We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel El Bosque

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel El Bosque
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Bosque
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for two nights while in Costa Rica. It is a simple and rustic hotel. Providing simple amenities, bed, table, lights, bathroom and small closet. The beds were not the comfiest but slept fine after being so tired after all the hikes we did. The bathroom was simple providing a small sink, a toilet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryandavus
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Hi Ryan, Thank you! We aim to be the best place around the area when it comes to price/quality. Cheers, Daniel Lalinde

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel El Bosque. Admittedly, we were a little nervous hearing about how "simple" the accommodations were. However we were pleasantly surprised. Accommodations are definitely not luxury but they do the trick. The grounds are lovely and the included breakfast was decent. It was nice that they had their own trails where birds were easily spotted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Hi Ashley, Thank you for your comment :) I'm glad you enjoyed the WiFi in your room. We are one of only 3 hotels in the area who have Optic Fiber connection which makes a huge difference (15 times faster than 95% of our competition). Cheers, Daniel Lalinde

Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It is a simple place within a short walk of several places to eat to include a coffee and ice cream store. The property is home to a birds and other animals. Breakfast is a simple buffet with eggs, gallo pinto, juice, toast and a few other items. Taxis to town are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarineDC2017
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Hello MarineDC2017, Thanks for your feedback. Your description of our place is very accurate :) Cheers, Daniel Lalinde General Manager

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel description of "simple" is accurate. Staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great, rooms are adequate and clean but very simple. Smallest sink I've ever seen in a hotel. We did the on-site night hike and the guide was very good. Loved the nearby Whole Foods market for good wheat bread and cheese. Not a fan of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunia2000
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. I think it's time to replace the sink in your room... it's the only one that small in our hotel and coming to think of it, it is pretty small... :-) Thanks for bringing it up! Cheers, Daniel Lalinde General Manager

Liberia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 29 December 2016

My family and I LOVED staying here at Hotel El Bosque. Since I'm currently living here in CR, I did all the trip planning for when my family came to visit me. When I started researching things to do and places to stay in Monteverde, I became a little overwhelmed because there are so many options. I came across Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Hello Jamie, Wow! What a review :) Thanks a lot for sharing those thoughts. I was out of the office so didn't get a chance to meet you but Joshua told me a lot of great things about you and your family. Plus, it's just great to return to the office and read a review like this, knowing that things...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Not sure how or why so many travellers love this place. It's run down, desperately needs an update and is not in any way quaint. Plus we found some bed bugs.... It gets a 'poor' rating purely due to the breakfast being OK. For the price, find a place closer to town. Had it been significantly cheaper then it may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justcallmeryan
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Hello justcallmaryan, Thank you for your feedback. We have made some improvements over the past few months but had to stop due to the high demand... We're a simple place at a budget rate. However, the specific dates when you travelled, happened to be the busiest time of the year in the tourism indrustry world wide. Demand is very high...

London
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst we were in Montverde. I had read the reviews and new the accommodation was more basic. So basically, we had a nice stay here. Yes the rooms are basic : ours had a table, simple double bed and single bed, toilet and shower. I could see why some people referred to them looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Draavig
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Hello Draavig, Thanks for your comment. It was a real pleasure to have personally help you :) You are right on the spot, we are simple, quiet, rustic and without a doubt the best option when it comes to value for money :) Wish you the best in your future travels! Cheers, Daniel Lalinde

South America
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Really enjoyed my stay at El Bosque. It's nestled right in the heart of Monteverde and has it's own hiking trails. The staff was really helpful and friendly and the daily breakfast was amazing. Hopefully I'll get to return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jahphoto
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment, Jah. Will hope to personally meet you next time you visit us :) Cheers, Daniel Lalinde General Manager

Reviewed 14 December 2016

In order to get to Monteverde you should drive around 30 km in unpaved roads, other than that it is really great. Hotel staff is very helpful and offer a lot of tours scheduled bu the hotel staff. Hotel is really dark at night in order to avoid bothering the wildlife, so it is reccommended to bring a flashlight and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arturo L
Daniel L, General Manager at Hotel El Bosque, responded to this review

Hello Arturo, Thanks for your feedback. You got it, simple but that's all you really need around here :) Plus, you can use the budget you are saving to do activities around our area ;) PS: The government has sign the approval to pave the road... it will probably take a while... (2018 maybe???)... but it will finally happen :)...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Amazing hotel with a huge plantation and walking trails. The hotel staff are only available from 8am-8 pm so plan to arrive early. The front desk staff joshua was really friendly. The free cooked to order breakfast was superb. We also took the night tour departing from the hotel for $25pp.. Although we didnt see a lot of animals it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lavzvikram

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.8 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
229 reviews
1.3 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,068 reviews
0.7 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 21 in Monteverde
198 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
1,290 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surround yourself with nature. "El Bosque" means "The Forest" We are a small family hotel nestled in a 23-acre private forest. That's why we are quiet, peaceful and excellent for a retreat to connect with nature. We're exceptionally friendly and our rooms are simple but reasonably priced. Our location is very convenient (4.5 stars in TripAdvisor): -The original Monteverde Reserve is only 3km (1.9 miles) away -We have two restaurants within our property -The Monteverde Coffee Center, a Wholefood Store and CASEM (Women Artisan's Cooperative) are just a 2-minutes walk -Stella (the most famous bakery in Monteverde) is a 3-minutes walk -Cafe Bure (Argentinian Coffee Shop / Restaurant featuring an astounding view to the Nicoya's Gulf) is a 5-minutes walk -The Curicancha Reserve and the Monteverde Cheese Factory are a 10-minute walk ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Bosque

Address: | First right after Restaurant Tramonti (entrance next to Coffee Shop), 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $67 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Bosque 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bosque Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Bosque staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Bosque staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great for nature lovers!”
530haleyt, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are equal”
ChrisDaTischler, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best not to choose the rooms opposite reception from a nature perspective as you don't get the view of the green or such good wildlife.”
Scarlett1700, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are larger rooms for families closer to the main entrance”
  • Bright room
Stephen_Lloyd, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms laid out side by side and had a cabin feel. All rooms seemed equally nice.”
vaskok189, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$49* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$65
PricelineUS$49
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates