We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Park Hotel Ruapehu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at this cute little hotel. Friendly service, great food, clean basic room, awesome relaxing hot tub perfect for after finishing the Tongariro Crossing. Oh and the packed lunch was nice too. Sadly the visibility up in the mountains wasn't great so didn't see much. Read some bad reviews about this place and I really don't understand why!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurel466
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review:) We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time despite not having the greatest visibility on the Crossing. Thanks again, we hope to see you back again in the future.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Had an excellent stay at the park hotel .staff was very helpful.rooms were good,child friendly environment .enjoyed the spa pools which were nice and clean.meals were good at restaurant had breakfast there.comminity kitchen was very helpful for making our own meals.thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rupan2016
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:) We hope to see you back again soon!

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

A much better solution is to stay in Taupo and get a bus in from there. The Park Hotel was really basic, paper thin walls, poor quality food, poor wifi, and not particularly cheap. Just what you don't need before an eight hour walk the next day! I don't like giving poor reviews but really can't recommend this so called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory883
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay while completing the Tongaririo Crossing. We will address you concerns, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. National Park Village is much closer to the Tongariro Crossing start and end point than Taupo, as such it is a great option as a base for those...

Reviewed 5 February 2016

Had an excellent stay at the Park Hotel! We found the staff to be incredibly informative and helpful during the booking process and throughout our two night stay. The Crossing package included accommodation, bus transfers, breakfasts and a packed lunch and we completed the Tongiriro Crossing on a brilliant day. We opted for an upstairs loft room which was comfortably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your review, it is great to heat that you enjoyed your stay with us:) We hope to see you back again in the future!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We had a good stay and time at The Park Hotel. The 4 single bed room cost was $180 per night and did not include bathroom towels or tea/coffee and kettle. The room was very basic and had faulty lights and window blinds. The shared kitchen was good. We loved the 2 hot tubs outside and the staff were friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KentLeKiwi
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:)

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

On the plus side. Room, linen, bathroom very clean. Staff very friendly and super helpful. We had a family loft room so before I go on I can't speak for the condition of the other rooms on offer. However the other reviews tend to mirror our experience. The room badly needed some time and money spent on it. Very budget....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate your feedback. The issues you have raised will be attended to. Thank you again for your time.

Heemskerk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We arrived in the afternoon to a sunny national park, with just a few clouds. After a quick walk to the volcano (which we didn't see at that time becuse of the clouds) we headed baack to have dinner. The dinner in the hotel was good, so was the staff. The evening after (our last night), one of the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Namnut
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff were able to make your stay that much more enjoyable, despite the cloudy weather. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future:)

Jindabyne, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms at this hotel mainly for the 2 night Tongariro Crossing package. Unfortunately the weather wasn't looking promising due to high winds but the staff kept us informed. Walk was cancelled at 7:00am that morning, but at least they tried rather than just cancelling out right on the forecast. Staff made good suggestions for alternative day walks,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FamilyTraveller2627
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the poor weather got in the way of your plans to complete the Crossing, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you decide to give it another go:) Thank you for understanding that sometimes we have to cancel transport due to the poor...

kent
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This is in a great location but some of the rooms are awful. Ours hardly had any natural light and was very shabby. The bathroom was minute although the shower ok. The fridge in room is big but makes a bad noise on and off all night. There should be great views but Windows face inwards so no views

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neighboursKent
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we will pass your comments onto management.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We stayed at the park hotel for Tongarrio alpine crossing on 2nd jan till 4th jan. Due to the unforseen weather condition, we couldn't do crossing which is understandable. But we didn't rcvd any alert about the weather condition from the hotel staff till we rung them up. When we checked in on 2nd Jan, The receptionist girl said no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thetalina
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thet, Thank you for passing on your comments, I hope you received the email that was sent in regards to this issues as well. I will have to look into this with the staff who were on at the time to see what has happened. This is not normal procedure for guests to be told crossing is cancelled...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.3 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,310 reviews
12.4 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
387 reviews
25.5 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
429 reviews
0.2 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
205 reviews
0.5 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Affordable accommodation in a stunning alpine setting with easy access to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Mt Ruapehu and Whakapapa Ski Area. Spacious hotel style rooms, self catered family rooms and premium dorm style bunk rooms. On-site restaurant & bar open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We also have a large self catering kitchen, guest lounge with Sky TV & wireless internet, laundry and free parking. Complimentary outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: $99 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Park Hotel Ruapehu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Park Hotel Ruapehu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room downstairs and close to the spa pool and kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles Aklu, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We only dined there but an east-facing room would be best for a view of the mtn.”
 of 5 bubbles Martin_qld, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter room would be the upstairs loft rooms.”
  • Bathroom room 2
  • Bathroom room 2
  • Room 2 refurbished downstairs.
 of 5 bubbles darrenmasters2016, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go for the king, ADA accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles Larkeyskip, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 2 - it is furthest from the carpark and you have to either go the long way or drag your luggage thru the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles romolod499, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay