We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,054 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 971: English reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This place is a real gem. Our room was lovely, the view was terrific (saw a mot-mot from the balcony this first morning) and the service was great. Our first guided trip was led by Carlos and we sought him out for every other one after that - he was friendly, helpful and very fun to spend time with. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrayda
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear jrayda, You describe seeing a mot-mot from your balcony on your first morning. That experience is what I consider one of the luxuries of Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, being able to sit on your balcony if you have Upstairs Rooms, in your bay window if you are in Downstairs Rooms or on your Terrace if you are in Garden...

toronto
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We were here three years ago and this time it was as wonderful as we remembered. The rooms and service are terrific, and set in a beautiful garden setting. There is even a small enclosed butterfly area, with fantastic variety. A nice bar and probably the best restaurant in the area, el Jardim. It's easy to arrange activities through the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank giantmanToronto
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear giantman Toronto, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second visit to the lodge as much as your first. As you mention, we are continually renewing and improving the lodge, the butterfly garden is one of those improvements, we have also recently added the solar heated pool and garden picnic tables. If you haven't made plans to...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

A very comfortable place to stay with beautiful gardens and excellent food. The service at the hotel was just right with lots of attention to detail - iced water in the rooms in the evening, little treats left for guests etc. We were celebrating while we were there and the restaurant set up our meal in the evening in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Annie M, You mentioned your celebratory dinner in the Butterfly Garden was magical! For people planning to stay with us, we offer dinners in the Butterfly Garden, there is no additional charge. We normally have reservations well in advance so if you would like to do this, let us know as soon as you decide so that you have...

United States
Reviewed 13 January 2016

The hotel was an expectation hangover. The rooms had a terrible smell and it felt like you were staying in your grandparents living room. The pool is solar heated and the grounds are pretty but I would suggest to stay somewhere else, I am not sure what the hype is about this hotel and cannot see the five star reviews.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RagazzaVerde
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

RagazzaVerde was not a good fit for our lodge. When they arrived they quickly came to the reception to tell us that their room smelled bad. Our receptionist told them that we would immediately send maintenance and maids to the see what was wrong but he said that they didn't plan to stay with us and that it wouldn't be...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Monteverde lodge and gardens is a great place! Its a very nice lodge with amazing location, rooms, food, and grounds. The room was very nice, and housekeeping kept everything very clean. The grounds and trails around the lodge were nice, and were kept very safe for travelers. The wait staff in the restaurant were attentive, friendly, and efficient. Jeff, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aaron C
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Aaron C, Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed interacting with our staff. Jeffrey will be especially pleased to hear that you mentioned him here on Trip Advisor. Jeffrey has worked at Monnteverde Lodge & Gardens several years. When I asked him what he enjoys the most about his job, it turns out that...

Reviewed 10 January 2016

Fantastic hotel. This solar-heated hotel had none of the problems with hot water we had at other Costa Rican "remote" hotel. There was nothing "rustic" about this hotel. It was comfortable, beautiful, and with amazing gardens. We ate almost every meal outdoors in them, and went stargazing late at night after the garden lights were turned off. Great time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Anna H, Thank you for sharing that you ate most of your meals outdoors. We are really good at setting up picnics either at our tables or on the grass in our gardens. We encourage guests to take advantage of this and enjoy a meal, wine and cheese or star gazing. Enjoy! Natalie Ewing Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This is hotel with an excellent location, close to town. The rooms are large, we stayed in a forest view room with a balcony. The food at the El Jardin restaurant was sumptuous. The gardens attached to the lodge were very beautiful. There were some trails in the property as well. The staff were very welcoming. The guides were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myscreenname99
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

This guest mentions many of the things that are available to do using Monteverde Lodge as a home base. We suggest you spend between 2-4 nights with us. Among the suggested activities in the area are hiking or bird watching with a naturalist guide, horseback riding, and zip-lining or hiking through the canopy. We suggested that you allow at least...

Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2016

I don't think I can say enough about this hotel, the food, the service, the ambience, the comfort....It was way beyond expectations. Upon arriving at the hotel, our room was immediately made ready for us, so that we could change to get ready for our afternoon tours. The room was so well appointed - a second floor balcony room overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Watlog
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Watlog, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here on Trip Advisor and for helping people considering us for a stay to decide if we are a good fit. It sounds like you were a perfect fit for Monteverde Lodge, our staff loved having you at the lodge and were delighted to be of assistance putting...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 January 2016

The Monteverde Lodge is a perfect home base from which to explore the surrounding cloud forest, etc. It's very comfortable and rustic without being shabby. The restaurant is good (especially breakfast!) if a little pricey. It's very well located near the town but quiet and surrounded by green and butterflies. The room was spacious and simple.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CW29
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

This guest points out something that is very important for people considering a stay with us. CW29 says "It's very comfortable and rustic without being shabby." We are rustic and don't have some of the things that guests expect like for example TV, AC or mini fridge in your room. We also don't have background music in the restaurant. We...

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

This is a first class destination with spacious, comfortable rooms and access to all of the splendid Monte Verde environment. But - the meals were delicious, elegant and perfectly presented. Didn't expect our stay Costa Rica to be about wonderful food and wonderful service (thought nature and environmentalism)........ This place is both worlds. The staff are welcoming, efficient and present....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth S, You are so right when you say that Monteverde Lodge is about both worlds, nature the environment but also wonderful food and wonderful service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, it sounds like you did your part of researching us carefully and making sure that we were a good fit. We are not luxurious, we...

977 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (631)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (187)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (240)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Forest View Balcony Room (27)
Viewed
Forest View Downstairs Room (26)
Viewed
Garden Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
1,273 reviews
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
220 reviews
0.8 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
225 reviews
1.3 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
2.4 km away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 forest view downstairs rooms. 12 forest view balcony rooms (a little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips"). 1 downstairs room is wheelchair accessible. • Beds: 2 downstairs rooms and 2 upstairs rooms have 1 king bed. 10 downstairs rooms and 10 upstairs rooms have 2 double beds. • All rooms have: in-room safe, hot water, coffee maker, ceiling fan, reading lamps, hair dryer and free wireless internet. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: cuisine: What a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. •Atmosphere: quiet, laid back and tranquil. No background music. Open fireplace. • Suggested activities at Lodge: Butterfly and Hummingbird Garden. Plan 1-2 hours. Main Bromeliad and Fern Gardens and La Posa de Yolanda Solar heated Pool. Plan on spending a morning or afternoon. • 3 Computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Suggested stay: 2-4 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Lodge & Gardens

Address: | 400 mtrs east (uphill) from the Frog Pond, entrance on the right hand side of the road, 6941-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $198 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monteverde Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Monteverde Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Lodge And Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens Hotel Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Monteverde Hotel Gardens
Gardens Hotel Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Lodge & Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The upstairs jungle view rooms are great! The balcony is worth a little extra expense.”
kmorgan71, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are very good! Love the balcony!!”
ronw913, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 211 and 301 were perfect.”
oldmayor, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room upstairs gives you lovely views over the trees”
815maggieg, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are very nice. Ours was at the end of the hall which made it a little quieter than others, but we would be happy with any room!”
AvianiSiegel, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5