We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makunudu Island

Expedia.comUS$260*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Makunudu Island
Makunudu Island
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 288: English reviews
Start your review of Makunudu Island
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was quaint and cosy, and the bed was comfortable. Air-con was strong and a much needed respite in the sweltering Maldivian heat sometimes. Loved lounging in the chairs at the back of the room and reading a book or just watching the ocean. There was also a little hut with 2 sunbeds surrounded by bushes. I liked that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pepperoxide
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This little island is the best place to be if you want to have a getaway from the city noise & busy lifestyle. The first thing i noticed about this resort is how down to earth their design concept is: Staff and tourists were walking around barefooted, & their toilet has this outdoor design concept, with a little garden area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ouhla
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Ouhlaa, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your time among us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to host you again. Best regards, Makunudu Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort is pretty low-key but relaxing enough if you are the type that likes to laze and not do much. The house reef was awesome but you must snorkel out far enough past the shallow parts to see some good fish. Another group of friends saw a turtle, sharks, and rays during their swim. I like that the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lena N
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Lena, Thank you for choosing Makunudu Island for your holidays. Our main satisfaction is reading that you were able to enjoy your time with us. In addition to that, thank you for your comments, you can be sure that we will take them in consideration, in order to keep improving our service. For us it would be an honor...

Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly, the resort was well equipped with toiletries from Korres which was impressive. However, as the resort was like a hut villa, the toilet is in the open air and as a result, there were a lot of creepy crawlies. We even got a few millipedes on the bed. The bed is superbly comfortable though and the air-conditioning was powerful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roanna T
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Roanna, First of all, I would like to thank you for selecting our resort to spend your vacations and for sharing your experience with us and future travelers to our Island. In Makunudu Island we truly believe that listen to our clients is the best way to achieve the Quality level that we strive for, that is why we...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, I would like to say that the resort is not perfect, but it's the small details that make it a winner for us. We arrived late at night on a Friday and we're hoping that there wouldn't be any dramas upon check in. True enough, our transfer was swift (boat men consistently asked us if we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hello_clowee
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear hello_cloe, We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your kind review. It is fantastic to discover that your expectations were exceeded during your time in Makunudu Island. We are thrilled knowing each aspect of your stay was so exceptional, from our incomparable island setting to the impeccable service of our friendly staff. It would be an...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this island because of the lack of water bungalows, big spas, & swimming pool, so a much more low key relaxed atmosphere. The island is small with a lot of green jungley planting through the interior along the walkways which provide good shade. The house reef is good - some bleaching, but still a good number of fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JM1519
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear JM1519, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Makunudu Island. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your experience. We are so glad to know that our house reef, food and accommodation have been according to your expectations We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Makunudu, and offer you much...

Reviewed 9 April 2017

This was our 4th trip to the Maldives, which we love for its marine life, reefs and diving opportunities and quiet beach life. Makanudu was meant to be a 4 star resort with a good house reef (according to Tropic Breeze, who we booked with). In fact it is barely a 3 star and the coral in the house reef...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen864
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. We highly value your observations regarding our services, as we believe that they are key to the continuing process of improvement, which is why we have shared your review with...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Love this small but caring and thoughtful island resort. Nature has been reserved well here and is shared with visitors. The moment we board their pick up speed jet, we feel been looked after. Love to walk on the jungle path to our intimate beach bungalow. Kids have fun playing in water and on the sand with many many energetic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amykung0507
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thoroughly enjoyed reading your very detailed and descriptive comment of your guest experience with us. It's nice to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that you enjoyed the beauty of Maldives. It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We definitely hope you will...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Peaceful dessert island feeling with good house reef & food. Lots of different fish remain despite last year's coral whitening that affected the Maldives. Who wants a pool with the Indian Ocean! All staff are so helpful. I hope they keep their island retreat & don't go pool with extra restaurants option.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike D
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you for taking the time to post this review! Our Team Members aim to provide exceptional service. We are glad to see we accomplished this with your stay. We will happily pass along your kind words to the departments. It’s wonderful to hear that you like our reef and our "no swimming pool". We look forward to...

Goppingen, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Wonderful time with wonderful people. It was our 23th trip to Makunudu. All the time we can see changes. In the meantime we meet friends which like the island also to see again. It is a paradise for long snorkeling trips.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wdrhorn
MakunuduIsland, Resort Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Mr. &Mrs. Horn, There is nothing better than reading your comment and learn that you had a lovely experience again in our remarkable Makunudu Island. We hope to have the great opportunity to welcome you again in your 24th time soon to offer you again our service. Warmest regards from your Home away in the Maldives! Makunudu Island

1,410 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1096)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (236)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (455)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Beach (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (Pre-Renovation) (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Villa (Pre-Renovation) (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makunudu Island
12.7 km away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,066 reviews
31.8 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,956 reviews
32.7 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Angsana Ihuru
Angsana Ihuru
#1 of 1 in Ihuru Island
1,309 reviews
37.3 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,440 reviews
31.2 km away
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
#1 of 1 in Lhohifushi Island
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Makunudu Island is one of the original and much loved Maldivian island resorts. With only 36 simple and traditionally designed bungalows set amidst lush tropical vegetation each with direct beach access. Superb house reef. Guest rooms are available with queen or twin bedding,sitting area, private garden bathroom with shower,hair dryer, mini-bar, personal safe, IDD Telephone, Writing Desk, tea and coffee making facilities. Restaurant, Bar, PADI diving school, snorkeling, Non-motorised water sports, volleyball, badminton and table tennis and a library with TV are available for our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makunudu Island

Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Makunudu Island
Price Range: $371 - $1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makunudu Island 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makunudu Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makunudu Island staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Makunudu Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 is nearest to the reception!”
pepperoxide, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Not near the generator at the end of the island (Villa 20 )”
Karen864, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 and 12-16 have good mix of permanent beach and afternoon shade.”
robini, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in 23 and 22 which was great for us and had great snorkelling outside”
PaulS399, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Villas differ only in location. The south side has sun all day, less shallow lagoon at low tide and softer sand than we found on the north.”
ssxguy, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$260* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$319
Hotwire.comUS$260
Booking.comUS$264
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates