We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chartridge Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Chartridge Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chartridge Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

11 of us booked for Sunday dinner for 8th May. Food was excellent, most of us enjoying the carvery with two having the fish and chips with one being a vegan, they had their own 'special' dinner. Service was great, very attentive staff, Overall a great time and at a reasonable cost, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Graham R Wonderful to receive your review regarding our Sunday carvery. Sorry it has taken me longer than usual to respond. The Chartridge Lodge carvery is very popular, largely down to its fine selection of food and its great price. There is not another cavery locally that can compete. Hope you'll do us the pleasure of returning soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

nice room very reasonable rate quite a small menu but the food was lovely the grounds great would have liked a longer stay, staff extremely helpful when l needed assistance, the owner decided to keep it as a hotel/ conference/wedding venue instead of a conversion as someone wanted , would willingly stay there again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 18brenda
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 18brenda Many thanks for your Tripadvisor review, so sorry it has taken me a while to respond. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The team work tirelessly to ensure all our guests have a good time. Hope to see you back with us soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Stayed at Chartridge for an unplanned one-night stopover. Rambling hotel/conference centre with old and newer wings. Welcoming and professional staff at reception. Room was in a old part of the house but had recently been refurbished. It was clean, comfortable and bright with powerful central heating! However, shower took 5-7 mins to heat up. Shower rose was leaking badly at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wendy R Many thanks for your response and apologises for my delay in responding. Delighted to hear you were pleased with your room and thank you for your comments regarding the shower. I can tell you that the plumbing problems are being reified so there should not be a delay in getting hot water. I have also made a...

london
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Great venue for a wedding, grounds were beautiful, food lovely and plenty of room for guests to spread out. The bedrooms were disappointing, the shower had no power and it took forever to get wet! Heating was hard to turn off. Check in wasn't until 2pm but check out was 10am!!! After a wedding and when they weren't expecting people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blondie048
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear blondie048 Many thanks for your Tripadvisor review and I am sorry it has taken me a while to respond. Pleased to hear you enjoyed the wedding, grounds and food. I appreciate some of our bedrooms need a bit of TLC though. In the main, the hot water problems you encountered have now been rectified. Check out on a weekend...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

A lovely hotel to stay in. We were well looked after all weekend. Inclusive breakfast very nice. Word of advice, book a room on the new extension, access easier. No disabled access though and was difficult for two of our family who were disabled. Bar meals though took far too long to arrive and very basic unless you ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mel S Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry for my late response. I was sorry to hear about the poor bar service you received and will ensure this is communicated to all concerned and steps are taken to improve our offering. Please to hear that apart from the bar incident your stay...

Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

My brother held his wedding here on 9th April Me and my girlfriend arrived about 3pm the day before and as we walked in everyone was very helpfully and welcoming! One barman was especially helpful and event went out of his way to find me 35 envelopes 😀 Very nice rooms and the breakfast buffet is superb! I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gforceuk69
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gforceuk69 Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry it has taken me a while to respond. Chartridge Lodge massively values their wedding guest's and work hard to ensure everyone has a brilliant time and for some, on the most important day of their lives. Please do feel free to recommend us to all...

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We stayed at the hidden gem recently when sadly we had travelled to attend a funeral and it was Mother's Day! The staff could not have been more helpful, extending our departure time at no additional cost. The room was modern and airy and the bed very comfortable. In fact on the Sunday they even accommodated us with afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jenny C It is always a pleasure to receive such a great Tripadvisor review - thank you. Please accept my apologises in my delay in responding. Mother's Day is a very busy day for us and I was delighted to see that we were able to accommodate you and your family so well, despite the sad surroundings of your...

London
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for work and am assuming it was very economical. My room was a single room, with sink in bed area rather than bathroom. Appliances ( kettle, hairdryer ) were on the floor next to the bed giving the place a student , youth hostel feel. Shower cubicle seemed to date back to 80 s and was stained...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ViBoLondon
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ViBoLondon Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry for my delayed response. Your comments regarding this room are fair. It is a small room in the original part of the Lodge and needs updating. I would like to assure you though that the vast majority of bedrooms in Chartridge Lodge are not...

Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

We upgraded to superior double , but there was nothing superior about it , it didn't look anything like the pictures on website , with double bay windows , shower didn't work properly and we have no water at all in the morning ! Receptionist nice , place a bit run down.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Xxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxx
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Sorry to read that you were unhappy with the standard of your bedroom. We do believe that our pricing policy reflects the fact that some of the areas in the venue do need some attention. As an old building many of our rooms are different and we do have rooms, as documented on our website, with large bay...

Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

I have recently stayed twice here and on each occasion have been given a superior room with wifi. These rooms are much more spacious, pleasant to relax and work in. Better than this I didn't have to pay anymore. if you can try and get one of these as the older rooms can be soulless and don't have wifi. Looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMacartney
Justine I, Director of Sales at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MichaelMacartney Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our policy is to try and upgrade as many people as possible free of charge and I am delighted to hear that you benefitted from this. We look forward welcoming you back very soon.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
9.2 km away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
657 reviews
7.7 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
671 reviews
7.7 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
7.7 km away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Pendley Manor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tring
994 reviews
6.7 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Chartridge Lodge

Address: Chartridge Lane, Chesham HP5 2TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Price Range: $87 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chartridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chartridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartridge Conference Centre Hotel Chesham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chartridge Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chartridge Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 90 was great”
 of 5 bubbles SuffolkMumsie, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the annexed are very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles GDM128, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dont stay?”
 of 5 bubbles dalyan0909, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't think you can get wi-fi in all rooms, just the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles Holidays4us_73, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Rich190_10, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay