We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Head Hotel

Booking.comUS$104*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Kings Head Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 260: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Head Hotel
 Click to rate
North-West UK
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The location is brilliant for the Rosebury Topping walks and associated forest. We were there for bluebell season, and were not at all disappointed… stunning. The place on arrival is slightly underwhelming…You have to check in at the bar, which is a bit of pain when you've driven for miles to be there and there is a queue of 15...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moikul
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me & my wife visited this pub this morning after walking the dog nearby. The pub is dog friendly and we had worked up an appetite so we chose the full English breakfast each! The food was perfectly cooked and reasonable priced for how much we got. Amy the bar staff on duty couldn't do enough. Polite, courteous and nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve r
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited The Kings Head for a 3 day stay with friends. We were very impressed. The staff were amazing especially Amy who took time to discuss my husbands dietary requirements as a newly diagnosed coeliac . Very dog friendly. Loved it and will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simonelharris
Management response:

Hi and thanks for your review!! It was our pleasure having you. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon! :)

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Stayed for a two night break and had a wonderful time. Our room was a bit on the small side but adequate for a short break and very clean. Bed very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff cheerful and friendly. Would certainly go back for another visit and recommend this hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ajed9
Management response:

Thanks so much for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Liversedge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived Thursday afternoon to a warm welcome. The pub & hotel are both really cosy. Our room was light & spacious with a huge fireplace. Both hotel & bar were spotless. Huge thanks to the staff who, without exception were so friendly ,going over and above to help. Our visit was great value in lovely accommodation. Would definitely try another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulanerDewsbury
Management response:

Hi & thank you for taking the time to review us! We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and please do try one of our sister hotels!! We hope to see you again soon :)

Teesside
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Can't praise this venue enough. The Monday parmo night excellent but need to download the buy 2 for £10.95 voucher. Gets busy so best to book for the Mon nights. Haven't tried the steak night or fish night specials but we will. Our other trips there are when we are out walking as a well deserved stop off we call...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeessideJo_Jo
Management response:

Fantastic news, you will love The Lindisfarne Inn and the surrounding area!!! Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 1 March 2017

We recently spent a weekend at The Kings Head Newton under Roseberry and had an absolutely lovely time. On arrival we were greated with friendly staff, our room was absolutely lovely, clean, warm and cosy. There was plenty of choice from the menu in the bar/resturant and our dog was welcomed and the food didn't disappoint we both enjoyed what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillian r
Management response:

Fantastic review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it! We always try to make everyone feel welcome, and the dog is no exception!! We look forward to seeing you again! :)

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Stayed here had a double room which just to say fit the double bed inside, really should be a single bed room. Food was extremely poor and service was worst I've ever experience, would not recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank James873
Management response:

Hi thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you had such a negative experience, please get in touch privately if you wish to discuss further. We are saddened to read this, but hope you will try us again. :)

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Very dog friendly, they even have a bowl of dog treats on the bar. Staff are amazing. Food is unbelievablely good value for money, very large portions. Look out for special deals. We had the family room so mutts had the extra room

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosec410
Management response:

Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. See you again soon :)

west yorkshire
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Lovely hot and tasty food,garlic mushrooms were to die for and plentiful, prawn cocktail really good too.All meals were good and the restaurant is nice and relaxed with a good atmosphere,superb staff and polite.Breakfast was a great choice and tasty and plentiful and good value for money,would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank madrednige

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Ayton
6.3 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,425 reviews
2.8 km away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
6.4 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
326 reviews
12.5 km away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
170 reviews
7.0 km away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: The Green | Newton-under-Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton
Price Range: $154 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check if your room has a shower or bath, I prefer a soak in a bath after a long days walking. Rooms vary quite a lot in size.”
ajed9, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 5 it was georgeous, the price was excellent”
695gillianr, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wouldn't ever return simple”
James873, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family room”
rosec410, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The conservatory room is very roomy and has a fantastic view of Roseberry Topping”
thomaspO3476TH, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates