no excuse, but they told me there were no changes, or cancellations allowed, and no refunds. So I paid for my 4th night even though I didn’t stay.

The room smelled of strong ammonia every day, so the bathroom was clean but awkward as there was only one hook for towels and no bar. The water was like a pressure washer but not hot. Air conditioned room but not adjustable temperature or fan. No closet and bugs and frog in the room. Pillows were so old and misshapen.

The parking was far away from the rooms and hard to roll your bag across gravel. Then there are the sidewalks to the rooms…..so steep you have to take baby steps, and I had good treads on my boots. The grounds look nice but don’t have any good birds and no wildlife, with the exception of two macaws that come to the feeder.

The pool surface is rough so it looks dirty. The staff is unhelpful, with the exception of one waitress. Eat elsewhere as the food is mediocre. I asked for ice for a small cooler and it was hand scooped out of the ice bin, bare hands during COVID! Ugh stay somewhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivan sala, Owner at Hotel Cerro Lodge
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear Deby like we explain to you , you bought a special rate vacacion in booking.com , where the cancellation was not allowed ! now i understand your disgusting , you lost 60$ but you buy at 200$ down the price for the entire vacation , at finally you win ! Cerro lodge is one of the best hotel for enjoy birds , sorry if you can't enyoy , bird are inpredictible , is impossible to know when arrive ! room is cleaned very well and we use special product , because we are in the middle of the forrest , we need to improve to no entry at a lot of creature in the room ! our pizaa are italian , food are most costa rica and italian , i'm italian , elisabetta is italian girl and we cook the better we can as an italian people ! you know we are a good cheff! this kind of review is the perfect review for try to explain better what we are ! -we are a family! -we are italian living in costa rica ( 20year) -we try aou best every day for make incredible your stay in our hotel! -we are a hotel with a special offer , and if you buy with a 50% off with no cancelation IS NO CANCELATION hope you understand at final of this matter you win with the matter of the money!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NoIberostarFan wrote a review Mar 2023
Wichita, Kansas
3.0 of 5 bubbles
While the staff was friendly, they can't make up for everything else. Your room will be clean but not sealed from the outside world, so you will share it with ants and other bugs. Your bathroom will be outside (literally), which means you will also share it with bugs (and in our case a scorpion). Meals will be haphazard at best. Drinks will be overpriced and not that good and your food will vary from decent to boring - when you get it as the service is painfully slow.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ivan sala, Propietario at Hotel Cerro Lodge
Responded 14 Mar 2023
dear guest , so sorry for your feeling , we are in the middle of the forest , is very hard stay without bugs ! our price and fod are the best in the area , so sorry if you don't feel that !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveB2002 wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cerro Lodge Hotel very good, nice pool, great walks and they have a high viewing platform. Near the restaurant decking they leave food for the mo keys and birds, it's a great place to photograph the local wildlife. It's not easy to get to but we came by bus from Jaco only cost crs1000 and disembarked at the "crocodile" Bridge where we saw about 12 crocs and had a good breakfast. Food here is not cheap and you're about 5 kms from the Croc bridge so no local restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PeterW2257 asked a question Mar 2018
Okehampton, United Kingdom10 contributions15 helpful votes
How long do you recommend staying here for? What tours can be booked directly through the hotel please?
Answer from tony-travller
england47 contributions32 helpful votes
Go Carrara National Park and crocodile bridge. Spent an afternoon at the pool and watch the macaws and monkeys from the veranda
S J asked a question Jan 2017
New York City, New York22 contributions16 helpful votes
Does this lodge have Verizon cell phone signal? Also, is their Wi-Fi in the rooms?
Answer from Federico F
Tarcoles, Costa Rica
Good afternoon, we dont have Wi-Fi at roomsonly at the restaurant, about the Verizon signal we sorry but we dont really know.
gotthetravelbug48 asked a question Nov 2016
Key West, Florida33 contributions34 helpful votes
how far from airport and from the port?
Answer from Federico F
Tarcoles, Costa Rica
From the airport one hour and a half and from the port 1 hour approximately.
Jill S asked a question Oct 2016
Norfolk, United Kingdom608 contributions152 helpful votes
Can we book tours from the lodge? The website suggests so but doesn't have any further information.
Answer from suzieqGRENADA
Winnipeg, Canada1,205 contribution108 helpful votes
you probably can right from there, and it would probably be easier to do so!
esteban p wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"enjoy the nature shown, observe everything in detail, very quiet and private, it is beautiful to share the space as a couple I love every mo"
Read full review
Nadia P wrote a tip Apr 2024
8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring earplugs. Howlers are really loud and break branches that land on the cabin roof too! Lots of bug spray & itch cream needed"
Read full review
Laura J wrote a tip Feb 2024
London27 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel is along a long dirt track. Keep going you are heading the right way!"
Read full review
Edee H wrote a tip Jan 2024
14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can call them directly and get a better price. Also if you are a tico you get a better price so make sure to let them know"
Read full review
Kristian J wrote a tip Jan 2024
Chicago, Illinois61 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"the wifi worked at the restaurant, but not really in our room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tarcoles area.
PRICE RANGE
S$48 - S$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cerro hotel tarcoles
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasGarabito MunicipalityTarcoles DistrictTarcoles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL CERRO LODGE (S̶$̶8̶4̶) S$49: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 661 Photos (Tarcoles, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Cerro Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Cerro Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Carara National Park (3.1 km), Tarcoles Bridge (5.1 km), and Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Cerro Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Cerro Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Cerro Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Cerro Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Adventure Dining, Tiko Restaurante Mirador, and Restaurante Vista Mar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Cerro Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Cerro Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Hotel Cerro Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Hotel Cerro Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tarcoles HotelsTarcoles Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TarcolesHotels near Hotel Cerro Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire