We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bondi Beachouse YHA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bondi Beachouse YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Like all the YHAs we stayed in Australia, this one had the location advantage - 5 minutes walk from the beach. Great views of the shoreline from the terrace as well. But the overall experience was quite underwhelming - the private ensuite family room we booked did not have a door for the ensuite bath though the staff gave us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arun Kumar K
Airlie Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a great location right next to Bondi Beach. Staff are soo nice and helpful, guests are nice, respectful and sociable. The rooms and bathrooms are clean so allgoodz there, rooftop and facilities are top notch. Many people gather for the lovely BBQ every friday. Have already stayed for the maximum 28 days but will surely come back again some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anton P
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'll start with a positive- this hostel is located in a great spot, 5 minutes from Bondi and Tamarama beach. Also has a good rooftop terrace. Apart from that, this hostel is dirty and very run down. The bathrooms are way too small for the number of guests and are hardly ever cleaned. Make sure you wear flip flops when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Belazka333

Travellers are raving about these Bondi hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the beach house for 5 days, and it was 5 days too long. The only nice thing about this hostel is the location. The entire hostel was not very clean, not to mention the dead and alive cockroaches scattered around the building. We stayed in a dorm with an ensuite and noticed the door was off the... More 

Helpful?
Thank alissa67
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My 1st floor 4 bed dorm had a sea view .. win.. two power points for the whole room.. not a win.. one of the guests brings his girlfriend into the room the two nights i was there ( making it a 5 bed dorm ) not a win.. premium intetnet shouldbe re named.. cause of frustration cost ( trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justin K
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bondi beach house hostel is very under average unfortunately, especially as you're paying a little bit more. The hostel itself is old and in need of a freshen up- mouldy ceilings, cracked walls, broken tiles and worn carpets. The rooms are OK and the beds are comfortable for short periods, however extremely cramped. Also no air-con or fans, and gets... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie P
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Hi Ellie, May I start by thanking you for your comments in regards to The Bondi Beachouse YHA. It is a great disappointment to myself as Manager of the hostel that your experience was not to your expected standard. YHA and therefore Bondi Beachouse YHA pride themselves on a consistent high level of service and our aim is to provide... More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I stayed in one of their ensuite rooms - I was alone and $100 for the night. The room was below street level, completely claustrophobic, the bathroom was dirty. The lounge area upstairs was dirty - the tables were greasy. I gave them my driver's licence when I arrived to identify myself - they never returned it to me, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lola M
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Hi Lola, Sorry you did not enjoy your stay as I know you have previously with us back in May of this year. Unfortunately we were not able to accommodate you on our top floor, as we were fully booked. We did however upgrade you to an ensuite room with no extra cost and then checked you out 6 days... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

As hostels go, we thought Bondi Beach house was pretty good! On arrival, the staff were able to check us in early due to our room being ready which is always great when you've been hauling your luggage around. Our room was a relatively good size, clean (apart from the inner of the bed frame) and you could see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank moniquereeve
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed all the activities and took advantage of our free equipment! Apologies for the bed frame, something we will need to pay attention to. Cheers, Beachouse Crew More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The private family room is a great little room that is en suite with towels supplied. Super cheap, $120 when we booked it in. The top deck on the roof has a stunning view of Bondi and Tamarama. You're 5 minutes walk from Bondi beach and 5 minutes from where all the cafes start. Linens supplied. The staff at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack H
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Hi Jack, Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed the view! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Even for an Aussie, staying at a YHA at Bondi was on my bucket list. Cross that one off now. The location (a few minutes walk to the beach, the building (art deco) and access to public transport (bus or short taxi ride from Bondi Junction) made this ideal for our one night in Sydney. The twin room was spacious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Want2BATravelWriter
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, glad you and your son enjoyed your stay! More 

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bondi hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
151 reviews
0.9 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
2.2 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Bondi Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
99 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Ravesis
Hotel Ravesis
#5 of 9 in Bondi
95 reviews
1.0 km away
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bondi Beachouse YHA is located on the chilled-out southern tip of Australia's famous Bondi Beach. Easily the best hostel in Bondi, with Fantastic views of the Sydney Coastal walk from the rooftop. Only 5 minutes' walk to both Tamarama and Bondi Beach. Facilities include: free Wi-Fi hot spot, free snorkelling gear/body boards (surfboards for hire), movie room, table tennis, self-catering kitchen, secure bike locks, limited parking and weekly backpacker activities. Close to shops and good transport links, you can stay by the beach but near Sydney's city centre! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bondi Beachouse YHA

Address: 63 Fletcher St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi
Price Range: $36 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bondi Beachouse YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bondi Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bondi Beachouse Yha Hotel Bondi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bondi Beachouse YHA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bondi Beachouse YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private room. En suite. They're all good.”
 of 5 bubbles jackhM8465AX, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Views seem good from any part of hotel but west facing get the best beach views”
 of 5 bubbles Want2BATravelWriter, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on a higher floor may be less noisy”
 of 5 bubbles RTWMagazine, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with multiple windows are best”
 of 5 bubbles hughesemil, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“try to book ground floor rooms, the stairs quite high. if u have big bag and a lady, can be ....uhhh”
  • Tamarama park
 of 5 bubbles suryati, 27 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay