We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hardwick Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hardwick Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

817 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hardwick Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 814: English reviews
bishop auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G R
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

leeds
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight and it was a really classy but relaxed hotel. Ate at the Grill and had a wonderful steak (no need for the steak knife!) in a really nice reataurant. Lovely setting next to a lake. Will come again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan T
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and recommendation. Hopefully we will see you again when the racing season starts again.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Afternoon tea for approximately 25 guests. I am sorry to say that this was not value for money. At almost £18 pp I would have expected something a bit more special.Scones were stale, cream was sour and the sandwich selection not very appealing.In the recent past I have had much nicer elsewhere and more reasonably priced. However the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 643ds
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit. I have corresponded with the organiser of the event and apologised personally.

Co Durham
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Went on a Saturday for lunch for 7 adults. Impressive building and setting and lovely grounds. Had a couple of drinks before lunch and service was very good, friendly and professional. Very good menu ranging from snacks and sandwiches to full 3 course meals plus a specials board. I had the pate to start which was very good but could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeyCoDurham
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a great review. I apologise for the error with the garlic however i was delighted to read that other than that you all thoroughly enjoyed your lunch. Hope to see you again soon.

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Having stayed at Hardwick Hall a few years ago. I was pleasantly surprised at how much the hotel has improved. I was allocated room 207 which had recently been refurbished, the room had the biggest and most comfortable bed of any hotel I have stayed in. The bathroom is large with a bath and shower. The view over the gardens,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review of the hotel. We all greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Not quite "what it says on the tin". I was extremely disappointed with the afternoon tea experience recently. A three-tier tray is intended to serve two people, however I did not consider the contents to be anywhere near worthy of the £17.95 pp price tag. The pictures on the website are quite misleading as the crockery is basic white with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jude19712013
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were less than satisfied with your recent visit, particularly the clotted cream that was served. If i may explain, the event that you attended was a private booking which was served in one of our function rooms. Afternoon Tea, as shown and described on our website, is served in a dedicated room and is indeed...

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband visited this hotel last week. We had a cream tea gift from freinds at Christmas. From booking to leaving I could not fault this hotel. I do not like mayonnaise and requested none in my sandwiches which was no trouble at short notice for the staff. The sandwiches and gorgeous scones and cakes were delicious!. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jntt59
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and i look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Good location close to A1(M), set in rural countryside with lake and walks in the grounds. Had evening set meal as part of a larger group and food was reasonable for hotel standard. On arrival staff were all friendly. I got lucky and got a suite which was clean, some of my colleagues rooms however were a little tired but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SJLees
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

stayed here as attending party at racecourse ( which is within walking distance ) lovely hotel in amazing surroundings, Easy check in and very friendly and helpful staff. Must in particular mention restaurant staff ate here two nights and food was well above average ( highly recommend venison ) at a good price, The staff were again very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcguire864
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent weekend visit at the very comfortable Hardwick Hall Hotel. The food in the bar area was very good as was breakfast the following day. The staff were extremely friendly, thoughtful and professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wallteam

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
15.5 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.4 km away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
461 reviews
8.3 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
12.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,031 reviews
9.9 km away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the beautiful County Durham countryside, just off the A1(M), and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park, Hardwick Hall Hotel is 4 Star AA rated and Winner of a Trip Advisor Excellence Award 2013, 2014 & 2015. Our luxury Sedgefield hotel offers Deluxe and Premier bedrooms with exceptional standards of comfort, quirky-clever decor, and first class traditional attentive service. With boutique style, lavish and individually designed spacious rooms, all with large baths, walk in showers, luxury furnishings and huge ultra comfortable beds you'll never want to get out of. At Hardwick Hall Hotel weddings are our speciality. From tasteful and traditional to unique and original, gorgeous reception rooms, quirky hotel interiors, beautiful boutique style bedrooms and unique surroundings, our country house hotel in Sedgefield County Durham is the perfect setting for all your family celebrations. Whether your visit to the North East is for business or pleasure; traditional attentive service, beautiful decor and good living will always be part of Hardwick Hall Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hardwick Hall Hotel

Address: Sedgefield, Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Sedgefield
Price Range: $134 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hardwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hardwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hardwick Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hardwick Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premier room was in our opinion worth the extra csot”
sheepy8412, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wait until the rooms have been refurbished then book a top floor lakeside room.”
maureenw590, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Couldn't fault our premier room.”
JohnB076, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room overlooking the lake, it is well worth the extra, just for the view.”
47ronb, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“302 was great as a family room with two sinks,free standing bath and walk-in shower.”
thenobster58, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5