We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chequers Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Chequers Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of The Chequers Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a late arrival we where welcomed warmly by Tina. We stayed in room 4 which was tastefully decorated, modern and very clean. The on suite had a bath which was a plus and a shower and the main window to our room looked out on to the main village. We had a 7 o'clock start in the morning as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This small village pub is a lovely venue for Sunday lunch. The decor is rustic but it gives the impression of being a bit bare. Initially the service was poor, particularly at the bar but the food was excellent apart from a very ordinary prawn cocktail. Unlike some other reviews we found the carvery excellent, with a choice of three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
warrington, cheshire, uk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place, good breakfast, hard working housekeeper...but oh my...what a rude, ignorant woman behind the bar then serving (begrudgingly) breakfast. Not doing any favours for this pleasant hotel...clearly been mentioned before looking at reviews. I wouldn't return nor recommend because of her attitude and poor service alone. Shame..nice gentleman.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sexysenorita1
TOWCESTER
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Half past seven and the only one in the bar/restaurant. Can this be right food is good but no atmosphere,big open fire not lit what shame ,room is clean but basic .bar keeper to bissey washing glasses to see me waiting for the coffee and bill what a shame could be lovely pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJSTowcester
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

My husband and I arrived Saturday pm to a polite greeting from the barman booked and settled our account , we then went to our room which was fine clean and modern, with all we required the evening meals were very .hot and tasty staff very polite, next morning we had a very nice hot English breakfast cooked and served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bumblebeenyhappy
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Me and my family come for lunch most Sundays very disappointed to learn that the best member of staff lovely polite young ladie is no longer working she was the life and soul of this place and made it a welcoming pub dispite this the food was amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Very helpful staff. Desserts were good. The setting too. The carvery itself was disappointing. The roasts were small in size and the flavour less good than those obtained from a large roast. The roast potatoes were overdone as were the Yorkshire puddings. The vegetables were good. A carvery service is not widely on offer in the north Oxford area (according...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbpuk
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Simply don't stay here!! Words fail me Poor service , followed by wet beds Refusal to deal with the incidents Disgusted !!! No refund given , no one to help at the time Never been treated in such away Good price for a reason

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connie s
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

It is really disappointing to receive such a bad review however, we were expecting it. In the 20 years that I have run hotels & Inns, I have never encountered a complaint like this one. My conclusion is that the guest was angry that an earlier message to let us know of a later arrival was not passed on and...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived to check in at 4:30 which was fine, were welcomed by a really nice man who took payment and gave us our key. We came down at about 6 expecting a carvery that was on the website, but were told that was only run 12-3. So we then couldn't order anything until 6:30, but the food we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rmr125
Manchester
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

An idea location if you are travelling around Oxfordshire, without the hustle and bustle. A good menu and tasty dinner. The rooms are well kept and a comfortable bed, morning breakfast was soon demolished to set you up for the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul N

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassington
4.1 km away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
168 reviews
6.1 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,176 reviews
5.2 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#11 of 44 in Oxford
1,030 reviews
6.2 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,601 reviews
2.3 km away
The Talbot Inn
The Talbot Inn
#1 of 4 in Eynsham
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently refurbished rooms at The Chequers mean that we offer fantastic quality, comfortable rooms only a short trip from Oxford centre and the Cotswolds. Our rooms have everything you need to make your stay comfy and enjoyable. All this but with sensible prices meaning your bank manager will be as delighted as you with your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: 6 The Green, Cassington OX29 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Cassington
Price Range: $125 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chequers Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Cassington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Chequers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid front of hotel, noise issues”
BengalCatLady, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter”
EricaW213, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“do have room 3 to small hot”
LorraineP959, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask about the size of the room when you book”
LondonHappytraveller, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room on first floor”
TheRileysCheshire, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5