We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Save
Share
Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW England
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$58
View deal
Mercure
US$58
View deal
FindHotel
US$49
View deal
Expedia.comUS$58
TravelocityUS$58
Destinia.comUS$66
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (377)
360
Panoramas (1)
Room & Suite (120)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Elevator capacity limits enforced
Updated 28/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Updated 28/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel offers a tranquil location, set in 6 acres of private grounds on the outskirts of the historic walled city and the banks of the River Ouse. Here you'll find Georgian elegance combined with contemporary style, bursting with history. The Hotel has an on site restaurant, Bar and 6 meeting rooms. Ideal for weddings, conferences and events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1605Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 512
  • 569
  • 295
  • 149
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
john d wrote a review 19 Sep
1 contribution
Recently returned from a family wedding, venue itself was lovely and staff were very helpful and attentive but the hotel itself is in need of a makeover, carpets have tape holding them together in the main reception and we had 2 rooms and both were extremely poor for the cost Both bathrooms were dirty and stained with cold showers in the morning We would expect a hot shower for £180 !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hello, We understand your frustrations and we are embarking on a refreshment program to fix all the points you have raised. If you are staying in the area again please contact me directly on jeff.cave@mercureyork.co.uk so I can offer you a preferential rate. Kind regards Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ömer y wrote a review 19 Sep
London, United Kingdom46 contributions48 helpful votes
We stayed here overnight during our visit to York. We chose this hotel since I have Accor All status and the hotel is included in the program. The moment we parked our car, we were thinking we made a good decision with our choice due to the nature around the hotel. We were in a good mood. We would have stayed that way without the grumpy receptionist efforts to check us in. We arrived to the hotel around 3 p.m. which is the official check-in time. The receptionist said that our room was not ready yet. She told that the room should be happy in 30 minutes or so and she offered us some welcome drinks (I believe not linked to my Accor status but only the latency in getting into the room). We were fine with that and started waiting with our drinks. I ended up asking again and again whether the room is ready first 30 minutes later, than 20 minutes later, than another 15 minutes later, then another 25 minutes later. Each time I visited the reception, instead of becoming more apologetic, the receptionist was getting more and more annoyed and started blaming the housekeeping and all the other factors including the Queen's funeral saying that there is nothing she can do and she cannot give a time estimate anymore either. When I told her that she wasted 1.5 hours of our 3 day trip, she was like "well you arrived early". She was so rude that I ended up finding myself in an argument with her at the last communication. When I asked if this is their standard "priority" treatment for their Accor hotel status holders, she gave me the card of the hotel manager to write to her about my complaint. I wasn't even trying to argue with her but she invited me to the argument so successfully that I truly enjoyed our argument. Thanks for that and getting me from love to hate state in 1.5 hours. The behaviour of the receptionist was similarly unprofessional and rude to other customers -- I saw that she was saying has no idea what is available at the hotel when the other guests asked if there is a pool and it is in working order. She was complaining about the housekeeping team constantly to other guests. Anyway, the hotel room is from 1970s with no refurbishment made since then. There are dirty shower curtains but thankfully, the bedding was clean and comfortable. The room smelled some sort of Indian spice. Another huge issue we experienced is that we couldn't have breakfast here since the breakfast was only served from 8 a.m. We had to leave by 7:30 a.m. since our car rental return to London was due by then. Which hotel served breakfast at 8 a.m.? Even budget hotels have some options to serve to their guests early. Overall, it felt like a haunted hotel managed by 3 dead ghosts and they were terrible at their job. I would not recommend visiting this hotel to even my enemy. I really don't have high expectations from a hotel if I'm staying for 1 night apart from checking in. The rudeness levels were above the roof while the service standards were deep buried under ground.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. You feedback is taken onboard and shared with the team to avoid any future occurrence of the same. however, the receptionist in question is our most praised member of the team and she is loved by all our guest in reviews all across our social media. though she has been made aware of your dissatisfaction and to handle similar situation in future more soft, I understand the conversation at point taken as an argument because she was trying to assist but she could not get you checked in as priority and situation was getting heated which made her more defensive. I am deeply sorry for it. Unfortunately, our Housekeeping department was bit under pressure with sudden bank holiday and they struggled to cover with extra staff in preparation for long weekend for the Queens funeral, our occupancy increased dramatically and it took longer to get the rooms ready for all our guests. Please accept my sincere apology for this. Our weekend breakfast starts bit later than our weekdays to give our guest longer to relax, however, we did try to accommodate with a take away breakfast option which was declined, I am sorry this could be as per your expectations. We are currently in process of refreshing our rooms and unfortunately not all rooms are ready yet though your comments in regards to room cleanliness has been shared with Head Housekeeper who acknowledge it to be actioned on priority. Our hotel was unexpectedly full on that night and the staff on duty worked extremely hard to look after all the guests, in fact, every other guest that has left a review has been incredibly happy with the service. Please accept my sincerest apologies for all the issues you encountered. Please do not hesitate to contact me on jeff.cave@mercureyork.co.uk the next time you are in the area and I will sort out a nice room with a preferential rate. Kind regards Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mylifeinthesun wrote a review 15 Sep
Derbyshire37 contributions22 helpful votes
Great dog friendly room on ground floor. Very quiet hotel and easy to get to park & ride for York. Staff very helpful buffet breakfast with good serving times. Room clean and had everything we needed. We could also have our dog with us in the bar area when eating which was good. 10 mins to York if you want to drive in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure you join Accour to receive a discount & free drink. Dont forget your gym/swimsuit...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, It is great to hear about your stay. I hope we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tramstop1 wrote a review 15 Sep
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3 nights stay (7th-9th Sept) in a standard double room at rear of hotel. Quite dark and tired all round with a very small bathroom. Room not cleaned or serviced at all during stay. Informed by reception that guests must request room clean/bed make-up etc. Be nice to know beforehand. Lights in room full of cob-webs and quilt inside cover heavily stained. Lift not cleaned in the 3 days we were there. Breakfast excellent. Self service buffet including everything one could wish for. Sadly those choosing to cut their own bread from the fresh loaves were required to hold the loaf whilst cutting it. No tongs, paper or napkins provided to handle the bread. Those people opting to slice their own bread were eating loaves handled by other guests. Hardly the best choice! Be careful at the bar - Large whisky and coke £12.95!!! (Requested House whisky too)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Tramstop1, Thank you for your constructive criticism. We do have a refreshment program starting imminently to 'wake' the rooms up. You are right about the bread and I will pass it on to the Food and beverage team. Kind regards Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven W wrote a review 15 Sep
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked via Hotel, Mercure website and ended up paying double what our friends paid via Booking.Com. Mentioned this to Hotel manager via email and have not been compensated or looked after in any way. Very poor service for booking 2 rooms at over £200 each room. Won't be going back. And won't use Mercure again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Our room prices do change depending on occupancy levels and demand in the local area. Due to the area being quieter nearer the time the prices had lowered and your friend was very fortunate to find rooms at a better price. Kind regards Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda C wrote a review 12 Sep
1 contribution
We are so pleased we choose Mercure Fairfield manor York to host our wedding in August 2022 . Beth , Bex and all the staff did a 1st class job from the very start of the day greeting our guests and booking them in their rooms , preparing the ceremony room for us all , serving the wedding breakfast and being at our beck and call right through to the end of the evening. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable and both stuart and I had a very happy and memorable wedding experience. Thank you again Beth , Bex and all the staff for making our day so very special!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your amazing review. You are more than welcome Linda, we loved hosting your special day for you. so pleased you and your guests had an amazing day. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Thanks again Beth
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stay40272367552 wrote a review 10 Sep
1 contribution
Our stay was for 3 nights from 4th - 7th September 2022. On arrival at the hotel we we’re welcomed by the two very informative receptionists. We stayed in a Privilege Suite to the left side of the building. The four poster bed was comfortable however the mattress protector cover was evidently too small for the mattress hence bottom sheets refused to stay in position. The room was tastefully decorated and a fan was provided due to hot weather. The living room attached to the suite was clean however any movement whatsoever caused the floor to creek extremely loudly. Due to the hot weather the windows in all rooms attached to the suite remained open, however this suite is on the side of the very busy main road with the traffic noise being constant day and night, if windows closed then heat unbearable The small bathroom was extremely tired looking and although shampoo, conditioner and hand wash dispensers are present two had evidently come away from the wall and were left on the side of the bath. The small glass shelving unit was also extremely delicate any item placed on this was at your peril. The bath is extremely small and narrow with an overhead shower and a shower curtain. Unfortunately as I am extremely tall and rather large in build using the shower caused problems and having a bath was out of the question. The staff at this hotel are wonderful and will go out of their way to assist. The rest of the hotel is nice and all furniture matching with the period the property was built. Breakfast was provided as part of our stay and was simply delicious a continental buffet selection in abundance and wonderful cooked produce available. Again the staff in the restaurant area are helpful and willing to offer a selection of foods for specific dietary needs. We also ate on one night from the hotel menu, the sharing platter was delicious and I’m assured that the rather large burger, bun and extras was also lovely. The hotel provides a large free car park which is safe and secure. Plus the hotel has a small grounds which are lovely to walk around. There is a nearby park and ride facility about 2 miles drive which is open until 9pm and operates every 20 minutes rather than driving into the very busy Centre of York. However, if you do drive York is around 15 minutes drive and does have plenty of Safe parking. Overall we had an extremely positive stay and would stay at this hotel again but would definitely request a room on the far side of the hotel away from busy road
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Stay40272367552, What a lovely review, thank you for staying with us. We are next to the busy A19 and some of our bedrooms are near that. Unfortunately, with the extremely hot weather this can cause problems with noise as you encountered. Next time ask to be in the other side of the hotel but do not book a privilege room, they are only in that side of the building. We are looking at a refreshment program for the tired areas. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timfromupnorth wrote a review 9 Sep
1 contribution
This hotel is so welcoming and friendly. Special mention must be made about Bex , the superstar of the restaurant. As a regular traveller, it is the people who make a difference and the staff of this hotel really do make a difference.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Timfromupnorth, Thank you for the lovely review. Bex is a superstar and it is lovely to hear her hard work being noticed. As a regular traveller, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DixyDean wrote a review 8 Sep
Shifnal, United Kingdom1 contribution
Stayed here for one night for business. I had double booked myself in so faced the prospect of having to pay for two rooms when I only needed one. Luckily I was checked in and checked out by a true gentleman by the name of Jeff who was able to cancel the one booking and saving me paying extra money. Thank you Jeff! My room was clean with all of the amenities needed. I had room service for both my evening meal and breakfast. The service was excellent and the food delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi, It is always wonderful to hear I have made someone's stay brilliant. It's what hospitality is all about. See you soon Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aroundtheworldpeter wrote a review 7 Sep
Dunbar, United Kingdom2 contributions
Close enough to the M1 Corridor and York city, but in a very tranquil setting. At night it was almost total silence outside the room and in the morning, just a gentle birdsong - perfect! Good room size and good beds/bedding. Coffee/tea making facilities, great WiFi connection, good hot shower too! We had a meal at night and that was also excellent! Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, reception were friendly and chatty. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wow, that is brilliant to hear. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you again very soon. Kind regards Jeff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada york fairfield manor, york ramada
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYorkSkelton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Railway Museum (4.4 km), York Minster (4.8 km), and Shambles (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cresci Pizzeria, Buongiorno, and Wheldrakes.
Is Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Skelton.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (4.2 km), Holy Trinity Church (5.0 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (5.3 km).
Is Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.