We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rijks Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rijks Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Start your review of Rijks Country House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

rooms were very comfortable and had a good air conditioner bathroom were big with underfloor heating and big showers view from the patio was excellent the staff friendly and breakfast was good .. have your meals outside what a good setting at night or morning the dinner was also good think a bit pricey for one night stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razz2924
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Razz2924 Thank you for your review. It was lovely to have had you stay with us.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Were privileged enough to stay at Rjiks Country House years ago when I worked as a travel radio show host. This time I did not stay but joined for dinner. Was part of a cycle tour group and our last night of the tour was going to be celebrated on the veranda of Rijks. Unfortunately extreme heat on the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moniquestrydom
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear moniquestrydon Thank you for sharing your experience of Governor's Restaurant. We were worried that you would not have made it. It is wonderful to hear that your group enjoyed so many of our dishes. You definately need to return for the burger. It is absolutely delicious! We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your cycle tour!

Sedgefield, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Information office had recommended Rijks so as we were passing by we stopped for lunch. This we had on the patio which was bit hot as the covering vines had not had grown very well this year due to the water shortage in the Cape. Service was excellent and we had a Rijks oaked chardonnay which was excellent. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FRED B
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear FRED B Thank you for the lovely review of our restaurant. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Silkeborg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our second stay in this beautiful little hotel. It is located in an area with fine looks at the mountains. The rooms are really large (42 m2) with a separate toilet and a large bathroom with 2 wash basins, 2 showers and a bath tub. There is a very nice, large swimming pool with lovely sun beds. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SOSSilkeborg
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear SOSSilkenborg Thank you for your lovely review of Rijk's Country House. It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us as well as the wine farms in the area.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location in an amazing scenery. Very friendly staff and management. Superb breakfast. Stayed in family cottage 13. Road to cottage should be fixed. Spatious cottage, well equipped but lack of style and disfigured by cheap furniture and low quality laminate floor. Bad wifi quality in cottage. Dinner below expected level. This place has potential but needs a makeover!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jannim1966
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Jannim1966 Thank you for your review.I have good news for you! We are in the process of refurbishment. As you noticed infront of the cottage is the new pathways that we are busy with. The rooms are also getting a facelift so please come back in a few months and try out the upgraded Rijk's.

Durbanville Hills, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please do yourself a favor and compare prices before checking into this 'luxurious' country hotel. The only thing luxurious about my recent stay was the price i had to pay when i stayed there on Saturday, 12 March 2017. Instead of a peaceful country experience, unbearable loud music started 'pumping' from the neighboring Manley Wine Lodge at about 8h30pm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Chris V As explained in my email correspondence to you, Rijk's Country House cannot be held accountable for what happens on the neighbouring farm. They are fully within their legal right to host functions until midnight before turning the music either down or off. In this particular case they turned their music off at midnight, I know this as...

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful vistas, excellent accomodation with very comfortable bed, lovely spacious bathroom (with separate toilet ). Very friendly staff and very good breakfast .sitting on the terrace...so nice to have a platter delivered to your table with muesli , yoghurt , cheeses, meats and fresh fruit kebabs etc rather than getting up and down to a buffet table. Only thing we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennyapples
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Jennyapples Thank you for sharing your experience of Rijk's Country House with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the breakfast was the best you experienced in South Africa. I am saddened however that dinner was dissapointing. Our menu is seasonal in order to ensure that the ingredients used are at their peak. We have...

Ireland
Reviewed 19 February 2017

This was our second visit to Rijks and we will visit on our next trip too. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are big and a renovation of the guest rooms started on the day we left. I hope they don't make too many changes, as we loved the rooms exactly as they were. Big, cool with a fabulous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl7
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear holidaygirl7 It is always lovely to have people return to Rijk's. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here a second time. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Rijk's Country House Hotel for 3 nights. Comfy, well-appointed rooms and friendly, helpful staff, especially Zondre, who couldn't do enough for us, including setting up a lovely picnic in the garden and driving us to town for dinner. Very good breakfast and an all together enjoyable stay, despite the brown water in the rooms due to "tannins" in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewDAM
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear AndrewDAM Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Rijk's Country House. It is always wonderful to hear, when a member of staff goes the extra mile for a guest - well done Zondre! We are looking forward to welcomming you back - hopefully soon.

Angmering
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We went for a light lunch and to taste some wine. The open sandwich and Blt caught our eye and we ordered. The maitre de had said due to a group of 14 food was a little slow but he would organise matters for us which he duly did. We wine tasted at the table by ordering different glasses of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
Trevvl, General Manager at Rijks Country House, responded to this review

Dear Steven M Thank you for your lovely review of Rijk's Country House. I am so pleased that we could exceed your expectations and enhance them even more with the wines produced on the estate.

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
1.8 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
609 reviews
2.4 km away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
54 reviews
1.5 km away
Saronsberg Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
3.7 km away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
0.2 km away
Manley Wine Lodge
Manley Wine Lodge
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the beautiful Tulbagh valley, this exquisite four star country house offers travellers and day visitors an exceptional experience in both service and facilities with remarkable attention to detail and a graceful elegance. Rijk's Country House is situated on the eminent Rijk’s Wine farm, home to Rijk’s Private Cellar, five minutes from the centre of Tulbagh. High trees and an abundance of Iceberg roses welcome you onto the Estate from where you can see hills of vineyards set against the Obiqua and Winterhoek Mountains. Restored Cape Dutch style buildings are the frame-work within which you will experience classic furnishings and a warm and relaxed ambiance. Should you wish to sample or purchase wines from the Estate, enjoy the Polo wine bar and tasting room where visitors can sit around a large restored wooden table, or outside on the terrace with its incredible views of the valley. Otherwise, relax in the charming lounge where you will find a library of reading materials and a cosy fireplace. International and traditional cuisine coupled with impeccable service can be enjoyed in the hotel’s intimate restaurant, Que Sera, or at a high table in the private dining area, Mon Ami. Alternatively, the outside Iceberg terrace is the perfect place to relax whilst having a decadently large cup of coffee, a glass of wine or dining al-fresco overlooking the dam or under the stars. Luxury and Superior rooms and Family Cottages - evident of innovative design and stylish fittings – have their own private terrace overlooking a river - along which you will find a swimming pool, braai and lapa area, the French game of boules and hundreds of beautiful roses. In the evenings you can sit on your terrace and watch the sun set behind the surrounding mountains, leaving the vineyards and trees silhouetted by a brilliant pink and orange sky. Picnic on the banks of the river or enjoy a romantic walk through the vineyards and rose gardens. Explore the town with its quaint shops and restaurants, travel the surrounding wine routes, or – for the more adventurous – go hiking or horse-riding through the vineyards and up the mountains. An all-encompassing luxurious experience with a beautiful view out of every window, Rijk’s Country House is sure to leave you feeling rejuvenated, relaxed and like you have discovered a little piece of paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rijks Country House

Address: Van der Stel Street Ext. | Winterhoek Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Price Range: $157 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rijks Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rijks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rijks Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the terraces have great views”
 of 5 bubbles PJLP, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay at the hotel, we were here to sample the wine.”
 of 5 bubbles wegetaround_42, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have lovely views.”
 of 5 bubbles AnophelesLondon, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All good. Leave time for the in-house tasting especially the Pinotage.”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Superior Rooms are perfect for any couple!”
 of 5 bubbles Stephan909, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5