We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Farmhouse Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Farmhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Farmhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We felt totally rip-offed with the room allocated to us at this hotel over the weekend of 21/22 January 2017. Our room overlooked a parking lot at the back of the hotel, was under the eaves, with no aircon and it smelled extremely bad : very musty like the carpets had been wet and not dried properly or that wetsuits...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lynnekimble
Management response:

Dear Lynne Kimble, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We rely so much on guest feedback as this helps us to determine if we are on the right track. I am saddened to hear that you had a bad experience at our Hotel. You stayed in room 15 which is...

Reviewed 7 January 2017

The stay is quite nice... very quiet even during peak seasons. Only damper is the service On our last day the toilet got blocked and there were two men in and out of the room for 2 hours attempting to fix it. We enquired of we could check out an hour later due to the delay however they were addiment...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Olivia P
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

If you want to be woken up by the staff at 06h00 in the morning then this is the place for you. The staff turn on their music at disco levels when they arrive. Have spoken to managers but to no avail! The accommodation is old, the beds need replacing, the linen is shocking, the showers are blocked and the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Lindsey A
Management response:

Dear Lindsey, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We rely so much on guest feedback as this helps us to determine if we are on the right track. I am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I recall you did ask for the restaurant...

Brasov, Romania
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Nice and quite location Romatic atmosphere Professional and friendly staff Big room with a fireplace inside, but ask at the reception before starting the fire!!! I made a lot of smoke in the room and definitely was my fault. Even they changed the towels everyday there are a little bit old Breakfast ok Is a little bit expensive

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bogdan A
Management response:

Dear Bogdan A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We rely so much on guest feedback as this helps us to determine if we are on the right track. Be assured that your comments and suggestions are noted. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind...

London
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Stayed here as part of a group tour. Standard of my bedroom was not great. As a solo traveller I would have appreciated a television that worked so that I could keep up to date with the news, been able to occupy my time better. TV in my room didn't work. They couldn't get it fixed. They did later that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miranda C
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Sadly this beautiful place lacks decent mangers and the owners seem to have lost the plot. Putting guests in a room that smells above there kitchen and making excuses about its condition. The rooms are neat and clean but sadly only some have air cons and the rest are stuck with a fan that does not really do much.If you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeremy K
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

We have visited the Farmhouse regularly over the past six years, always enjoying the view and especially the apple tart. It was a shame therefore, to be met, this year by extremely rude staff and being turned away, even though 80% of the tables were open. Will no longer be recommending this as a destination to friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 897janniem
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I visited the Farmhouse some years ago and was so impressed - couldn't wait to return this weekend. Such a disappointment ! Our room - a garden suite - had a bathroom so tiny and right next to the bed - with no door between them. (Yet the lounge was enormous.) The bedroom was stuffy - no windows to open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn A
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 20 November 2016

The Farmhouse Hotel was such a pleasant surprise - the views from the breakfast patio, from the room, and from the pool are beautiful, especially at sunset. The hotel is decorated with old artifacts, photos, etc as decoration in each of the rooms. Everything we ate at the restaurant (especially breakfast!) and the little bakery was very, very good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kait_2014
Montagu, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The Hotel is a beautiful very old building in a very scenic location but does need some some serious maintenance. The rooms are very spacious and comfortably furnished with excellent TV coverage. Unfortunately the restaurant (Panorama) food is simply atrocious and inedible. The Chefs are destroying good ingredients and despite my frequent feedback on the quality of their food over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjhopper

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langebaan
6.3 km away
Club Mykonos
Club Mykonos
#2 of 6 in Langebaan
360 reviews
13.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Saldanha Bay
6.4 km away
Athenian Cascades
Athenian Cascades
#5 of 6 in Langebaan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
#2 of 2 in Saldanha
78 reviews
1.5 km away
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
Windtown Lagoon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Langebaan
173 reviews
5.8 km away
Crystal Lagoon Lodge
Crystal Lagoon Lodge
#3 of 10 in Langebaan
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Farmhouse Restaurant
Farmhouse Restaurant
Cuisines: International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the tranquil Langebaan lagoon, The Farmhouse Hotel is an experience to be savoured. Celebrated for our pleasant staff, in-house museum and West Coast warmth, The Farmhouse Hotel offers guests an authentic coastal farmstead experience. Alluring to nature lovers, Langebaan offers vivid shows of spring flowers, birdlife and an untamed coastline. Explore the lagoon, break a sweat in our Technogym, browse through our antique collection or simply relax and enjoy the sunset. The Panorama Restaurant at The Farmhouse Hotel serves traditional Cape cuisine with a variety of seafood complemented by a carefully selected wine list. Breads, cakes and pastries are freshly baked daily and are best enjoyed with a cup of coffee on the restaurants veranda overlooking the lagoon. The Farmhouse Hotel is an unpretentious and welcoming escape for travellers and families who appreciate the warmth of farm style hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Farmhouse Hotel

Address: 5 Egret Street, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Langebaan
Price Range: $95 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Farmhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Farmhouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1, Classic room. More private than other rooms as no thoroughfair”
 of 5 bubbles CapeLivin, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get them to put in writing where your room is before you pay.”
 of 5 bubbles Jnine7-7-7, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the loft area”
 of 5 bubbles Poserpike2015, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was in a garden room, I would recommend trying instead to have a room in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles MirandaC524, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“One with lagoon views”
 of 5 bubbles pjhopper, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5