We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Estuary Island

Agoda.comUS$81*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$96*
US$81*
Great Deal
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Estuary Island
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 659: English reviews
Start your review of Estuary Island
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The reception to this hotel is a few minutes walk from the main entrance. We were booked into the cottage. What a huge disappointment. Kettle and air con didn't work. No hairdryer, iron, ironing board, fridge and safe. Also not wifi unless you got sit in the reception area. Hot water was only available from 5pm to 10pm. Guess what?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renji N
Reviewed 1 week ago

Puvar is 16 km down south of famous Kovalam beach along the Arabian sea. Here the river, lake and beach merge together to give you an awesome experience. The best part of the tour is the boat cruise among the mangrove in the morning where you sight many peculiar birds. The room and service were mediocre. The toilet is pathetic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antony C
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Ram, Greetings from Estuary Island Resort!! It’s good to know that our strategic location added value to your stay and the recreational activities kept your family entertained. Guest satisfaction is important for us and your review gives us a balanced insight of our hospitality. We are truly disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectations completely. We...

Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Estuary Island Resort is truly very big property. Independent cottage rooms ,Play ground , Big and neat pool , Ayurvedic massage spa , coffee shop and activities area etc . Unfortunately staff at reception were really unprofessional ( we checked in at 11 PM ).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aiman P
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Aiman, Greetings from Estuary Island Resort! We thank you for your valuable feedback on this forum. Our strategic location added value to your stay, our picturesque location has always been appreciated by guests, rested amidst the calm backwaters and a lovely beach, big open space . Our endeavor is to offer our guests with the best of services and...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good Hotel for both business and leisure. Location is one of the best ever, Lake, ocean, river... Hotel has nicely designed restaurant, exactly at the Riverside. Hotel has good play area also open spaces for relaxation and recreation. Lots of birds around Good lawn and play area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anandbshah
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Greetings from Estuary Island Resort! Thank you for your valuable feedback on this forum. We are happy to know that our exclusive location, spacious outdoors, accommodations and serene surroundings, that fulfilled all your requirements. It is heartening to receive your compliments highlighting overwhelming facets of our resort. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and your kind words...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location and premises is excellent. Hospitality was good. Food quality was good. Stayed in Garden cottage 116. Only Problem with AC noise. See pictures for detail. Resort should take action for sound sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank naresh r
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Naresh, Greetings from Estuary Island Resort!! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s good to know that our strategic location added value to your stay and we are much elated to gain your words of approval regarding our staff and our delicious culinary delights that surpassed your expectations. It is always our priority to give our guests...

Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good property. Near to the beach, water frontage with hammocks tied between coconut trees... Property is well maintained. They provide free boat service to reach the beach and back. Also, you can hire a boat and go around the island through dense mangrove forests watching birds and nature. Restaurant is also very good and so is the food. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arun S
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Arun, Greetings from Estuary Island Resort! Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel on this forum and mentioning your kind words highlighting the various facets of our resort. Our strategic location added value to your stay, Our picturesque location has always been appreciated by guests for of all age but also suits their moods...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Positives : Good sales and reservation team who assisted us with booking, courteous restaurant staff, especially the girls from Nagaland. Good air conditioners used in the room to tackle the humid and heat of summer. Negatives: Terrible water taste in toilet. More of salty and hard water feel. We used the pool villa. The light inside the pool wasn't working....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nilanthi P
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, We are disappointed to learn about your less than perfect experience. It is our objective to pamper our guests with the best hospitality and the inconveniences that you faced during the tenure of your stay is highly regretted. Please be assured that we will go above and beyond to address the shortcomings and ensure that they are...

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We had the most fantastic fortnight The staff could not do enough The people of Kerala are so friendly The setting is beautiful the food treat Weather and wildlife glorious Southern India is so unspoilt I would recommend it to any one

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Greetings from Estuary Island Resort! We are elated to read such a wonderful review of our hospitality on this forum. It always feels great when we get to know that our guest had a perfect stay at our resort and that we served them well Rested amidst the calm backwaters and a lovely beach, indeed, our resort...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Wonderful place, boat ride from beach, large rooms, good food, very helpful staff. We stayed at the Pool villa and it was very nice. the meals were nice and the chef was helpful if you had any requirements. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to go to Poovar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UrjaGB
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Greetings from Estuary Island Resort! We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. It is heartening to receive your compliments highlighting the various overwhelming facets of our resort including the boat ride, location, pool villa, our heart full hospitality that surpassed your expectations. Our team in the kitchen is overwhelmed to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

I stayed at this resort with exquisite ambiance and captivating views including the golden-sunset in mid-Feb 2017.I must confess this is one of my favourite resorts. I found my pool -Villa very spacious and very uniquely designed to give maximum comfort and undiluted luxury .. Dedicated and experienced staff and the delicious and diverse food options made my stay immensely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrCyriacMaprayil
KeralaThomas, Manager at Estuary Island, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Greetings from Estuary Island Resort! We are overwhelmed to read such a splendid review about your stay with us on this forum. It is heartening to know that you had one of the best stay experiences with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments highlighting our high end room pool villa which specifically designed spaciously with...

790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (758)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (182)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (125)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (240)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
15.2 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
14.6 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
902 reviews
15.8 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
541 reviews
15.8 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
8.8 km away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Estuary Island is world class resort located at Poovar, near Trivandrum in the state of Kerala, India. The uniqueness starts from the natural setting - where a lake, river, sea and beach meet. True to the name in spirit and substance, its a four some island experience, one would cherish in all aspects. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Estuary Island

Address: Puvar 695525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Puvar
Price Range: $105 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estuary Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Estuary Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Estuary Island Puvar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Estuary Island staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Estuary Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a sea view or pool villas”
DrCyriacMaprayil, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose Lake-facing rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor.”
buddynipun, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Estuary Garden rooms on the ground floor are not good”
sonimatrisal, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake facing rooms are a better choice”
gagan-aneja, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not go for first floor or 2nd floor rooms, it gets hotter and is generally far from the beach and pool.”
santoreeves, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$87
Booking.comUS$87
TripAdvisorUS$81
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates