We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Haigs Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Haigs Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Mckees Brasserie at Haigs Hotel is a charming family run restaurant, tastefully decorated, friendly staff and excellent food. We took two friends from out of area and they were very impressed. All our choices were perfectly cooked, well presented and delicious. A two or three course meal is available with a good menu selection for each course, some have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bran007
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. It's ok for the money. A little run down in places but it was clean and serviceable. Could do with different carpet in hallway it looks like mud has been ground in. Room was ok no issues. Extractor fan wasn't working which was good as they are loud lol! Food was amazing. Don't go to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Haigs, Manager at Haigs Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your feedback, we are currently reviewing certain areas of the hotel for refurbishment and have taken your comments on board. We hope to see you again sometime! Kindest Regards

Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Great little hotel, staff very friendly, helpful and efficient. Lovely room with very comfortable bed. Especially liked the large bath sheet and the complimentary extras. The hotel is very dog friendly and they set up a table in the bar so I could enjoy the excellent food from the restaurant with my hound snoozing beside me. Will definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 571IrishMick
Haigs, Manager at Haigs Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was made comfortable for you and your pooch! We hope to see you again sometime!

Dorridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We laid on a friend's birthday meal in McKee's Brasserie for 24 people. We all enjoyed what we ordered with every dish served looking superb from the a la carte menu. Staff were very attentive and smart. Parking is not very ample on the front but you'll find further spaces at the rear.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Haigs, Manager at Haigs Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at McKee's and that the staff were hospitable, we hope to see you again in the future!

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Moroccan cuisine was the speciality on our recent evening out at Haigs. Starters chosen by our party , which complemented it nicely.included meatball tagine and small fishcakes, which all got the seal of approval. A chicken tagine for main course was delicious. The chicken was tender and delicately spiced, served with roasted vegetables, which complemented it nicely. Puddings were appetising:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
Haigs, General Manager at Haigs Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to McKee's brasserie and hope to see you again sometime!

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

This was our2nd stay friendly welcome room was clean but bed wasn't to comfortable and the headboard was not attached to anything . The shower temperture did not work and perhaps could have done with resealing . The breakfast is very good with plenty of options

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanne b
Haigs, Manager at Haigs Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with feedback, we are currently reviewing the continuous improvement scheme and planning to refurbish certain areas of the hotel! We hope to see you again sometime in the future!

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We were given room 11 at the back of the hotel. The rest of the hotel had cream carpet in the hall ways but our room seemed to be squashed with the store cupboards at the end of a corridor and had a brown, hard wearing office carpet outside it which gave a bad impression before going into our room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
Haigs, Supervisor at Haigs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. From your review it seems you found several issues with the room which we wish you had brought this to our attention during your time at the hotel, so it could have been addressed at the time. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our rooms with all of the issues you have stated now...

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Brilliant hotel everything you need in your room great bar freindly staff great sitting areas to relax we didn't try the food but it looked realy nice we will return weldone the haigs hotel great outdoor area if we have anymore sun to enjoy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil1711
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my teenage grandchildren. It is also dog friendly. There is a very nice resturant, we did not have dinner at it because the food on offer my grandchildren would not have eaten. Positives:The rooms were clean, nicely presented & beds very comfy. The staff were very professional & smartly dressed, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonnetb99
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The bed was comfy, the staff were most helpful but the room was shabby with a large patch of mould on the ceiling which gave the room an unpleasant smell every time we came in! No fan for the hot weather and no fridge. You can't leave the windows open as they open on to the carpark at ground level...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMW53

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
2.6 km away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
7.5 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
4.8 km away
Honiley Court Hotel
Honiley Court Hotel
#12 of 13 in Warwick
702 reviews
6.4 km away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Haigs Hotel

Address: 273 Kenilworth Road, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Price Range: $86 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haigs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haigs Hotel Balsall Common
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haigs Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Essex, United Kingdom
Congleton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Haigs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't comment on rooms, did not stay there, meal only.”
 of 5 bubbles Bran007, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the back are quieter away from road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnetb99, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cannot comment did not have an overnight stay just meal”
 of 5 bubbles ladyp323, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I always get the ground floor room - they are bigger and more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles 775rafs, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinempepper, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay