We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Claro de Luna

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Claro de Luna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Great location, it includes breakfast, it is a block away from most restaurants, there are some nice gardens for spotting tropical birds, certified sustainable, solar heated water, and has access to Wi-Fi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank el d
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear el d, thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments. As you mentioned in your comment we offer a great location near town, beautiful gardens, healthy and fresh breakfast and the warmth and friendliness you can only find in Costa Rica. Best regards!

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We booked 1 night originally as it was our first night in Costa Rica and we weren't sure of our plans and wanted to see what the hotel was like. We were pleasantly surprised by the whole place - room, service and garden/views. We ended up staying three nights and had a lovely time. As it is low season we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S0uthAussie
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear S0uthAussie, thank you very much for your kind comments. Our staff works really hard to provide the best service. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay! Hotel Claro de Luna offers the best location, outstanding customer service and the best value for your money. Best regards.

philadelphia
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I was in Costa Rica for 8 days and visited 5 different cities. Usually travel was by bus along bumpy, winding roads. Me & friend was exhausted when we arrived.. We couldn't wait to get to our room & go to bed!! It wasn't until the AM that I got to appreciate what the Claro de Luna had to offer....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhillyShaney
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear PhillyShaney, thank you for your kind words, we are glad you had a nice stay at Claro de Luna. You are right when you mention we have beautiful surroundings, we are also located near town. We look forward to your next visit!

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The room that we had was located in the house near the restaurant (it was a deluxe room) and it was really amazing. The staff was very friendly and helped us with any questions we had. The accomodation was very clean. The breakfast was simple, but good (rice and beans, eggs, bread, marmelade, juice, coffee) - a standard Costa Rica...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d0mimac
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear d0mimac, thank you for your kind comments. Hotel Claro de Luna offers the best value in town. We have the best location, relaxing but near town and our service is to the best standard. We are happy to hear we enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast is served fresh and we always provide healthy and delicious options. We look forward...

Reading,England
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Fairly basic hotel, but served a purpose. it's reasonably close to Santa Elena town which has a good selection of bars & restaurants. Breakfast was limited but fresh. Our bedroom was small, but had a small outdoor space. We stayed Feb 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GRK56
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear GRK56, thank you for your comments. As you mentioned in your review Hotel Claro de Luna has a great location near town, where you can find everything you need: supermarkets, banks, pharmacies, restaurants, shops and more! You are right when you say our little hotel serves its purpose, thankfully we are able to provide an enjoyable stay for most...

Wiltshire, England
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We had a 'superior' room overlooking the gardens behind reception. It was spacious and comfortable with a large bath and shower. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the centre of St Elena. Private parking was by the garden close to the room. The receptionists were friendly and helpful and arranged a night walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aldman64
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear aldman64, thank you for sharing about your stay in Hotel Claro de Luna. We are glad to hear we were able to provide a good service. Our staff is always willing to help our guests arrange tours, excursions and transfers. We offer the best location in town, we are accesible to most restaurants, supermarkets and shops yet we are...

Yavne, Israel
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We stay in this hotel two nights during a family trip (5 people) The room was clean, big enough for 5 people. This quaint and charming place is off the main street and tucked away in the trees off of an unpaved road. The grounds were beautifully maintained with flowers and plants and this was a nice change from your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amit G
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear Amit G, thank you for your comments. We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms, and kitchen/cafeteria. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay, we are sorry about the breakfast...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 March 2016

This quaint and charming place is off the main street and tucked away in the trees off of an unpaved road. The grounds were beautifully maintained with flowers and plants and this was a nice change from your standard boxy hotel structure. We had a room up the hill away from the reception area and facing the town. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fawtandthebaby
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear fawtandthebaby, thank you for your kind words. It is glad to hear we provided a pleasant stay. We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens and well kept green open areas. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast is included! We offer the best value in town! We look forward to...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Located at a typical CR mountain road (4x4 needed!) just of Elena centre this hotel feels more like a hostel than a hotel. We got one of the rooms at the top of the stairs. As there was nothing but plywood separating our room from our neighbours we were very lucky and happy that they were a quiet couple at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rotterdammerts
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear Rotterdammerts, thank you for your comments. Hotel Claro de Luna is the result of many years`s effort, we started as a small B&B and slowly built 6 more rooms and updated the original ones, that is why we offer 2 room categories: Standard and Deluxe. If you were not happy with your room, you could have said something...Did you...

Leeds, England
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This accomodation feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel.There are two parts to it, the few rooms above the reception area and behind this building at the end of the garden are some other buildings which look like a couple of cottages. Behind these are another unusual building which houses breakfast. It feels like an over large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
Ericka P, Propietario at Hotel Claro de Luna, responded to this review

Dear yellowheron_9, thank you for taking your time to write about Hotel Claro de Luna. You are not wrong when you mention the B&B "feel" our hotel has...We started as a cozy B&B and little by little we were able to build 6 more rooms in another area, updated our original rooms... we are still in the process of improving...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
170 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#16 of 22 in Monteverde
102 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#7 of 64 in Monteverde
418 reviews
0.8 km away
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 32 in Santa Elena
201 reviews
0.2 km away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#2 of 14 in Santa Elena
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms and restaurant. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. 5 minute walk to downtown, easy access to shops, restaurants, banks and supermarkets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Address: 3 blocks south from Catholic Church in Santa Elena, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Claro de Luna staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Des Moines
Apex, North Carolina
11 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Claro de Luna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ich wuerde die Deluxezimmer nahe beim Restaurant waehlen.”
 of 5 bubbles d0mimac, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“don't aspect for fancy hotel, it's nice quit hotel”
 of 5 bubbles amitg451, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Go up on the hill!”
 of 5 bubbles fawtandthebaby, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to larger rooms as others above reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles sandraaJ8488IW, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Nice place to stay for a night or two”
 of 5 bubbles laurajedmonds, 22 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay