We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Punta Leona Hotel

Save
Share
Tarcoles, Garabito Municipality 61102 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
US$180
View deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
travelup.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1269)
360
Panoramas (24)
Pool & Beach (454)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Tarcoles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Punta Leona does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hotel Punta Leona, a nice option for travellers like you.

Rooms at Punta Leona Costa Rica offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free internet access.

24 hour front desk, a concierge, and a convenience store are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Punta Leona Costa Rica, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Punta Leona cafes such as Los Guarumos, which is a short distance from Hotel Punta Leona.

Hotel Punta Leona looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Punta Leona.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Mini golf
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Table tennis
Kids club
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1215Reviews121Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 406
  • 431
  • 192
  • 94
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tracy C wrote a review 26 Jan
Southington, Connecticut5 contributions1 helpful vote
Horrible horrible pictures are so outdated we’re to start this is not a resort this is a place for locals to go they have housing on the property which is massive. So they have access to everything. They say English and Spanish speaking what a joke no no English. Place is so run down and in dire need of a Complete rehaul. Rooms are horrible beds horrible food horrible. The beach is way to far no bar at the beach. Way to many kids. This place is a disaster and an inspection fail waiting to happen. Butterfly garden what is overrun by one what are gardenias a dead fish in their water so the dead particles from the fish are feeding the plants that they’re putting in their food. One night we lost power throughout the whole entire compound for over three hours no compensation or apology. We were moved into the apartments which were miles from civilization and you get ripped off because there’s no free breakfast the sliding glass door doesn’t lock. Beds were so uncomfortable the apartments didn’t provide blankets on the bed just a sheet and a flimsy bedspread. The apartments also had no AC in the main room just the bedroom. Will never be back again even if you’ve offered me $1 million
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Yes avoid everything at all cost
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara Jimenez, Marketing at Punta Leona Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hi Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations and have shared your feedback with our team We’re normally known for our exceptional attention to detail We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again and give you a better impression. Best regards,
Read more
Gabriel A wrote a review 22 Jan
3 contributions
My stay in Costa Rica was awesome thanks to the hotel punta leona. The environment was beautiful like in the middle of the jungle surrounded by animals. The team working there was really nice and helpful. If you want to have a good experience go to Hotel Punta Leona.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara Jimenez, Marketing at Punta Leona Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your kind words, gabrielaV6546HN We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us!! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Regards B. Administración Punta Leona
Read more
Cherie A wrote a review 17 Jan
New York City, New York1 contribution
My fiance and I stayed at this resort for 1 week. We optioned for all inclusive which was the best deal. We had great service especially from the bar staff Reiner ArGuedas the manager, and the staff Victor and Ruth. They were all friendly and made us feel very comfortable. The entertainment was fun as we celebrated New Years there 2022. The resort makes you feel like your in the middle of a rainforest. There are so many animals you can see while your there. There's also an amazing butterfly garden. Family oriented resort the only thing is the room was very small. The rooms need to have more privacy on the deck. Otherwise a great trip!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara Jimenez, Marketing at Punta Leona Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hi 936cheriea We’re so delighted to hear that you chose to celebrate New Years with us! It’s an honor to serve you and to be a part of this day. Thank you for your great review, we work hard to offer high-quality service to every guest. We made sure to share this feedback with our team! We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Punta Leona soon ! Redgars B Administracion
Read more
Molly wrote a review Dec 2021
Kalamazoo, Michigan49 contributions53 helpful votes
I visited with a tour group. Did not expect a huge resort after staying at small, independent family style lodges. Cabins are crowded together with no views (except the neighboring room), can't see the forest, crowds of people, unhelpful staff. So much security! Butterfly house has limited hours and few butterflies; saw more walking the sidewalk. No trails to walk only the main road. Well you can drive to the forest preserve trailhead but can't park there. Rooms airconditioned with louvered windows that don't close; so much for conservation. Food was fine, problem getting coffee. Only positive item: scarlet macaws live in the trees and are very visible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are no good rooms here
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara Jimenez, Marketing at Punta Leona Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hi Mollysydney51 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize that our location wasn’t entirely convenient for you. We hold our team to the highest standards and regret that we didn’t meet those expectations We value our guests feedback and work hard to ensure that similar issues do not occur in the future. We hope you visit us another time and give you a better impression. Thanks B Administracion
Read more
Elia y Manuel wrote a review Dec 2021
8 contributions
+1
My husband and I stayed at Punta Leona Hotel for one week. Nice hotel with good restaurants and very professional staff. The best place was the pool bar and his barman Reiner Arguedas who made the best gin and tonic I’ve ever had. He and his staff were very kind. Five stars for his drinks and service. You will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara Jimenez, Marketing at Punta Leona Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear eliarosagt Thank you for sharing a review of your recent experience. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice experience with us! Our team is committed to providing high-quality customer service, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made a good impression on you. We made sure to share this feedback!! We hope you’ll visit us again soon Regards B. Administracion
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel and club punta leona, punta leona costa rica, punta leona jaco, punta leona hotel costa rica
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Arenas En Punta Leona
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasGarabito MunicipalityTarcoles DistrictTarcoles
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Punta Leona Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Punta Leona Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jimmy T's Provisions (5.7 km), Carara National Park (5.0 km), and Neo Fauna CR (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Punta Leona Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Punta Leona Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Punta Leona Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Punta Leona Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Pelicano, Restaurante Los Toneles, and Amphitheater Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Punta Leona Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Punta Leona Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Punta Leona Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Punta Leona Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Punta Leona Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.