We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Raglan Sunset Motel

7 Bankart Street, Raglan 3225 New Zealand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 21/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


Travellers' Choice
Wake up to the smell of ocean air and espresso coffee. Welcome to Raglan's chic motel in the heart of the township, for explorers, experience hungry travellers and everyday adventurers. Put the car keys away, avoid the parking hassle and explore the Raglan Village with its character shops, craft brewery and cafes. The harbour is at the end of the street and the world-famous surf beaches are a short drive out of town. Check in with us and check out our town! Discover Raglan – live like a local.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Complimentary instant cofffee
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Sun umbrellas
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
256Reviews5Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 105
  • 43
  • 12
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Maya FATAH wrote a review 10 Jan
1 contribution
1.I was surprised that the room is without Air Condition!!! it's summer and the temperature was 30c.!!! 2. The shower area was dirty and I found a hair of previous guest on the wall of the shower which was indicated that they didn't even bother to clean it even with the water. 3. There was no body wash in the shower area nor on the bath!!! except two tiny round soap and even I found the previous guest left his previous tiny soap in the shower!!!! 4. The cover of the bed was disaster, saw yellow spots and the blanket is too old until when you remove it , you will see a powder coming out from it. 5. The toilet paper is same quality of the wrapping paper. 6. They charged too much for this room which you will expecting the cleanse of the bed and bathroom. The only positive point is the location. it's very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Sleep Quality
kay wrote a review 3 Jan
Whangarei, New Zealand68 contributions35 helpful votes
We stayed one night, perfect for what we wanted, very clean nice comfortable beds walking distance to all amenities. Nice friendly host. Nice to have the big shared courtyard for relaxing. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
BronandRoss wrote a review 1 Jan
Havelock North, New Zealand37 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed here for a few days including New Year’s Eve. Party in town and people everywhere was good. Until a party started at the motel in the room below us at 2.30am and rocked on until 6am. We had to get up at 7 and travel to Auckland the next morning with two hours sleep. Not happy. We tried to call the motel security and left a message as there was no direct access from the room. We went to the unit ourselves and asked them to turn the sounds down. I found the hosts of the motel were negligent to their guests because of a minority. I also called to book another night to extend our stay but no one managed to bother to call me back. She tried to book us when we checked out but too late we had found somewhere else way more suitable. Would seriously not consider staying there again. Very disappointing as it was close to town and we managed to pay a decent amount of money for the three nights e stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Nitha79_13 wrote a review Dec 2021
Queenstown, New Zealand39 contributions17 helpful votes
We booked to stay at this motel for 2 nights We arrived n the room was very dusty n the carpets were not very clean had bits and pieces of dirt .The cough had all chocolate stains.I cleaned them all with my own cleaning spray n cloth.Went to sleep on the bed and the bed was moving around was shock to find cockcoraches and 2 big spiders.Decided to move the bed n found so much food under the bed.This is a nightmare.Called the owner and she came to rescue.She was a lovely lady and she gave us the next room to use which we did not want to use as we didn't want to trouble them.We decided to stay for just one night and the owner kindly refunded the second night.The owner is a lovely lady .The place was not good due to the humidity but the rooms are expected to be clean n tidy as we customers pay to stay..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Julie Cathie wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I had a wonderful stay at Raglan Sunset Motel. Lovely unit, spotlessly clean and a great atmosphere, close to shops and beach. Felt safe as I'd travelled alone. I will definitely rebook in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from Hotel Team, Marketing at Raglan Sunset Motel
Responded 28 Nov 2021
We are delighted you felt so at home to enjoy the best of Raglan on our doorstep. Thank you for your kind words! We would love to see you again soon, until then, we wish you safe travels.
Read more
US$87 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionRaglan
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Raglan Sunset Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Raglan Sunset Motel?
Nearby attractions include Raglan & District Museum (0.2 km), Meet The Makers Tours (0.2 km), and Jet Collective (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Raglan Sunset Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Raglan Sunset Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Raglan Sunset Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Raglan Sunset Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Raglan Sunset Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Shack, Orca Restaurant & Bar, and Iso Café Bistro.
Is Raglan Sunset Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Raglan.
Are any cleaning services offered at Raglan Sunset Motel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Raglan Sunset Motel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Raglan Sunset Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Raglan Old School Arts Centre (0.2 km).
Is Raglan Sunset Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.