We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Villa Tarentaal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Villa Tarentaal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Villa Tarentaal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016

How can we describe our excellent experience in words? We are a couple with a one year old child and we stayed for two nights in the "Egyptian Goose Cottage" – the place is decorated in a warm pleasant and inviting way. It is very clean, neat and tidy (the room was cleaned daily and it was a pleasure to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shirith2016
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good morning Shirit H Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. As you experienced yourself, breakfast is an event here, we are glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for noticing all the other things that make Villa Tarentaal such a great place to stay. We look forward to that return visit. Graham

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We chose to stay at Villa Tarentaal for a weekend after reading all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and looking at their website. I booked directly with the owners and Graham was most efficient in replying to emails etc. I found the website to be very impressive and although it looked to me almost like a five star venue online,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skyfall_Ryan
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Original response to review rejected by trip advisor for unknown reasons.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Staff was most welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast & the rooms was excellent. The Rooms was very spacious and most comfortable and had all the necessities. Area is quiet surrounded by lovely scenery of mountains.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roslyn N
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Roslyn N Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed the sumptuous breakfasts, and that you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped. Look forward to seeing you next time. Graham

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

My husband, our 3-year old son & myself stayed in the Fish Eagle cottage for 4 days. We were so lucky with the beautiful weather & got to enjoy scenic Tulbagh to the fullest, but were just as grateful for the fireplace on our last night, when it was cold & misty outside, yet cozy & romantic inside. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Marilyn B Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Berenice and Theresa must get full credit for taking such good care of you in my absence. The fire places in each cottage are wonderful for creating heat, as well as that cozy atmosphere. Thank you for noticing the attention to detail. Look forward to...

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Nicely tucked away with beautiful views . Excellent service. So ever helpful. Gorgeous and comfortable stay . Lovely nights spent by the fireplace in a beautiful suite . everything was perfect from the time we arrived to the time we left. Thank you everyone at Villa Tarentaal for your awesome hospitality 😄

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine M
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Justine M Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are lucky to have been able to assemble such a great team, able to work together to make sure our guests get great service and the very best stay possible. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Graham

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My sister, niece and I spent 4 days at Blue Crane Cottage, Villa Tarentaal. From the welcome by Brandi and her 2 dogs, we felt immediately at home. The cottage is so tastefully furnished, and we all felt delightfully spoilt and pampered. We had 4 choices for breakfast, which is served in the cottage. All I can say about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatherineAnna
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening KatherineAnna Thank you for taking the time to review Villa Tarentaal. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, our tastefully furnished cottages, and those awesome breakfasts. We look forward to seeing you in the future! Graham

Matjiesfontein
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Tarentaal on a cold winter day. With the wonderful fireplace and friendly staff it was no problem. Beautifully finished accommodation and breakfast served on the verandah....pure bliss. I forgot my coat in their cupboard the next day and the owner went out of his way to deliver it to me the next week. We will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L4683MVsandrap
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening L4683MVsandrap Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to that return visit! Graham

Langebaan
Reviewed 3 June 2016

I spend one night at Villa Tarentaal .The only complaint I have is that the 2nd bedroom does not have a dressing table or mirror. Otherwise very comfortable and a fabulous breakfast is served on you own patio by a couple of smiling and very attentive ladies. The position of this establishment is very peaceful and a longer stay would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sportsbunny
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Sportsbunny Thank you for taking the time to review Villa Tarentaal. Sorry about no dressing table the room you were in is usually used by children as it is the second bedroom in the family cottage. There is a full size mirror on the inside of the closet door. Breakfast here is always an event, and we are...

Cape Town
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Two couples stayed in two separate cottages (Fish Eagle and Blue Crane), which were very comfortable and tastefully furnished with all mod cons. We were warmly welcomed by Graham Hunter and later met his wife Brandi.Graham took our orders for breakfast; a choice of four different breakfasts. If the weather had been kinder, we would have been served breakfast on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening Veronica W Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Breakfast here has become an event, we are glad you enjoyed it even though you were inside due to the weather. Looking forward to your next stay and lets hold thumbs for some good weather. Graham

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Being very tall it was therefore fantastic to find country accommodation with a king bed and very spacious rooms and shower room and very tasteful decor. Extremely welcoming owners and staff very concerned about their clients well being. The breakfast outside with stunning morning views of the mountains was excellent. Highly recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidBo48
Graham H, Owner at Villa Tarentaal, responded to this review

Good evening DavidB048 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a good experience, and that you are confident in recommending us to others. Look forward to your next visit. Graham

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.6 km away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
297 reviews
1.0 km away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
3.8 km away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
610 reviews
1.9 km away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
54 reviews
1.5 km away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers boutique style accommodation, every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, breakfast served to you at your cottage each morning, and extreme hospitality. Our three private cottages offer space to relax. All cottages are equipped with kitchenettes, living areas, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions and aircon. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest and the most unique bed and breakfast in Tulbagh! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Price Range: $146 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Villa Tarentaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Villa Tarentaal staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Villa Tarentaal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for rooms that have full mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles ght1948, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fish Eagle cottage was in a separate building attached to another cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles Skyfall_Ryan, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Fish eagle room very luxurious”
 of 5 bubbles roslynn563, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good, be it for one person or a family. Quiet and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles KatherineAnna, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All cottages are private and each has its own garden.”
 of 5 bubbles veronicaw803, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5